From the 1912 History of Knox County, Illinois, Volume II, the S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, page 637. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
Clark Andrew Main, who is an agriculturist in Walnut Grove township, was born December 18, 1879, upon the farm on which he is now residing. He is the grandson of Peter and Jane (Ferguson) Main, the former having come to America with his three children after the death of his wife in Scotland. After arriving in Chicago, they proceeded directly to Knox county, but subsequently went to Minnesota for a short residence before returning to this county, where his death occurred May 1, 1878, at the age of sixty-nine. Clark Main is the son of Andrew and Ellen (Moore) Main, the former having been born December 6, 1846, in Mothler, Ayrshire, Scotland, and the latter in Rio township, on the 13th of March 1848. Mr. Main arrived in America when he was but seven years of age, and was in Chicago during the time of the cholera epidemic, which caused the death of his only sister. Mrs. Main was the daughter of Lyman K. and Mary S. (Woodman) Moore, the former a native of New York state and the latter of Massachusetts. The paternal grandfather, Holland Moore, of New York, was married to Sarah Kendall. Mr. and Mrs. Lyman Moore came west early in life and located in Rio township, where they were engaged in agricultural pursuits until their death, Mr. Moore passing away in 1885 at the age of seventy-one years and his wife dying the same year. Mr. and Mrs. Main were the parents of three children: J. Edwin, who is an agriculturist residing at Altona; Kate, who is married to Walter D. McMaster's, a resident farmer of Walnut Grove township and Clark A. the subject of this sketch.
Mr. Main never took an active part in politics, but was a prominent member of the Presbyterian church in Altona.
Clark Main's boyhood and youth were spent in a way common to the youth born and reared on the farms in the Mississippi valley. After laying aside his text-books at an early age, he took up farming upon his father's farm and there gained his first experience in the occupation he was to follow throughout his active career. After his father's death he took full charge of the homestead and showed his early training had given him the ability to execute the work which was entrusted to him. In addition to general farming he also engaged in stock-raising.
Mr. Main was married on the 18th of January, 1905, to Kate Rhodes, whose birth occurred February 12, 1883, and who is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. E. B. Rhodes. Her grandparents were Edwin R. and Sarah (Bartlett) Rhodes. E. B. Rhodes is a resident of Mason City, Iowa, and was married to Mary L. Epperson, whose death occurred in 1884, when she was twenty-one years of age. She was the daughter of William D. and Mary Jane (Westfall) Epperson, originally of Madison county, Kentucky, but who were residents of Knox county after 1836.
In politics, Mr. Main gives his support to the republican party, but has never sought office as a reward for party fealty. In religious faith he is a member of the Presbyterian church of Altona, and lives in accordance with its teachings. By his devotion to his farm and by his life, which has been spent in accordance with the highest ideals of citizenship, he has won for himself the respect and esteem of all.
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago. [Contributed by Bob Miller.]
JOHN MANGION. Page 966.
Amanda Mansfield was born May 11, 1824, in Crawford County, Indiana. Amanda is the daughter of James Mansfield (born 1796 in Lincoln County, Kentucky, died November 26, 1862, Lane County, Oregon) & Elizabeth Champion Mansfield ( born November 17, 1796, died May 20, 1884, Athena, Umatilla County, Oregon). She is the granddaughter of John Champion and Mary Cannon who were married in Lincoln County, Kentucky, November 8, 1794.
Amanda removed from Crawford County, Indiana to Knox County, Illinois, with her family in 1833. She was instructed in the district schools of Illinois. Her father, James Mansfield was one of the leading citizens of Knox county for 20 years (1833 to 1853). Amanda had eight brothers: John C., born in Crawford County Indiana, 1820; Isaac, born 1822, Indiana; Thomas J., born March 16, 1828, Indiana; Samuel, born 1830, Indiana; Francis M., born March 13, 1835, Knox County, Illinois; Benjamin F., born March 13, 1835, Knox County, Illinois; George W., born May 21, 1837, Knox County, Illinois; and William, born September 11, 1840, Knox County, Illinois.
Amanda Mansfield united in marriage with Philologus Ely, January 23, 1851, in Knox County, Illinois. In March of 1853, Philologus and Amanda Ely removed from Knox County, Illinois to the Willamette Valley of Oregon. They traveled with various neighbors and relatives from Knox County, Illinois. Included in this group were Amanda�s parents James & Elizabeth Mansfield. Amanda and Philologus had six children, the 1st, Charles, born in Knox County, Illinois, 1852; the other 5 born in Lane/Linn County, Oregon: George W. born January, 1856; Mary Alice, born January, 1856; Susanna Elizabeth (Lizzie), born 1860; James F., born December 1, 1863; and Rosella Lavina, born about 1867.
Amanda and Philologus resided in Lane County, Oregon until 1874, when they removed to Weston, Umatilla County, Oregon. Amanda was preceded in death by her beloved spouse, Philologus, January 6, 1893. She remained in Umatilla County, Oregon, living with her children until 1903, she then removed to Seattle, Washington, to live with her son, George W. Ely. She departed this life in Seattle, January 27, 1905. Her children transported her body to be buried in Kees Cemetery, Weston, Oregon, in the family plot with her beloved spouse, Philologus Ely, 1826-1893; daughter, Suzanne Elizabeth Ely, 1860-1881; her mother, Elizabeth Champion Mansfield, 1796-1884; and her brother, George W. Mansfield, 1837-1890.
Obituary of Amanda Mansfield Ely, from Athena Press, Athena, Umatilla County, Oregon, 3 February 1905
MOTHER IN HEAVEN.
Our dear mother, Mrs. Amanda Ely, departed from us in Seattle, Wash., January 27, 1905, at the age of 80 years, eight months and 16 days.
She was a devoted mother-our best earthly friend-and a faithful Christian; a member of the Christian church at Athena, Oregon, her home for many years, and where we have buried her body by the side of the graves of our dear father, P. Ely, and our sweet spirited sister, Lizzie Ely. The grave of our dear brother, J. F. Ely, is at San Bernardino, California.
The loving and faithful soul, or spirit, our real mother, has gone into the great beyond where all are going, and from whence none has ever returned. She has left four children and three brothers. Two sons, C. M. and G. W. Ely, and one daughter, M. A. Bamford, are residents of Seattle, Wash., and one daughter, Mrs. R. L. Price, resides near Farmington, Wash. Two brothers, F. M. and B. F. Mansfield, reside at Athena, Ore., and one brother, T. J. Mansfield, resides in Illinois.
Mother has been an invalid for over ten years. A very patient sufferer; never known once to complain or find fault.
"And God shall wipe away all tears from their (her) eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow nor crying; neither shall there be any more pain, for the former things have passed away." (Rev. 21:4.) "Rejoice ever-more." (1st Thess. 5:16.)
No word that we can say or write, or even our thoughts, can express the full meaning of the word mother. Therefore we will only add what our dear sister said of "Heaven;" and let us all think of "Mother in Heaven!"
Resources for information supplied by Carol Heller: US Census information: 1850, Knox County, Illinois; 1860 and 1870, Lane County, Oregon; 1880 and 1900, Umatilla County, Oregon; Utilla Register, 1853, published in Immigration Rosters of the Elliott Cut-Off: 1853-1854 and Immigration Registration at Umatilla Agency, 1853, compiled by Leah Collins Menaffee, 1984; Oregon Donation Land Claim Records; Biography of Philologus Ely, History of Pacific Northwest - Oregon & Washington, published 1889, Portland, OR, p 318. Biography of Frank M. Mansfield, Illustrated History of Oregon, Rev. H.K. Hines, Lewis Publishing Co., 1893; Kees Cemetery Records, Weston, Oregon; Athena Press, February 3, 1905. Photo of Amanda Mansfield Ely, taken 1888, Pendleton, Oregon, in possession of Carol Heller.
From the 1893 An Illustrated History of the State of Oregon by Rev. H. K. Hinds, D. D., The Lewis Publishing Co., Chicago. Pages 540, 541. [Contributed by Carol Heller.]
Francis M. Mansfield, a pioneer of Oregon and a most respected citizen of Umatilla county, was born in Knox county, Illinois, March 13, 1835. He was the sixth child in a family of nine children born to James and Elizabeth (Champion) Mansfield, both of Kentucky, who were married in that State, removed to Indiana, and in 1833 to Illinois. Our subject grew up as a farmer boy, and when his father decided to go to Oregon he was eager to accompany him. For twenty years Mr. Mansfield, Sr., has been one of the leading men in Knox county, where he had been one of its early settlers, but in 1853 he decided to cross the plains and again try pioneer life in a new country, therefore, supplying themselves with plenty of horses and oxen, they started out and in the fall of 1853 reached the Willamette valley in Oregon. They were six months on the road, but had no trouble with Indians and encountered those hardships which were the natural result of a journey of that length through the wilderness. Mr. (James) Mansfield took up 320 acres of land in Lane county, which he improved and made into a comfortable home, but his death occurred November 26, 1862, when he was sixty-five years of age. His wife (Elizabeth Champion Mansfield) survived him until May 20, 1884, when she passed away at the good old age of eighty eight.
Our subject (Francis Marion Mansfield) attended the district schools of Illinois before he started for the West, at which time he was eighteen years old. After reaching his new home he entered the mines and worked in Idaho and Oregon, and was very successful in his endeavors. After some time he quit mining and entered into the sawmill business, and continued that for five years in the Willamette valley and sold it to buy a ferry boat, which he conducted at the crossing of the Willamette river at Harrisburg, and had a line of drays to connect with it and run into the town. This employment he continued until 1873, when he moved to Umatilla county and located on 160 acres of fine land three miles east of Athena. This place he has improved, and now has one of the most desirable homes in the county. He was always industrious, and being a man of intelligence has known how to profitably improve his place and now can well be proud of the result. When he built his fine residence he thought of the future and set out rows of trees, so that the three acres which he devoted to his home place should be beautiful, and now his grove is a thing of beauty, some of the trees measuring two feet in diameter. He has added to his original purchase and now has 320 acres of land under cultivation, and he and his only son manage it all.
Our subject was married December 25, 1866, to Miss Nanny E. Purdy, a native of Illinois, who came to Oregon in 1865, and they spent many years of happiness together, but January 29, 1886, she was called away from life, leaving desolate her husband and one child. The latter, David H., is living now with a family of his own near his father. Our subject was married a second time September 25, 1887, to Mrs. Lizzie White, born in Boone county, Missouri, June 30, 1846, a daughter of Mathew and Sarah (Hicks) Fountain, the former a native of Kentucky and the latter of Missouri. Mrs. Mansfield was married to her first husband, Mr. Peregrine White, in 1862. He was a native of Massachusetts and died in 1882 at the age of forty-nine years, the only child of the marriage dying in infancy. Mrs. Mansfield is a lady of many accomplishments and of great refinement and manages her home with taste and ease.
The following is an excerpt from obituary of Francis Marion Mansfield from Athena Press, Athena, Oregon, Friday, April 7, 1911: A Pioneer is Gone. Uncle Frank Mansfield, one of the best known pioneers in the Northwest, died at his home a few minutes after midnight Saturday morning, as the result of a sudden attack of heart failure�.Francis Marion Mansfield was born at Galesburg, Illinois, March 13, 1835 and died Athena, Oregon, April 1, 1911, aged 76 years and 19 days�..He was the last of a family of 9 children, 8 brothers and 1 sister. The last to precede him to the grave was B.F. Mansfield, a twin brother, who in his declining years found a welcome home with his brother Frank. The deceased was a devout Christian gentleman, being a member of the Christian Church�.He lived well within the limits prescribed for honorable men, and the community is better for his having lived with us. (Frank Mansfield is buried at Weston Cemetery, Weston, Oregon, where rests the remains of his 1st wife, Nancy Purdy; at the time of his death, Mr. Mansfield was survived by his 2nd wife, Lizzie Fountain White Mansfield and his son, D.
James Mansfield was born in 1796 in Lincoln County, Kentucky. He married Elizabeth Champion, daughter of John Champion and Mary Cannon Champion, on July 1, 1819 in Washington County, Kentucky. Elizabeth Champion was born November 17, 1796 in Kentucky. James and Elizabeth moved from Kentucky to Crawford County, Indiana, where they resided until 1833 at which time they moved to Knox County, Illinois. They were numbered among the early residents of Knox County, Illinois. They remained in Knox County until the spring of 1853 at which time they journeyed to Oregon by covered wagon. Seven sons and one daughter and various neighbors and relatives from Knox County journeyed with them to Oregon. (One son, Thomas J. Mansfield, remained in Knox County, Illinois.) James and Elizabeth Mansfield arrived in the Willamette Valley of Oregon in September of 1853. They took out Oregon Donation Land Claim # 1160 and made their home in Lane County, Oregon, on the Willamette River. James died there on November 26, 1862 and is buried in Harrisburg, Oregon in the Mansfield, Muddy Creek Cemetery. (Sons William and John also died in the Harrisburg region of Oregon). In the years 1874 and 1875, Elizabeth Mansfield and her surviving children with their families moved to Umatilla County, Oregon. Elizabeth died in Athena (Centerville), Oregon May 24, 1884, and is buried at Kees Cemetery in Weston, Oregon.
To James and Elizabeth Mansfield were born 10 children, one of which died in infancy, leaving 9 children to survive.
Born in Crawford County, Indiana, were:
Born in Knox County, Illinois, were:
John C. Mansfield married Sarah Frakes, daughter of Alexander and Elizabeth (Daugherty) Frakes May 03, 1840, Knox Co, Illinois. Illinois Statewide Marriage Index.
Isaac S. Mansfield married Leah Keys, daughter of Thomas and Sarah (Fountain) Keys, February 12, 1846, Knox Co., Illinois. Illinois Statewide Marriage Index.
Thomas J. Mansfield married Sarah A. Wilmot, daughter of Amos and Betsey (Crawford) Wilmot, February 17, 1853, Knox Co., Illinois. Illinois Statewide Marriage Index.
Samuel Mansfield (marriage not listed at this time)
Francis Mansfield married first Nancy Purdy December 25, 1866, Oregon (died 1886), married 2nd Lizzie Fountain White, daughter of Matthew and Sarah (Hicks) Fountain.
Benjamin F. Mansfield married Emily Mosier April 28, 1878, Umatilla Co, OR. Umatilla Co Marriage Book C, 265.
George W. Mansfield married Alice Canady at the home of John Canady on March 10, 1866, Lane Co, OR. Lane County (Oregon) Marriages, Vol 1 1852-1869, book 2. Record location: State of Oregon Archives, Salem, OR.
William Mansfield married Julia A. Holt November 24, 1867, Lane Co, OR. Lane County (Oregon) Marriages, Vol 1 1852-1869, book 3. Record location: State of Oregon Archives, Salem, OR.
Birth and marriage information for James Mansfield & Elizabeth Champion Mansfield from Oregon Donation Land Claim # 1160, record located at State of Oregon Archives, Salem, OR.
(Elizabeth Champion Mansfield is sister of Ruth Champion who was married to William McMurtry).
Thomas J. Mansfield, son of Jos. and Elizabeth (Champion) Mansfield, natives of Kentucky. He was born in Crawford co., Ind., March 16,1828; came to Henderson township, Knox co., in 1833, where he was educated; was Supervisor for that township in 1860, and has been Road Commissioner and School Director in Ontario township, where he now lives on a large farm; married Sarah A. Wilmot Feb. 17, 1853; they have 3 boys; joined the Christian Church in 1850; baptized by Elder Jno. E. Martin; Deacon for several years. Republican. P.O., Woodhull, Ill.
From the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County, Munsell Publishing Company.
HIRAM MARS was born in Oldham County, near Louisville, January 7, 1829. He was the son of Andrew and Elizabeth P. (Whips) Mars and was reared on a farm. His father was a farmer and a planter, and both parents died when he was quite young. After their decease, his home was with his maternal grandfather, and under his care and watchfulness, young Mars was raised to manhood.
His early educational advantages were of the poorer sort; for at that early day, the modern school system of that State was not as yet established. He attended private schools during his boyhood and became proficient in the various studies pursued. He came to Illinois when about seventeen years of age, and entered Illinois College at Jacksonville, remaining there three years. After leaving college, he went to Quincy and remained there until 1856, when he came to Galesburg. His first occupation here was in connection with a planing-mill and sash factory, in which business he was engaged for two years. Then for two years, he worked in the lumberyard of Mr. Edwin Post. In 1863, he was connected with the Revenue Department on the Mississippi and was located at Memphis, Tennessee, and served for two years, when he returned to Galesburg. In the Spring of 1865, he again entered the lumberyard of Mr. Post and served for the period of six years in the capacity of bookkeeper and salesman. At the end of this period of service, he purchased the lumberyard and was associated with Mr. Norman Anthony as his first partner. Afterwards, he was associated with Stanley and Hitchcock, and two or three years later, he again formed a copartnership with Mr. Anthony, which continued for several years, or until Mr. Anthony withdrew. Then Mr. Mars took as a partner Mr. Hamilton, of Chicago, and the first was known under the name of Hamilton and Mars. This firm continued its existence until 1888, when it was dissolved by mutual consent. Since that time, Mr. Mars has carried on the business alone.
Mr. Mars has earned himself the name of a trustworthy man. By fair dealing and strict integrity he has won the confidence of his fellow citizens. He has never sought office, but has been called to several places of public trust. He has been on the Board of Park Commissioners for fifteen years, and his knowledge in this department has made him a most valuable member. He was a member of the Public Library Board for nine years; was Treasurer of Veritas Lodge of Odd Fellows for twelve years; was Trustee of the Presbyterian Church about the same length of time; was a member of the Building Committee, when the late, new church was erected; and has served as one of the City Aldermen for two years.
Mr. Mars has lived an uneventful but industrious life. He has shown praiseworthy diligence in business and the work of his hands has been crowned with success. The essential elements of his nature can be expressed in three words &endash; temperance, frugality, economy. He has always shown himself to be a public-spirited citizen and an honest man.
Mr. Mars' religious creed is rather broad than otherwise. From childhood, he has attended the Presbyterian Church, though not a member. His political convictions are republican. With that party he has acted since its organization. He was formerly a whit and cast his first vote for Zachary Taylor.
Mr. Mars was first married in 1852, to Louisa Barr of Quincy, Illinois. One daughter was born to them, Nettie L., now wife of F. H. Holmes, of this city. His first wife died in 1864. His second marriage took place in 1873, to Elizabeth H. Smith, of Wellsburg, West Virginia. To them were born three children: Katie M.; James A.; and Mary Elizabeth.
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago. [Contributed by Bob Miller.]
JEREMIAH MASON. Page 549.
From the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County, Munsell Publishing Company, page 912. [Contributed by Bobbie (Barb).]
ANSON MASSEY (deceased); Farmer; Orange Township; born in May, 1817, at Wilmington, Ohio, where he was educated. His parents were James and Elizabeth (Hale) Massey of North Carolina; his grandfathers were Francis Massey of North Carolina, and Jacob Hale of Pennsylvania. He was married to Elizabeth Hill, February 7, 1838, in Clinton County, Ohio. Their children are: Louisa, Isaac, Frank, Mary, Eli, Katherine E., Julia Martha, and Alfred. Isaac and Frank served in the Civil War. Katherine E. was married to William McCleary; their children are: George S., Nancy J., Lena C., Frank A., Elmer E., William M., Cora Edith, and Mary Elizabeth. Mr. Massey came to Knox County in June, 1844, with his wife and three children. They spent one winter in Knoxville and then removed to Abingdon, where he worked at his trade of harnessmaker until he began to farm in Orange Township. He died in February, 1894. Mrs. Massey was the daughter of Ephriam R. and Content (Haynes) Hill. The father of E. R. Hill was Isaac Hill, who was born at Newberg, New York. Mrs. E. R. Hill was born in Dutchess County, New York, and was the daughter of Enoch and Elizabeth (Birdsell) Haynes. Enoch Haynes was a son of Asa Haynes, a native of Scotland, who bought land on the Croton River, New York, which is still owned by his descendants. Robert E., Hill, brother of Mrs. Massey, came to Knox County in the Spring of 1838. In 1839, he bought the farm of 165 acres where Mrs. Massey now lives. He was highly respected by all. The great-great-grandfather, Asa Haynes, had a brother, William, who settled in South Carolina, and who was the ancestor of the Haynes family of the South. In politics; Mr. Anson Massey was a republican.
From the 1883 William G. Cutler's History of the State of Kansas - Bourbon County, published by A. T. Andreas, Chicago, IL. [Contributed by Bob Miller.]
LEROY M. MATHEWS, dentist, came to Linn County, Kan., and located near Mound City, in November, 1865. In June, 1866, he returned to Cordova, Ill., and in 1868, went to Ohio for one year. He then returned to Linn County, Kan., and remained there; engaged in the practice of dentistry, at Mound City, and Pleasanton, until February, 1882. He has been engaged in the practice of dentistry for eleven years, nine of which he has had an office of his own in Kansas and Iowa. He was born in Princeton, Bureau Co., Ill., September 27, 1848, and when a youth removed with his parents to Scott County, Iowa. After remaining there a year or two he removed to Rock Island County, Ill. Dr. Mathews is a member of the A., F. & A. M., and of the Kansas State Dental Association. He was married in Vernon County, Mo., March 16, 1873, to Marilla Lane, a native of Knox County, Ill. They have one child, a daughter - Lou Taylor. He is a son of Zachariah M. Mathews, now a resident of Linn County, Kan., having located there about ten years ago.
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago, page 437. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
Joseph C. Maxwell. Among the representative men and noteworthy citizens of Knox County may be found the subject of this notice, whose farm is located on section 14, in Sparta township. He is eminently worthy of notice for his facility in business and his ability in his chosen vocation. He occupies a worthy position in his community and has held many of the local offices. He has been Overseer of Highways, and is a helpful man in his township. He is somewhat interested in educational matters, and has been School Director for some years.
Mr. Maxwell was born in Knox County, 10 May 1849. His parents are Robert and Sarah (Maxwell) Maxwell, both natives of Indiana, who, while yet children, came to Illinois with their parents, who settled in Clay County, and subsequently, in 1845, came to Knox county, where they settled in Henderson Township. At present they live in Union County, Iowa, where they moved in 1873. He has followed school teaching combined with his agricultural pursuits, with the exception of three years which he spent in the army. To them has been born a family of five children: Eva, Joseph C., Josie, Maud, and William.
Mr. Maxwell of this sketch remained under the parental roof until he reached the estate of manhood, attending school and assisting on the farm. On reaching his majority he rented a farm in Henderson Township and followed agricultural pursuits until 1874. The then purchased 280 acres in the State of Iowa, on which he lived for three years. Prosperity crowned his efforts and with the proceeds of this venture, he returned to Illinois, where he settled in Sparta Township, purchasing 130 acres of land. At the present time he has a farm of 180 acres in Henderson Township and an interest in 160 acres in Iowa; on this last he carries on stock raising, breeding and selling.
Mr. Maxwell was united in marriage in 1869, with Miss Eliza Duval [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Joseph C. Maxwell marrying a Eliza J. Duvall in Knox County on December 15, 1869], a native of Knox County, and a daughter of Barryman and Mary (Wilkins) Duval. Mr. and Mrs. Maxwell have been given four children, by name Lula, Seth, Nattie and Willie.
From the 1886 History of Caldwell and Livingston Counties, Missouri. [Contributed by Todd Walter.]
SOLOMON McCLEERY. Farmer and Stock-raiser, Section 13, Post-office, Avalon. Now in his sixty-eighth year, Mr. McCleery has spent a life of energetic, active industry and one not unrewarded with substantial results. His birth occurred February 9, 1819, in Crawford county, Pa., his parents being Thomas and Margaret McCleery, nee Wilson, the father a native of Scotland and the mother originally from the north of Ireland. They emigrated to the United States in 1817, locating in Crawford county, and there the father was engaged in farming until his removal to Mercer county, Pa., where he died in 1857 at the ripe old age of 87 years; his wife was about 65 years old at the time of her death some three years previous. Eight children were in their family: Thomas, of New Wilmington, Pa., who has been an elder in the Presbyterian Church for 50 years; he has a son William, who was a first lieutenant in the Army of the Potomac all during the war; William of Oakland, Cal., now retired; Nancy, widow of Henry Ewing, of Pennsylvania; Joseph, a teacher and surveyor of Mercer country, Pa.; Elizabeth, living at New Hamburg, Pa.; Alexander died when 17 years old; James enlisted in Co. H, 23d Illinois volunteers, during the war and saw much active service; in the Missouri campaign he was taken prisoner by Mulligan's men and subsequently he was transferred to the Army of the Potomac with which he served until being killed near Medley, Md., January 30, 1864; Wilson, the youngest son, died at the age of 23.
Solomon McCleery after growing up on a farm and receiving the privileges of a good common school education enlisted in Co. C, 45th Illinois volunteers, and, going South, he was engaged in the hard fought battles of Fort Donelson and Fort Henry, Corinth, Jackson, etc. Many were the hardships he endured and finally he was unfitted for active service by reason of sickness, and consequently was honorably discharged January 23, 1862, after which he returned to his old home in Knox county, Ill., where he remained until 1869. In that year he came to Livingston county, Mo., and took up his location at his present place. Here he has 80 acres of valuable land, just east of Avalon, one of the most desirable homesteads to be found anywhere. The appearance of the farm gives evidence of the liberality and progressiveness of its owner, for in all things tending to public improvement Mr. Cleery has at all times freely given his support. His children have each enjoyed good educational advantages and on starting in life have been presented with substantial gifts. They have all done honor to the name they bear. Mr. McC. was married January 8, 1846, to Miss Elizabeth Y. Green, and they have the following children: Margaret, wife of J. N. Kennedy, of Grand River township, this county; William J., of Jericho, Cedar County, Mo.; Jackson W. died at Chillicothe July 22, 1882; Charles died in infancy; Ninittie V., now Mrs. Richard K. Jackson, of Chillicothe, and Nellie E., at home.
J. B. McCONCHIE, farmer, P. O. Frankfort, was born in 1837, in Kirkenbreitshire, Scotland. He came in 1853 to America and located in Illinois. In 1862 he enlisted from Knox County, Ill., in Company I, One Hundred and Second Illinois Volunteer Infantry as a private, and served during the entire rebellion. His regiment was first employed in guarding Kentucky and Tennessee railroads, and in 1864 joined Gen. Sherman at Resaca, Ga., taking part in the great battle at that point. Thereafter, for eleven days, the regiment was under an almost continuous fire, then came the battles of Dallas, Kenesaw Mt., Peach Tree Creek, and the desperate battles about Atlanta, in all of which he was engaged. Marching with Sherman to the sea, Mr. McConchie's company was detached at foragers, and for many days the brave fellows were "corralled" on an island in the Savannah River, with the forces of rebel cavalry all about them. The One Hundred and Second Illinois was the first of Sherman's regiments to enter South Carolina, and made a good record through to the surrender of Johnston and the collapse of the rebellion. Returning to Knox County, Ill., Mr. McConchie brought his wife out to Kansas in August, 1866. They lived in Home Township, Nemaha County, and from there came to the farm on which they now live. Mr. McConchie has a prosperous record to show as regards Kansas. His farm comprises 240 acres, well improved and fenced, 1,000 peach and 200 apple trees, etc. They have eight children -- William, Mary, Grant, John, Hattie, George, Edwin and Jennie. Frederick, the eldest son died, October 25, 1879, aged 21. [Mr. McConchie was probably married in Knox County to Rebecca T. Mosher on Mar. 28, 1858.]
SAMUEL McCONCHIE, P. O. Barrett, is a native of Scotland, where he was born September 30, 1837. Came to America in 1849 and located in Illinois. Enlisted in the United States Army, August 9, 1862, in Company I, One Hundred and Second Illinois Infantry. At the close of the war returned to Knox County, Ill. Was married in Knox County, March 10, 1589, to Jane C. Baird. They have a family of six children -- James H., Maggie, Thomas H., Mary A., Ida May and Jennie.
McCornack. (See John C. McCornack's Samuel Thompson and Helen McCornack site.)
From the 1878 History of Knox County, Illinois published by Charles C. Chapman. [Contributed by Joan Achille.]
W. C. McELREA. A farmer, he was born in Warren County, Illinois, on 10 Feb 1839, the son of Thomas and Hannah (Peterson) McElrea, the former from Ireland and latter from Pennsylvania. His early life was passed on a farm and his education obtained in the district school. He has always been a farmer but has also operated in the mercantile business in St. Augustine for a number of years. He settled in Knox Co in 1852. On 1 Mar 1862 he married Melissa Snare, who bore him four children, two of whom are living. Republican. P. O. St. Augustine. He served in the war of the Rebellion, enlisting on 27 Aug 1861, in Co C, 36th IL Infantry.
From the 1878 History of Knox County, Illinois published by Charles C. Chapman. [Contributed by Joan Achille.]
ED. H. McELWAIN, sec. 22, Persifer tp. P.O., Knoxville.
From the 1899 Memorial and Biographical Record of South Dakota, published by G. A. Ogle & Co., Chicago, page 249. [Contributed by Todd Walter.]
JUDGE WILLIAM McGAAN. Among the professional men of Clark, Clark county, while it would be difficult to determine who stands in the front rank in all respects, it is yet easy to point out the prominent members of the legal fraternity. Among this number is the gentleman above named. who has been in practice for many years, and is well known not only as a man well versed in law, but courteous, gifted mentally, and a potent factor in the life and welfare of his county and state. Aside from the practice of his profession he is engaged in the handling of real estate, and in a financial point of view is one of the thorough men of his community.
Judge McGaan is a native of Ayrshire, Scotland, and was born October 1, 1853. He was the third in a family of eleven children, four of whom are now living, born to William and Agnes (Andrews) McGaan. The family came to America in 1857, and the father engaged in farming in Knox county, Illinois, where he still resides, the mother having passed away some time since.
Our subject was accorded a liberal education, completing a high-school course in Altona, and taking four years in Lombard University, in Galesburg, Illinois. At the age of twenty years he had worked at farming, and after leaving the university he began reading law with Davis & Thompson, of Galesburg. He was admitted to practice at the bar of the supreme court of Illinois in 1880, and became the junior member of the firm of Davis, Thompson & McGaan. He went to Dakota in the fall of 1882 and located a farm in Clark county, near Raymond, and in the spring of 1884 opened a law office in that city. He was elected state's attorney of Clark county in 1886, and removed to the county seat, after which the firm of McGaan & Hague was formed. Our subject has attended to his practice alone since 1892.
Judge McGaan was married, in 1889, to Mrs. Emma L. Dice, nee Coates, a native of Michigan. Mrs. McGaan was the mother of two children by a former marriage, La Verne B., a teacher, and Vera M. No children have been born to Judge and Mrs. McGaan.
Our subject is an old settler in his locality, and, having always taken a prominent part in public matters, he has attained a reputation which extends over a good share of the state. A strong and active Republican, his name is associated with the history of his party, and he has served as delegate to the state conventions, and is at present secretary of the county Republican central committee. He was elected county judge of Clark county in 1894 and served one term, and was again elected in the fall of 1898 to that important position. He faithfully discharges his duties, and his name stands with the people of his locality for equity and truth, and his rule is one of faultless judgment governed by an unbiased mind. He is prominent in secret society circles, and holds membership in the Ancient Order of United Workmen and the Modern Woodmen of America.
From the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County, Munsell Publishing Company.
THOMAS LESLIE McGIRR (Captain), son of Mahlon and Sarah Lodema (Barbero) McGirr, was born in Maquon, Illinois, January 12, 1854. His father was born in Stark County, Ohio, afterwards moving to Washington County, and then in 1851, to Maquon. For a while, he worked at the carpenter's trade, and later, in company with his brother, established a general store of merchandise, continuing in the business until his brother's death in 1855. He then engaged in farming. His mother, a native of New York, came to Illinois at a very early date, 1839.
The McGirrs are of Scotch descent. Arthur M. McGirr, Leslie's great-grandfather, was born near Glasgow, Scotland. He was a linen draper, and on a visit to Ireland, became acquainted with Nancy McClintic, whom he married October 22, 1783, in the County of Tyrone. They then came to Dover, Delaware, and of their numerous family of children, the seventh, Thomas McGirr was the grandfather of the subject of this sketch. He married Ann Wileman in Stark County, Ohio, December 12, 1821. They were Quakers, and in language, simplicity of manner, and style of dress, they adhere strictly to their faith.
On account of the newness of the country and a want of proper facilities, Leslie's educational advantages were somewhat circumscribed. He attended the public schools of several different townships and received what instruction they were able to give. Besides the branches pursued in school, he studied chemistry, physics, botany and history. He began teaching in Elba Township in December 1873. Afterwards, he taught in Haw Creek and Maquon townships &endash; was principal of school at St. Augustine, taught a summer school at Greenbush, and was principal at Prairie City for several years. For some time he was a student at the college at Abingdon, but left in 1876.
After leaving college, he made a tour of some of the Western States &endash; Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas, Missouri &endash; and visited the Centennial at Philadelphia. He then became a law student under the late Judge Douglas, of the Knox County Bar, and was admitted to general practice in all Courts of the State, November 13, 1882. He first opened a law office at Maquon and practiced there until he moved to Galesburg, August 4, 1887; he afterwards visited New Mexico, Arizona, and Mexico.
March 14, 1891, he was elected Captain of Company C., Sixth Illinois National Guards, reelected in March 1894, and again, in March 1897.
Captain McGirr has always shown a patriotic spirit. At his country's call, he has never hesitated or wavered. On June 10, 1894, he was ordered by the Governor to Pekin to guard and protect the town against mob violence and mob rule. He was ordered to Spring Valley, July 8, 1894, to enforce the law and maintain order against the striking miners. Here he had command of Company A., of Rock Island and Company C., of Galesburg. He also entered the United States Volunteer service in the late war with Spain, and marched to the front. September 1, 1899, he received notice of his appointment to a captaincy in the Fortieth Regiment, United State Volunteer Infantry, to range from August 17, 1899. The appointment was accepted by him, and he was assigned recruiting service for his regiment on September 8.
Captain McGirr has been an honored member of the following societies: has passed through all the chairs in the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Past Grand; A.F. and A.M.; Sachem of Tribe two terms, Improved Order of Red Men; Great Keeper of the Wampum two years; and Great Sachem one term for States of Illinois, Wisconsin, and Minnesota.
Captain McGirr is a man of commanding presence and of a genial disposition. In personal relations, he is affable and agreeable, and meets all with the warmth of friendship and the impressiveness of sincerity. In his religious views, he is not connected with any organization. He believes more in good works than in creeds. He is an unwavering adherent of the republican party.
Captain McGirr was never married.
1882 History of Nebraska - Otoe County, by William Cutler, Andreas Publishing Co. [Contributed by Todd Walter.]
J. H. McINTIRE, dealer in agricultural implements, wagons and buggies, Palmyra, was born in Havana, Mason Co., Ill., February 18, 1854, and remained at home until 1876, when he went traveling for the Marsh Harvester Manufacturing Co. for two years. Then to Palmyra, and engaged extensively in the agricultural implement business, as described above, where by industry and perseverance he has accumulated a fine property. He was married to Miss Maria E. Morton, of Maquon, Knox Co., Ill., March 17, 1881. Mrs. M. was born in 1862. She was the third daughter of the late Lieutenant John Morton, of Company G, Eighty-third Illinois, who died at the age of forty in a hospital at Fort Donelson, of typhoid fever. He was an active, energetic man, a good soldier, and much thought of by his acquaintances, where he resided for several years, in Maquon, Knox Co., Ill. It is pleasing to know that his life was given to his country, and that he died as he had lived -- an honored -- an honored member of the noble army of the Republic. Mr. McI. was elected to the position of Postmaster at the Legislature of the State last time.
From the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County, Munsell Publishing Company, page 782. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
Lewis Cass McKee; Conductor; Galesburg; born January 29, 1851, in Lehigh County, Pennsylvania. His father was Richmond McKee, who died in 1871. Richmond McKee's father came from Scotland to Pennsylvania at an early day. L. Cass McKee was educated in the common schools. He was married to Charlotte Richardson at Savannah, Illinois, February 24, 1876 [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Lewis C. McKee marrying a Lottie Richardson in Carroll County on February 24, 1876]. Their children are: Robert R., Bertha, and Mildred. Mr. McKee came to Bureau County, in 1857, with his father, who was a farmer and contractor. In 1873, he came to Galesburg and began work for the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad Company as brakeman; he was made conductor in 1877, a position which he still holds. Mr. McKee is a member of the Baptist Church. In politics he is a democrat.
[Mr. McKee died in April 1905 and is buried in Linwood Cemetery, Galesburg.]
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago, page 551. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
Alexander H. McKeighan, editor and proprietor of the Industrial Banner, at Yates City, was born Aug. 13, 1836, in Camden County, N. J. His father, Alexander McKeighan, was a native of County Antrim, Ireland, and emigrated to the United States with his wife and one child in 1835. Upon arriving in this country he located in New Jersey, where he remained until 1849, the date of his removal to Fulton County, Illinois. There he purchased a farm four miles west of Farmington, upon which he remained until his death in June 1877, aged 73 years. The maiden name of the senior Mrs. McKeighan was Elizabeth Torrens, also a native of County Antrim, and the date of her birth was March 10, 1810. She still resides on the old homestead in Fulton County, and has become the mother of 12 children, ten of whom grew to attain the age of man and womanhood. All were born in America except the oldest son.
Alexander H. was the second child of his parents' family, and was twelve years of age when he accompanied his parents to Illinois and located in Fulton County. There he labored upon the farm and attended a district school, and for a short time a select school at Farmington. He remained at home until 1858, the date of his marriage to Sarah Berry [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Alexander McKegan marrying a Sarah Berry in Fulton County on December 30, 1858]. She was born in Indiana. At the time of his marriage our subject was teaching school, which occupation he followed for 20 years, teaching in the winter season and farming the remainder of the year. In 1879 he purchased a paper at Ipava, Fulton County. This he continued to run for 43 weeks, or until the year's subscription had been filled. He then removed to Yates City, where he has published the Industrial Banner since that time. In politics this paper supported the Greenback party until 1884, when it advocated the principles of the Prohibition party, but is now independent in all things.
In 1878 A. H. McKeighan was a Greenback candidate for Congress in the then ninth district, comprising Fulton, Knox, Peoria and Stark Counties, receiving the largest vote ever cast for a Greenback candidate in his district, carrying several townships and wards. In 1884, he was elected Chairman of the Greenback State Central Committee. He was also candidate for the State Legislature in 1882, and had been delegated to several of the state conventions in the interest of the Greenback party. He has made a canvas of the district at each election from 1878 to 1884.
Of the children born to our subject and wife we give the following names: William A., Merrettie V., Albert A. A. and Cora I. In 1881 Mr. McKeighan started a paper at Maquon, superintending the management of both of these journals. He spends from one to two days of each week at Maquon. In April, 1882, he opened a hotel, which his wife managed until the spring of 1885, when he closed on account of illness in his family.
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago, page 481. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
James McKeighan. The subject of this sketch, whose portrait appears on the opposite page, was born in Artifarrel, County Antrim, Ireland, June 9, 1803, and was the second son in a family of 11 children, consisting of nine boys and three girls. His parents were John and Lillie (Gault) McKeighan, and the names of their children are as follows: John; Mary and Esther, twins; James, Alexander; William, a son who died in infancy; Samuel, Robert, Daniel, Nancy and Matthew. John, the oldest son, left home when a young man, with the intention of removing to Australia, but is lost sight of, never having been heard from since. Mary united in marriage with a Mr. Patterson, and died a few years ago in Philadelphia. Esther married Robert Moore; is now a widow living with her son, Stuart Moore, near Toulon, Ill. Alexander died at his home near Farmington, in June, 1878, of paralysis. William, who was never married, died at the old home in Ireland about two years ago, and Samuel at his home in Farmington, in 1860. Robert is a wealthy farmer, who has retired from active life and resides in Toulon, Ill. Daniel died over 30 years since of heart disease, dropping dead in the streets of Philadelphia. Nancy married William Farley, and is now a widow, living on her farm north of Toulon. Matthew, the youngest, is living in the state of Missouri.
Our subject at an early age became a linen weaver and worked at that trade until 1835, when he left his native land, bidding adieu to parents, home and kindred, and arrived in the spring of the year at Philadelphia. He brought with him no fortune but his inborn integrity, sound judgment, perseverance and willing hands. He was 32 years of age at that time, with meritorious traits of character firmly grounded, and he entered at once in the new country upon the task of winning a home. Remaining in New Jersey and Pennsylvania until the fall of 1838, he came West and settled at Farmington, Fulton County, this state, working for the home he coveted, and in a few years was in possession of a farm. He then, in the fall of 1847, returned to Ireland, where he married Miss Elizabeth Cunningham, daughter of Robert and Rachel (Cunningham) Cunningham, in 1848, who survives him, and who mourns the loss of a faithful companion and an affectionate and true-hearted husband.
Soon after his marriage Mr. McKeighan returned to America, accompanied by his bride, and located in Fulton County and remained there until 1855. His property consisted of 80 acres of land in Farmington Township, on which was erected a log house. At the time he located in Knox County, this had been replaced by a neat frame house and many improvements - so many, that his farm sold for $30 per acre. He next purchased 160 acres of raw prairie land on section 22 of Salem Township, and from it has developed under the skillful hand of the husbandman a splendid farm, known as Willow Row. He was a resident of this place at the time of his death. He was well known as a pioneer and early worker in both Fulton and Knox Counties. Associated with Henry Andrews and Michael McMahon, both residents of Fulton County, he assisted in grading the first railroad ever attempted to be built in the State. He endured all the hardships incident to that day. His first fence was built of sod, and was still doing duty as late as the spring of 1849. James McKeighan ranked high among the most successful and practical farmers of Illinois, and had grown wealthy and influential by actual labor, and in his later days he deeded large tracts of fine farming land to his children. His family consisted of two boys and four girls, of whom two died in childhood, and were buried within a week of one another. The others are R. J. McKeighan, Rachel, oldest daughter, still at home; Elizabeth is the wife of R. R. Steck; and Emma, the youngest daughter, also residing under the parental roof.
In addition to his farming pursuits, our subject was a successful raiser of fine stock, in which he took a deep interest. In politics he was originally a Whig, but on the formation of the Republican party entered its ranks, upholding and adhering to its principles to the date of his death. He was a man of deep and earnest patriotism, and his affection for the country of his adoption was equaled only by his interest in and devotion to his religion. During the Civil War he never lost faith in the final triumph of right and justice, and he had no sympathy with those who plotted for the downfall of the country. He was a consistent and zealous member of the Old School Presbyterian Church, and sprang from the old Scotch-Irish stock known as Covenanters. With but three fellow-workers - John and Matthew Simpson and Mrs. Oliver Smith - he assisted in organizing the first Presbyterian Church of Farmington, in which he was an active member, giving $1,200 toward the building of a new house of worship. Later he presented the church society of Yates City with a house and lot for a parsonage, he having changed his membership from the former to the latter place. He was ever charitable and helpful to those in need, contributing liberally toward the support of all moral and religious undertakings, and his sound judgment and executive ability rendered him a valuable addition to the building committee of the Farmington Church. Both himself and wife were noted for their hospitality and kindness, and no one who knew him ever doubted but that his honesty of character and hearty religious principles entered into every relation of life. Toward his countrymen he was especially kind, and many have cause to remember his welcome on coming to America as strangers in a strange land. He died Nov. 15, 1885, and his burial services took place from his late residence on the 17th. The services were conducted by Rev. Henning, who rendered to him a generous meed of praise, well knowing that his virtues have builded him a monument in the hearts of people, outlasting and enduring beyond all earthly structures. His call home came one quiet Sabbath evening, and he entered the land of the Redeemed, just as the day was closing. "Blessed are they that die in the Lord."
"Life's duties done, as sinks the day,
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago, page 540. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
Robert John McKeighan, one of Knox County's most successful farmers, residing on section 22, Salem Township, was born in Fulton County, March 21, 1849, and is an only son living of James and Elizabeth (Cunningham) McKeighan (see sketch). Our subject was a child when he accompanied his parents to this county. His early education was received in the common schools of his district, he supplementing the same by attendance of one year and a half at Monmouth College. When R. J. was 21 years of age, his father took him as a partner in business, that of farming, and they thus continued for two years. During that time our subject invented a gang and sulky plow. In 1874 he filed a caveat in the Patent-Office for his invention, and from that time on devoted his attention to the making of his plows. It was not altogether a success and he changed the plan of construction and converted his design into a single-sulky plow. This latter he continued to manufacture and sell until 1878, when he gave up the business and moved to his farm, on section 17, and there occupied his time in agricultural pursuits. Remaining on his place until 1881, he removed to the farm which he now occupies and owns, and is chosen vocation is meeting with far more than ordinary success.
Mr. McKeighan formed a matrimonial alliance Feb. 14, 1878, with Miss Ximena Corey, who was born in Kent County, Md., and was the daughter of James M. and Martha (English) Corey, a sketch of her parents being given in another part of this work. Of Mr. and Mrs. McKeighan's union there has been born one child, a son, by name, James L. Both husband and wife are true and devoted followers of Christ, and carry their religion into their daily lives, showing forth the fruits of the Spirit. They are connected by membership with the Presbyterian Church, and Mr. McK. is one of the Ruling Elders in the Church. In politics he is a thorough and strong Republican, upholding the party and voting for and with it. He is one of the most worthy men and conscientious, able workers in Knox County. His vocation as a farmer includes not only pursuits in that direction, but the breeding and raising of cattle, Short-horn and other blooded stock, together with blooded swine.
From the 1878 History of Knox County, Illinois published by Charles C. Chapman. [Contributed by Joan Achille.]
W. W. McMASTER. A physician, he was born Feb. 23, 1819 in Highland Co., OH. His parents were David McMaster, formerly from Ireland, and Elizabeth Wirdlaw of Virginia.
He was educated in common schools and obtained his medical education in Cincinnati, OH, where he graduated at the Eclectic Medical College.
He has been a practicing physician for 24 years. Dr. McMaster enlisted in an Independent Cavalry Co. in Rushville, IL, in May 1847, and participated in the Mexican War, under command of General Z. Taylor; he also served in the United States army as hospital steward during the Rebellion. Enlisted Aug. 22, 1862 in the 119th Reg. IL Infantry.
He married Susannah Hendricks Oct. 19, 1856. They have had 2 daughters and 1 son. He has been a member of the Presbyterian Church since 1860. He is a Republican.
JAMES C. McMURTRY. Physician. Henderson.
JAMES W. McMURTRY. He was born at Henderson, Knox County, Illinois, on 27 Jul 1856, the son of honest parents who gave him a liberal education in the public schools and Knox College. He is a farmer from choice, and an Independent in politics. He married Jun 1875 to Nannie Henderson, one daughter being born to the union. P.O. Henderson.
From the April 17, 1875, Galesburg, Illinois, newspaper. [Contributed by Janice Katherine Lund, his great, great, great granddaughter.]
Death of Ex-Gov McMurtry
WILLIAM McMURTRY, husband of Ruth Champion McMurtry. "Last Monday in the town of Henderson, the earth closed over the remains of one who had a brief quarter of a century ago wielded a power in the state affairs of Illinois equaled by few men of his time. Had Lieutenant-Governor McMurtry died twenty-five years ago the occurrence would have throbbed from corner to corner throughout the state. Today it caused only a passing notice outside of the immediate circle in which for half a century he lived and from which he has passed to the other shore.
His Political Power
He was not an educated man. On the contrary, it is said that the circumstances of his early frontier life had been of such a rough and wild character that he had not even learned to read when he reached man's estate and was taught by his wife after marriage [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Andrew J. McMurtry marrying a Ruth Champion in Knox County on June 4, 1857]. Brought up as it were in a howling wilderness, he afterwards spent several years as a flat-boatman on the Ohio and Mississippi rivers, away from all refining influences and had none of the advantages of education that favor the present generation. But he was possessed of a native eloquence that took hold upon his hearers and caused them to look up to him as one of the first and foremost men of the day and generation in which he flourished. He was a man of few words, but every word carried with it weight and meaning.
His Last Sickness
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago. [Contributed by Bob Miller.]
S. H. McOMBER. Page 779.
From the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County, Munsell Publishing Company, page 874. [Contributed by Todd Walter.]
DAVID McWILLIAMS; Knoxville; Retired Farmer; born in Knox County, April 7, 1846; educated in the common schools. His parents, Robert and (Margaret) Thurman McWilliams, were natives of Ohio. His paternal grandfather, Samuel McWilliams, was from Pennsylvania; his maternal grandfather, John Thurman, was from Virginia. His ancestry is Scotch, French and Swedish. January 11, 1866, in Knox County, Mr. McWilliams was married to Mary E. Rambo [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a David McWilliams marrying a Mary E. Rambo in Knox County on January 11, 1866]; they have five children: Flora M., Frank E., C. Elmer, Lodema A. and Hattie L. Flora M. married Leonard Stegall; they have one son, Floyd G. Frank E. married Ollie West; they have one daughter, Alma E. Hattie L. married Andrew F. Peterson; they have one son, Francis L. Lodema A. is a teacher in the graded schools of Knoxville. September 13, 1862, Mr. McWilliams enlisted in Company A, Fourteenth Illinois Cavalry, and was honorably discharged July 18, 1865, upon a surgeons certificate of disability. He is a member of G. W. Trafton Post, G.A.R., No. 239, Knoxville. Mr. McWilliams is a republican.
From the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County, Munsell Publishing Company.
SETH WELLER MEAD, son of Orrin and Rhoda (Weller) Mead, was born in the town of Hinsburg, Vermont, April 13, 1835. His father was a farmer, and it was in cultivating the sterile and unyielding soil of the home farm that Seth spent his boyhood. His mother, in the maternal line, was a direct descendant of General Green of Revolutionary fame.
Seth Mead was educated in the public schools and academies of his native State. His early life was not blessed with superior educational advantages. Like other New England boys, he worked on the farm summers and attended school winters. But he improved every opportunity and made even necessity a means of improvement. He became a teacher in the public schools, and in them took his first lessons in discipline and command. Afterwards, he became a country merchant &endash; a line of business, which he pursued for many years.
For several years his prospects for success in his native State were not bright, and he resolved to try his fortunes in the West. In 1875, he came to Illinois, and in the following year, to Galesburg. For the first five years, he was engaged as clerk in the Union Hotel and in Brown's Hotel. In 1882, under the clerkship of Mr. A. J. Perry, he was appointed Deputy County Clerk, which office he held until the time of his death, July 10, 1898.
Mr. Mead had no great fellowship for societies, whether secret, religious or political. When a young man at Hinsburg, Vermont, he joined the fraternity of Free Masons, but never removed his membership from that lodge. He belonged to no church; he had no creed but that of kindness and mercy towards his fellow beings. He was uncompromisingly republican and was thoroughly conversant with the party organization and party measures. He believed in right living and doing right, and lived a most exemplary life. He was known for his kindness of heart and gentleness of disposition, and possessed the innate power of drawing around him a host of friends. He was loved and beloved by all who knew him. In his daily labors, and especially in the office which he held, he was intelligent, kind, and affable; and it may be said that no Deputy County Clerk ever performed the duties of that office more acceptable than he. So conversant was he in county matters that he was regarded as an authority. He filled every station in life well, and his memory is cherished for the good he has done.
Mr. Mead was twice married. He was first married in 1861, to Celia J. Furguson. There were born to them three children, one daughter and two sons: Abbie H., Seth Earnest, and Herbert Furguson.
His second marriage was October 27, 1873, to Sarah M. Gregg. The issue of this union was two children: Frank L., and Mabel L.
Charles Burt Mecum. He was one of nine children. He settled in Galesburg in 1844. Over the winter of 1848/9, he decided to go to California to wash gold. Charles remained in California for five years. He returned to Illinois where he married Frances Richards and moved to Woodhull.
He is found in the 1870 Illinois census, Knox County, Ontario Township. He is age 45 and born in Massachusetts and is a farmer. He lives next door to his wife's brother, Luther, who was a fellow Jayhawker.
In about 1895, the family moved on to Rippey, Greene County, Iowa, and that was the family farm until 1905. His obituary is found in the Galesburg paper 27 February 1905.
"Mecum, Charles H., died in Mount Union, Iowa, one of the best known of the Knox county pioneers and member of the famous Jayhawkers. A letter from his widow to Colonel John B. Colton of Kansas City, also one of the Jayhawkers and a very metriculous keeper of the records and tireless in preserving all records of the famous trip, (coralating date 21 February, following information the death of her husband) "He passed away 26 February. He was dying all day and unconcious. It was not La Grippe alone but he had kidney disease and other troubles incurable. He did not want to live on account of these troubles." A few days before his death, Colonel Colton had gone to his home in company with Mr. Mecum and had celebrated the Jayhawker's anniversary. He saw, however, Mr. Mecum was not robust. Colonel Colton is the last of the survivors east of Sierra Nevada. The membership trip made in 1849 permitted an everlasting friendship."
See also the Charles Burt Mecum story that was written by his son, Edwin W. Mecum., in 1931.
James Tear Mecum was born July 25, 1795 in Feeding Hills, Massachusetts. He married his first wife Julia Dewey on October 15, 1815 and he died December 17, 1877 in Galesburg, Illinois. He served as a Corporal in the 37th U.S. Infantry during the War of 1812, for which he received bounty land near Galesburg.
His granddaughter Mary Mackey wrote the following description of him, "James Tear Mecum lived a remarkable life. He was the finest singer in his section of the country-sang in the church choir. He was very strong, with 44 inch chest measure. At one time when the ranchers were butchering, he slipped and fell backwards in tub of scalding water. He was tempering the water, putting in some ashes or lye, and the hog ran into him; then getting out he fell back the second time. They took more than a pan full of burned flesh off of him, as it just cooked him in places. He was a jolly, happy old man, always singing, whittling, or doing something, and could tell lots of stories. He was in the War of 1812 and the strongest man that could be found in five regiments. He took a barrel of whiskey up by the chimes, and put it up on a floor eight feet above the one he was standing on, by sheer strength. It is said half a dozen regiments hunted for a man that could handle him but failed. He had a half brother named Joseph. He married his second wife (named Nancy Skip Ingram age about 48 years old) December 15, 1858, at Beckett, Massachusetts. He died December 17, 1877 at Robert Mecum's (his oldest son) near Galesburg, Illinois. A photograph of James Tear Mecum shows the strong Irish characteristics inherited from his mother. He has a bright and intelligent expression-the face of both a bright and good man. He weighed 190 to 200 pounds."
From the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County, Munsell Publishing Company, page 941. [Contributed by email@example.com.]
DANIEL E MEEKS; farmer; Chestnut Township; born in Knox County, May 23,1861; educated in the common schools. His father, Abram W. Meeks, was a native of Virginia; his mother, Martha E. (Bonner), was born in Missouri. In Chestnut Township, September 1,1886, Mr. Meeks was married to Netta Burnside [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Daniel E. Meeks marrying a Nellie Burnside in Knox County on September 1, 1886]. They have two children, William B. born in April, 1888, and Fay, born March12, 1891. Mrs. Meeks was born in Chestnut Township, December 25,1864, and is the daughter of William and Julian (Terry) Burnside, who are now living in Galesburg. Mr. Meeks' father, Abraham W. Meeks, came from Ohio to Knox County about forty-nine years ago and is now living at Knoxville. Mr. Meeks' farm of two hundred and forty acres is located on Section 21. He is a dealer in horses, cattle and hogs, and has a fine house and out-buildings. The house is heated by a furnace. In politics, Mr. Meeks is a republican.
From the 1889 Biographical Souvenir of the State of Texas. [Contributed by Todd Walter.]
GEORGE MELTON, only child of Thomas and Elizabeth (Goss) Melton both natives of England, where the subject of the sketch was also born April 5, 1818, reared in England, educated there, learned a trade as a carpenter and builder. To America at age 18, settled Huron Co. Ohio. Sept. 25, 1840, married to Miss Delilah A. Fuller, daughter of Loring Fuller, originally form Mass. whose wife was a Connecticut lady. The same year Mr. Melton moved to Knoxville, Knox Co., Ill. where he lived 13 years. Lived 2 years at Waterloo, Iowa, where he erected an 85 ft. high flagstaff in 1853. Moved to Texas in 1855, located at Sherman.
Raised 6 children, all but one living, most of whom married and settled down around him. Their Christian names are Mollie, Martha, Loring G., Thomas C., Jennie and Deliah. Thomas C. is in business with father in the firm of Melton & Son, contracting and building. In 1878 the family adopted a child by the name of Emily Raper, brought to Texas from the Orphan's Home in Quincy, Ill. Her name is now Adelle Melton.
Mr. Melton is a Mason (since age 22) and a member of the Christian Church.
From the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County, Munsell Publishing Company.
CHARLES C. MERRILL was born in Orwell, Vermont, September 10, 1833. His father was Horace Merrill and his mother's maiden name was Deborah Paine. After their marriage, they resided in Amherst, Massachusetts, until about 1830 when they removed to Orwell. About the year 1836, they went West, settling in Chardon, Geauga County, Ohio, where they continued to reside until their death. They came from good New England stock, and had all the sterling qualities of that industrious and thrifty people. In their natures, they were quiet and retiring, but were tenacious and unwavering in their religious opinions, which were Presbyterian. To their neighbors and friends, they were always kind, sympathetic, and generous, and spent their lives in doing good. The son has embalmed their memory in the following words: "A happy, well mated couple, taking great delight in each other, and rearing a large family, who will ever revere their memory. They both died at a good old age."
C. C. Merrill's father was the son of Captain Calvin Merrill, and was born in Amherst, Massachusetts, August 31, 1789. He died September 6, 1873, at the advanced age of eighty-four years. His mother was born in Vernon, Connecticut, August 31, 1788 and died in Kingsville, Ohio, August 5, 1874, at the age of eighty-six. They were married in Amherst, October 19, 1809 and had nine children, four sons and five daughters. Two daughters and three sons are deceased.
C. C. Merrill received an excellent common school education at Chardon, Ohio. At fifteen years of age, he attended the Western Reserve Teacher's Seminary at Kirtland and became well qualified to give instruction in those branches usually taught by the common schools. Mr. Merrill's experience as a teacher is not a long one. He taught for a short time in the seminary at Kirtland, and one term in a district school.
The boyhood of Mr. Merrill was spent at the paternal homestead in Chardon, Ohio. His older sisters were teachers, and this circumstance gave him a most excellent opportunity for study, for which he had a strong desire. His father was not a man of affluence. Consequently, young Merrill was obliged to "shift for himself" and earn in part his own support.
In the Fall of 1853, when he was only twenty years of age, Mr. Merrill came to Illinois. He spent a few days in Galesburg with his uncle, Roswell Paine, who was one of the original Galesburg colony. He then went to Oquawka, Illinois, and took a position as clerk in the store of James McKinney. He remained here from the Spring of 1854 to September of the same year, when he went to Greenbush, Illinois. Here he formed a partnership with his brother, F. H. Merrill, and Alfred Osborn in a general store, under the firm name of Merrill, Osborn and Merrill. In the Fall of 1860, he came to Galesburg and was first employed as a clerk in the dry goods store of E. F. Thomas. In the Fall of 1863, he engaged in the clothing business for himself, and continued in that business at the same place, 136 Main Street, for the long period of nearly thirty-six years. April 27, 1899, he disposed of his stock of goods and retired.
Honor does not always come to the deserving or merited praise to the public benefactor. By a consistent and conscientious life, Mr. Merrill has won both praise and honor from his fellow townsmen. In 1873-4, he was elected to an aldermanship from the Second Ward of the city and served his constituents faithfully and honorably. From 1885 to 1894, he served as a member of the Board of Education, and in 1898, he was again elected, which position he still holds.
As a citizen, Mr. Merrill is a good example of a just and honorable man. He is patriotic in spirit, has great decision of character, and has always been known for his fair dealings in business. He is possessed of kindly feelings towards all, is charitable towards the failings of others, and does not believe in temporizing where principle is concerned. He has lived an upright life, faithful to duty, and his example is worthy of imitation.
Mr. Merrill joined the Methodist Episcopal Church in 1867, and has since been a reliable and consistent member. In political faith, he is a republican. He says: "I cast my first vote for John C. Fremont, in 1856. I have never changed my views, and am a firm believer in the political platform of the republican party, and in William McKinley, as President of the United States".
Mr. Merrill was married August 27, 1855, at North Bloomfield, Trumbull County, Ohio, to Cornelia Converse Osborn. Her father was a farmer and one of the earliest settlers in that part of Ohio. The family came from Connecticut, with ox teams, requiring many weeks to perform the journey. There were nine children. Mrs. Merrill's brother, Dr. R. H. Osborn, now living in Detroit, Michigan was for about forty years, the resident physician for the Hecla and Calumet Mining Company, located at Calumet, Michigan. Her older sister, Mrs. David Parsons, was for many years a prominent teacher and was the first woman elected on the Board of Education at Detroit, where she still resides.
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago, page 552. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
Stanton J. Merriss, one of our most successful farmers, who is also engaged in stock raising and breeding, is the subject of this sketch, and has for some time been a resident of Knox County and is one of its most reliable citizens. His home lies in Indian Point Township, and is situated on section 28. He is the possessor of 297 1/2 acres of fine land, 280 of which are highly cultivated. Mr. Merriss may be considered really as one of the pioneers of the State of Illinois, as he faced the privations and hardships of those early days, when that now flourishing West consisted of prairie land.
Our subject was born in Scott County, Illinois, Oct. 5, 1828, his father coming to the state in 1818, where he first stopped at Springfield, and there remained for two years. From that city he went to Scott County, took up some land and passed two years. While a resident there he went back to his native state, Ohio, where his marriage took place with Miss Eliza Piper, and the young couple immediately started for their home in Illinois. This was John B. Merriss, father of our subject, who was born in 1800, and died in 1848, in Scott County, Ill., of typhoid fever; his wife died May 13, 1831. They were the parents of three children - Bethuel M, Stanton J. and Charles. Mr. Stanton Merriss, of this writing, was the second son in order of birth of John B. and Eliza Merriss, and while still young was united in marriage with Miss Lavina Coltas, March 28, 1854 [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Stanton J. Merriss marrying a Lovina Coultas in Scott County on March 24, 1854]. She was born in Scott County, Ill., Dec. 7, 1838, and died Oct. 3, 1860. To them were born four children - Icabenda R., who married John E. Edmunson; Mary E., born Aug. 6, 1856, who married Samuel Cox; Francis S., born Feb. 12, 1859, who died in the following fall; Mary E. died March 20, 1879; and Lydia L., who was born Aug. 10, 1860, and died Dec. 25, 1885, of consumption. The latter was the wife of John Burnaugh; she left one child, named Gertrude. Mr. Merriss formed a second matrimonial alliance, the other contracting party being Miss Indiana Butler, Dec. 31, 1861 [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Stanton S. Merriss marrying a Indiana Butler in Knox County on December 31, 1861]. Miss Butler was born in Ohio, Oct. 4, 1835, and their marriage has been blest with the birth of two children - Sallie, born Sept. 17, 1872, and Stanton E., born Dec. 22, 1874. The parents of Mrs. Indiana Merriss are Eli and Sallie (Robinson) Butler, both of whom are now deceased. Mr. Merriss lost his second wife by death, February 20, 1879.
September 10, 1879, Mr. M. united in marriage with Mrs. Sarah Bevins [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Stanton S. Merris marrying a Mrs. Sarah Bevins in Knox County on September 10, 1879], a native of Illinois, who was born Feb. 22, 1842. Her parents' names were George W. and Sarah (Bloom) Lewis. The former was born in Kentucky in 1804, and the latter in 1811, in the State of New Jersey. She departed this life May 10, 1870, leaving to mourn her loss five children - Sarah, born Feb. 22, 1842, in Vermillion County; Mary E., born Sept. 12, 1847, who married Mr. Andrew Lackey, of Rushville, Ill.; Cornelius, born July 29, 1852, who now lives in Nebraska. Mrs. Lewis Merriss united in marriage with Mr. Jesse Bivens, Sept. 18, 1859, and his death occurred April 25, 1874. There were four children born of this marriage, all living - Sarah E. Bevins, born Jan. 6, 1861, is the wife of John E. Smith; their home is in Knox County; John L. was born Sept. 5, 1862; Mary E., March 6, 1864, is the wife of Leonard J. Cutler, and their home is in Knox County, Ill.; Anna L., born April 27, 1868.
Thomas Bevins, the father of Jesse, married a lady by the name of Anna Gundy. Both she and her husband were natives of Maryland. Jesse Bevins was born in Franklin County, Ohio, and came to Illinois when he was yet a youth. His parents died while he was yet young. The name of Mrs. Merriss' grandchildren are Daisy L., Claude Evert and Leroy R. Smith.
George W. Lewis was a soldier in the Black Hawk War and also in the Mexican War. When the elder Mr. Merriss came to Scott County, there was but 20 settlers in 40 miles. The Merriss family is Irish on the paternal side.
Mr. James [John] B. Merriss married his second wife, who was Caroline Matilda Draper [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a John B. Morris marrying a Caroline M. Draper in Morgan County on June 2, 1832], and by this union there were five children who lived to maturity. She died March 25, 1853. He was a Free-Will Baptist in religious belief.
Mr. S. J. Merriss received such education as the schools of his native county afforded, and was reared upon the farm. He purchased the land where he now lives in the year 1856, and moved here the year following. It was but slightly improved, and the buildings, fencing, improvements and adornments have been the result of his own labor with his own hands.
The home of Mr. Merriss is one of culture and refinement, his wife being an intelligent lady. He is an extensive breeder of Short-Horn and Jersey cattle. Both he and his wife are active and useful members of the society in which they move, and he is an active member of the Missionary Baptist Church, of which he is an adherent. His wife is united with the Christian Church, and is an earnest Christian in soul and purpose. In politics, Mr. Merriss is a Democrat.
Alexander W. Miller. He was born 12 Sept 1830 on Long Island, NY, the son of Vincent and Alma Miller, who were both natives of the same place. Alexander Miller is one of the pioneers of the West coming to Andover, IL as early as 1835, and settled in Knox Co in 1843. He learned the shoemaker's trade but his health failing, he engaged in farming. He married 16 Feb 1851 to Miss Rebecca Edwards. They have four children, 3 of who are living. P.O. Altona.
J. Hartshorne Miller. A physician, in Abingdon, he was born in Alexandria, DC, on 9 Sept 1839. He is the son of Joseph H. and Phebe Ann Miller, from Loudon Co, Virginia. He was educated in the common schools; studied medicine and took a course of lectures at Ann Arbor, MI, and a course at Homeopathic Medical College of MO. He served three years in the late civil war as a member of Co B, of 84th IL Infantry. Returning, he lived in Peoria, IL until 1868. He came to Abingdon in 1870. On 10 June 1874, he married D. B. Latimer, by whom he has three daughters. He has been a member of the Presbyterian Church since 1866.
John M. A. Miller. He is the son of Benjamin Miller of Otsego Co NY and Julia O. (Garrett) of CT. John M. was born 1 Oct 1826 in Cortland Co, NY, and at age 10 came to Peoria Co, IL, with his parents. He received a collegiate education and was married 17 Mar 1852 to Harriet Robinson. They had 13 children born to them. Ten of them are now living. He was with the Christian Church from 1841, and then joined the Baptist Church in 1856. He is a farmer from choice. he crossed the plains to CA in 1849, returning by water via Panama in 1851. He is a Democrat. P.O. Galva, IL.
This copy is from the scrapbook of my grandmother, Clara Grice Saverley. I would guess this is from the London Times. [Contributed by Beryl.]
DEATH OF MRS. ISAAC MILLS
Christina Potts Mills. Mrs. Isaac Mills passed away t her home north of London Mills at about 5PM, Friday, April 30, 1897, aged 63 years 4 months and 29 days. Her death was caused by a complication of troubles rather than any one disease. The funeral service was conducted at Hermon on Sunday by Elder Hagen and the body was laid to rest in the Christian cemetery at that place.
Christina Potts was born in Madison Co., Ohio, Dec. 1, 1833. She came to Illinois in 1848. She was married to Isaac Mills, March 2, 1853 [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Christena Lotts marrying a Isaac Mills in Knox County on March 24, 1853]. To them were born eight children, four boys and four girls. One boy died in infancy. Surviving are William; Ellery; Charley; Flora, wife of Daniel Humphrey of Great Bend, KS.; Lodema, wife of Wm. Shumaker of St. Augustine; Zina, wife of Richard Sampson; and Clara, wife of Mark Watkins. These with the husband and father, and many warm friends are left to mourn her departure. She was a true and faithful wife, a kind and loving, devoted mother, and a kind friend and neighbor. She has gone to her reward.
From the August, 1899, Galesburg-Republican Register. [Transcribed by Donna Dobbelaere.]
DEATH OF MRS. MOBERG
Betsy Moberg. The remains of Mrs. Betsy Moberg passed through here Tuesday from Stromsburg, Neb., to her old home neighborhood in Copley township, where the funeral was held in Maxey chapel at 10:30 o'clock, with Rev. Mr. Rabe, of the Victoria Swedish M. E. Church, officiating, assisted by Rev. Mr. Porter, of the M. E. church in Victoria. Mrs. Moberg was injured by falling into the cellar at the home of her daughter, Mrs. Mary Burgman, near Stromsburg, Polk county, Neb., Thursday, August 3. In the fall, she sustained injuries on her head and broke three ribs in the region of her heart. She did not rally from the effects, but died on Saturday, August 9. Mrs. Moberg was one of the old settlers of the country. With her husband and some children, she came to this country in 1849, going direct to Victoria. It is said that they were the first to come direct to Victoria from the old country, although there were settlers there from the Bishop Hill colony. She has since lived on a farm in Copley township until February 17, when she went to Nebraska to visit her son and daughter in Stromsburg, and a sister in Lincoln. Mrs. Moberg was married in the old country. Her husband, Peter Moberg, died twenty-eight years ago. At the time of her death she was 87 years, 7 months, and 22 days old. She was one of the first members of the Swedish M. E. church of Victoria and always maintained an active interest in the affairs of the church. She was a good woman, of sturdy character. There survive her three children -- Betsy Westergreen, of Copley township; Mary Burgman and Henry Moberg, of Polk county, Nebraska, and a sister, Mrs. Peter Burgman of Lincoln, Nebraska. There are five children dead. The Polk county relatives accompanied the remains.
From the April 14, 1923, Galesburg Evening Mail. [Contributed by Sharon Lytle, who is descended from Thomas C. Grabill, a brother of America.]
America Grabill MOORE "was born in Highland county, Ohio Nov 13, 1850, and departed this life at her home in Gilson, Ill, April 11, at 1?:30 AM. She was one of a family of eight children, who with her father, Isaac Grabill, emigrated to Illinois when she was but eight years old and settled on a farm at Knox County near Gilson, Ill. They were among the early pioneers who made the trip in a prairie schooner from the east, settling in what was then the wild and thinly settled west. At an early age the household duties fell heavily upon her, as her mother died when she was but a few years old.
April 10, 1865 she was united in marriage to James McCutcheon Moore at Knoxville, Ill., which was then the county seat of Knox County. Her husband preceded her in death eight years ago. They had lived together in wedded life fifty years and one month, previous to his death. Soon after their marriage they settled on a farm east of Gilson, on Spoon river, later coming to Gilson and residing in the same location for over fifty years. During this period many war and longstanding friendships were formed, as was clearly evidenced during her last lingering illness. Five children were born in this family: four of whom are now living, as follows: George E of Abingdon; Mrs. Grace Bushong, of Galesburg; James C. and Grant F., both of Gilson, and Mrs. A. C. Wood of Osceola Ill. All the children were at her bedside at the time of her death.
At an early age she united with the Methodist Episcopal church and with her husband, was very active in rural church and Sunday school work, continuing a member of the church of her choice until the time of her death.
She was blessed with unusual health until her last illness, which began Christmas day, 1922.
Three months ago, in company with her daughter, Mrs. A. C. Woods, she was taken to the Mayo clinic, Rochester, Minn., for examination and treatment. On her arrival there, her condition was found to be very serious and little hope was given for recovery. Under the personal direction of Dr. Charles Mayo, they gave her every possible treatment to prolong life and make her comfortable to the last. As the result of X-ray and radium treatment her last sickness was entirely free from suffering or pain. She evidenced her optimistic and uncomplaining spirit to the last. Conscious and free from pain, she passed peacefully into the great beyond. Her departure will be missed not only by relatives, but by the entire community where she has resided so long.
Funeral services were conducted by the Rev. J. L. Bough of North Henderson, assisted by the Rev. Mr. Clark. Mrs. C. E. Beecher presiding at the piano. Interment was in Gilson cemetery."
WILLIAM T. MOORE. Page 608.
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago, page 390. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
Isaac Morgan. Standing on section 8, of Chestnut township, is the residence of an old veteran of the late war, the subject of this historical narrative, who enlisted with the 30th Regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry, the date of his enlistment being 1863 and the commander, Colonel Rhodes, of Macoupin County, Illinois. He belonged to the Second Brigade, Second Division of the 17th Corps of the Army of the Tennessee and fought in the second battle of Nashville, Tennessee, at Wyse's Fork, near Kingston, North Carolina and also took part in several minor engagements. He was finally detailed to do guard duty, having received no serious wounds, but the hardships through which he passed, the long marches, hunger and exposure to inclement weather combined, made deep inroads upon his physical constitution, and to-day he suffers their effects.
Mr. Morgan was born in Franklin County, Indiana, November 6, 1826 and in 1853 came to the State of Illinois. He was united in wedlock in 1853 with Miss Ann Eliza Barber, also a native of Indiana, born April 29, 1834. Mr. and Mrs. Morgan are the parents of eight children, as follows: Margaret J., Augustus, Weaver, Martha A., John W., Octava, Mehitabel, Eli F., Robert M., two died in infancy.
Mr. Morgan is the possessor of 150 acres of excellent land, upon which is situated his comfortable residence. He is in delicate health, but draws a pension of $16 per month from the Government. He received an honorable discharge from the army June 18, 1865, and was mustered out of service at Camp Butler, Illinois. He is a member of the G.A.R. Post No. 58 at Abingdon and is a close adherent to the principles supported by the Republican party, always voting the straight ticket of that party.
From the History of the State of Kansas by William G. Cutler. [Contributed by Todd Walter.]
DR. R. MORRIS, physician and surgeon, was born in Highland County, Ohio, April 15, 1824. He was born and lived on a farm until he was about twenty years of age. In the fall of 1840, he moved with his parents to Fulton County, Ill. He received his early education in his native State. After settling in Illinois, he engaged for a while in teaching school. In 1844, he commenced his academical course at Cherry Grove Seminary, Knox County, Ill. In 1847, he began his professional studies with Abraham Hull, M. D., of Marietta, Ill., and continued his course of studies with this gentleman about three years. After engaging in practice a short time, he entered Rush Medical College, in Chicago, Ill., graduating in February, 1851. He then located in Hermon, Knox County, Ill., where he followed his profession alone until January, 1855, when on solicitation he formed a partnership in the practice of medicine, with his old preceptor of Ellisville, Ill., and continued in active practice until the fall of 1861. The following winter, while taking a short rest from his labors, he attended lectures again at Rush Medical College. In November, 1862, he was appointed Surgeon of the One Hundred and Third Regiment Illinois Infantry Volunteers, with the rank of Major. During the last year of the war, he was Chief Surgeon of the First Division of the fifteenth A Corps, commanded by Brevt. Brig. Gen. William B. Woods. On the close of the war, he returned to Galesburg, Ill., and in the same year moved to Kansas, settled in Lawrence, and in April, 1866, resumed the practice of his profession, in which he has since been constantly engaged. Dr. Morris was, while in Illinois, an active member of the Knox County (Ill.) Medical Society. He is at present a member of the Kansas State Medical Society, of which he was first vice President in 1874. He is also a member of the Eastern Kansas District Medical Society, of the State Board of Medical Examiners, of Douglas County Medical Society, and of Lawrence Lodge, No. 4, I. O. O. F. The Doctor is now Coroner of Douglas County, to which office he has been elected three times in succession. He is also County Physician, which position he has held during the last five years. He further held the office of City Physician and Medical Health Officer of the city of Lawrence for the term of four years. Dr. Morris was married May 31, 1855, to Miss Belinda R. Haptonstall, of Hermon, Knox County, Ill. They have three children living - Clara L. (now Mrs. L. H. Perkins), Fred Le Roy and Nellie Vie.
From the 1883 William G. Cutler's History of the State of Kansas - Marshall County, Wells Township, published by A. T. Andreas, Chicago, IL. [Contributed by Todd Walter.]
GEORGE N. MORSE, farmer, P. O. Frankfort, was born in 1844 in Troy, N. Y. Lived there until the age of fourteen, when he went with his father, J. M. Morse, and the family to Knox County, Ill. From Illinois he came to Kansas in August, 1866 homesteading his present farm. There was then but one or two houses between him and Marysville, and many a horseback chase he had after deer and wolf over the present site of Frankfort. He was one of the first to settle on the high prairie, and for a few years worked land for others, in order to get a start upon his own, and also followed house painting, etc. To-day we find him in a house of his own, consisting of seven rooms, on a well fenced and cultivated farm. He has one of the finest Maple groves in Marshall County and a thrifty young orchard. His wife, married February 14, 1867, was a daughter of Robert Osborn, a substantial farmer near Frankfort. They have four children, all born on the Kansas farm.
MORSS. See The Morss/Morse Family Connections.
From the 1878 History of Knox County, Illinois published by Charles C. Chapman. [Contributed by Bob Miller.]
William Jay Mosher, son of Samuel E. and Mary (Crane) Mosher, natives of Oneida co., N. Y.; was born in the same county Aug. 8, 1841; received a common-school education, and his early life passed on the farm. Moved to Ontario township,. Knox co,. where he now engaged in farming; married Sarah E. Wetmore [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a W. J. Moshier marrying a Sarah E. Wetmore in Knox County on November 26, 1868], Nov. 26, 1868, and they are the parents of 2 children, of whom one is living. Republican. P. O., Ontario. Has been School Director and Trustee.
From the 1878 History of Knox County, Illinois published by Charles C. Chapman. [Contributed by Bob Miller.]
GEORGE S. MOSHIER, farmer, son of Timothy and Sarah (Garwood) Moshier, the former a native of New York, his mother of Michigan. He was born in Warren co., Ill., Feb. 22, 1844. Educated in common schools, and Knox and Lombard colleges, enlisted in 1st Ill. Cav. in 1861, wounded at Lexington, Mo. He was married to Hattie Meek [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a George S. Moshier marrying a Harriet Meek in Knox County on February 25, 1868] Feb. 23, 1868; they have 4 children. Republican. P. O., Abingdon.
TIMOTHY MOSHIER, capitalist, Galesburg.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
From the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County, Munsell Publishing Company.
TIMOTHY MOSHIER was a prominent man in every sphere of life. He was born in Washington County, New York, May 18, 1812. His father, whose name was also Timothy, was a farmer and a Canadian by birth. The mother's maiden name was Rachel Curtis, a native of Washington County, New York. Here they were married and five sons and four daughters were born to them. At the early age of 47 years, the father died in Cayuga County, August 4, 1828. The mother died in the same county at the age of 69, having outlived her husband twenty-three years.
Of the five sons, Timothy was the eldest. He lived at the paternal home, and was engaged in the routine of the farm until he was 16 years of age. His early educational advantages were limited; but the spirit of the boy, which is the index of the man, was shown in his ability and sound judgment to make the best use possible of the means at his command. In a scholarly sense, he was not educated; but the great lessons of experience and of life were so impressed upon him that he became better than many a graduate of the college. At twenty-three years of age, he left Cayuga County, New York for Cass County, Michigan, where he remained for three years. In 1838, he went to the Platte Purchase in Missouri, remaining there for five years, and then came to Warren County, Illinois. Here for ten consecutive years, he was a successful farmer. Here he laid the foundation of that financial prosperity that seemed to lie along his pathway. In 1852, he removed to Galesburg and was engaged in farming, stock-raising, and trading. In 1864, he became greatly interested in the establishment of the First National Bank of Galesburg. He was the largest stockholder, and a director, from its organization until the day of his death &endash; a period of nearly thirty years.
In whatever occupation Mr. Moshier was engaged, he was eminently successful. He seemed to possess the wizard's power of transmuting even the clods of earth into gold. He started poor and died rich. He was a man of great natural ability and was blessed with an almost unerring judgment. He was courageous and selfposed, and was not easily betrayed into false positions. He was practically a lawyer, well versed in the intricacies of the law, and could manage cases at court shrewdly and wisely. He was a great reader, a thorough historian, and a critical scholar in the history of our country. He was a good talker, full of information, and on political history and governmental topics, could make a most effective and impressive speech.
Physically, he was a man of fine figure, tall and commanding. His manners were pleasing but not finical. He was fond of horses and was a good horseman. He sat in the saddle with stateliness and elegance, winning the admiration of every beholder. He was gentle and kind towards his fellow citizens, and a lover of friends and home. He wore the dignity of manhood, possessed unswerving honesty and integrity, and had the intellectual power and keen foresight that is necessary for a successful life.
In religion, Mr. Moshier was not narrow or bigoted. He had very decided views on religion and a future life. He did not belong to any church, but favored the Universalist faith. He gave for the support of the Gospel, as he thought best. He believed that a good act was better than burnt offerings or any such sacrifice.
Mr. Moshier was naturally a politician. The political history of his country and of men was to him like the alphabet. He could repeat it without an effort. He was an ardent and staunch republican. His views of currency, tariff, and government were of the Websterian kind &endash; a name that he held in the highest veneration. He was a party man, because he believed his party was right.
Mr. Moshier was twice married. He was married in Michigan, November 7, 1837, to Sarah Garwood, daughter of William and Mary (Thatcher) Garwood. She died in Warren County, Illinois, February 22, 1851. There were born to them six children: Perry, who died in Michigan; David H., of Denver, Colorado; George S., Henry Clay; Ada M., who married D. H. Pankey, of this city; and William Weston, who died in infancy.
His second marriage was at Knoxville, December 27, 1854, to Adelia Gardner [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Timothy Mosher marrying a Adelia Gardner in Knox County on December 28, 1854], daughter of Richard and Mary (Bronson) Gardner. The issue of this marriage was one daughter, Cora, who married Fred Seacord.
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago, page 802. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
Billings Moulton, Alderman of the Sixth Ward of Galesburg, stands prominent among that class of men who in the early times of this city took a stand, determined to use their best efforts in the building up of its social, industrial and intellectual greatness, and they have received their reward. Mr. Moulton was born in the town of Stafford, Connecticut, Nov. 19, 1824. His parents were William and Flavia (Van Hone) Moulton, the former being of an old and worthy line of ancestry of that State and the latter of the Bay State.
The subject of our sketch digressed from the usual line of business of his ancestors (who were merchants and farmers) and learned a trade. His parents having removed to Springfield, Mass., he completed his apprenticeship there at the carpenter's bench, and worked at it in that city for some time. Here he met and married Miss Harriet C. Smith, a lady of most estimable attainments, and who in his later years proved a most fitting helpmeet for him in his life in the West. In 1854 the young couple came West and located at Galesburg, where Mr. Moulton accepted a position with the C. B. & Q. R. R. Co. Here he has since been very reputably identified, serving worthily as foreman of the pattern shops of the C. B. & Q. R. R. Co. for the past 25 years.
Mr. and Mrs. Moulton have reared four sons, all of whom have grown to manhood and are holding worthy positions in their different vocations. Arthur is a representative real estate and insurance man of Galesburg; Frank I., manager of the Mercantile and Protective Agency, of Chicago; Eugene W. is engaged in farming and stock-raising in York, Neb.; Earnest S. is ticket agency of the C. B.& Q. R. R. Co., at Galesburg. Both himself and wife are members of the Baptist Church, in which he has served as an active official. They are worthy members of society, and have the pleasure of seeing their fondest hopes of the "long ago" fully realized. Times which in their early experiences here were ominous of ill-fortune have changed to all they anticipated, and their family is well reared and educated.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Taken from an August 27, 1904, newspaper. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
Mrs. H. C. Moulton, widow of Billings Moulton, died at the home of her son, Earnest S. Moulton, at Riverside, California, August 25, 1904. She went to California last October and since made her home with the son. She had been ill with ailments peculiar to old age. Her sons, Arthur and Earnest have started for Galesburg with the remains and the funeral service will be held in this city. Harriet E. Smith married Mr. Moulton in Springfield, Massachusetts where he accepted a position with C. B. & Q. He was for five years yardmaster. He was on the Galesburg City Council. They were members of the First Baptist church and were earnest workers. They had four children, Frank L. prominent citizen of Chicago, Eugene W., Earnest S. for so long CBQ ticket agent, now of Riverside, California, Arthur B. of Denver. She was the daughter of J. F. and Erpercia C. Smith of Granville, Massachusetts. She was born April 20, 1825.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Taken from an August 31, 1904, newspaper. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
Mrs. Billings Moulton, married at Springfield, Massachusetts, December 23, 1847. In 1855 they moved to Galesburg where she lived until a year ago. On leaving here moved to Princeton, Illinois, where Mr. Moulton was at the time the terminus of CBQ and at the end of the year returned to Galesburg where he died. She was an untiring worker for the church and she assisted in the building of the Baptist churches of this city. The first one on the corner of Cherry & South, then on Cherry & Tompkins. After the church was destroyed by fire, ten years ago and was much interested in building the new edifice. Before marriage she taught school in Massachusetts. She was a member of the Cleo Club of Galesburg. She had 5 sisters, 6 brothers. There survive two brothers, George A. of New Bedford, Massachusetts, Fred Smith of St. Louis, sisters, Mrs. A. E. S. Picket of Cleveland, Ohio. Mrs. Maria L. Bancroft died in this city, June 26, 1904. She leaves four sons, A. B. of Denver, E. W. of Elbert, Colorado, E. S. of Riverside, California, and numerous other relatives. Funeral service was this afternoon with Reverend J. Y. Atchison, the pastor of the Baptist church, in charge. The burial was in Hope Cemetery.
From the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County, Munsell Publishing Company, page 919. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
WILLIAM MOUNT; Farmer; Cedar Township; born September 23, 1824, and educated in Warren County, Ohio. His father, Ralph Mount, was a native of New Jersey; his mother, Lucy (Barber), came from Ohio; his paternal grandmother's maiden name was Barber. February 5, 1851, in Cedar Township, Mr. Mount was married to Mary Mahon; they have had six children: Robert M. and James O., deceased; George F.; Lucy, deceased; Jennie, deceased; and Lillie E. Robert has one son, Earl. Mrs. Mount was the daughter of Robert Mahon, who came from Virginia; she died December 14, 1893. Mr. Mount came to Cedar Township in 1843, and in 1855, settled on the farm two and one-half miles from Abingdon, where he now resides. He was one of a family of eleven children, seven sons and four daughters. In religion, Mr. Mount is a Congregationalist. He is a democrat, and has always taken a lively interest in school and county affairs.
From the 1901 Wapello County , IA, History:
J. B. MOWERY. He was born in Knox County, IL in 1841, the son of John and Eleanor (Burnett) Mowrey. John was born in Richland County, Ohio, and at an early age came to Knox County where he lived in early manhood. His union with Eleanor Burtnett [her maiden name is spelled both ways in the book] was blessed by the birth of 7 children, 3 now living. J. B. Mowrey obtained his education in Knox Co, IL, and started by farming on the old homestead in 1869 to 1871, then he moved to Martinsburg, Iowa, engaging in stock-buying for 16 years. He located in Ottumwa in 1877 working for John Morrell and Company as a buyer from 1888 to 1889 when he engaged in the hardware business. In 1890, he was elected president of Ottumwa National Bank, and in 1897 was made president of the Wapello County Savings Bank. He married Adeline Plummer in 1869.
Manuel Mowrey. A farmer, P.O. Maquon, he is the son of John and Eleanor (Burtnett) Mowrey, natives of Pennsylvania. He was born on May 16, 1831, in Knox County, Ohio. His early life was passed on the farm, and he came to Knox County, Illinois, in 1840. He was educated in the common schools. He married Cemitta E. Cook on March 5, 1851, and they are the parents of eight children, of whom six are living.
They moved to Kansas in 1857, and returned to Knox County in 1861. He united with the Methodist Church in 1848, of which he is a Steward, Trustee and Class Leader.
He was a soldier in Company F, Illinois Infantry. He is a Republican.
[Penciled under the biography is "Died August 22, 1915". Being a very old book, there is no way of telling who added this bit, or if it is correct].
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago, page 478. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
Thomas Murdoch is a farmer, residing on section 26, of Cedar Township, and was born in Merrittstown, Pa., March 24, 1812. He is the son of Walter and Sarah (Bivens) Murdoch. His father, Walter, was of English descent, and, emigrating to this country in 1780, resolved on settling here. He died in 1825, having arrived here in his thirteenth year, alone and unbefriended. He first landed in New York City, and then proceeded to Pennsylvania. While yet a little boy he worked his way onward and upward, educating himself, until finally, graduating with the first honors, he was enabled to become a school teacher, a profession which he followed during his natural life. His decease took place within six miles of Gallipolis, Ohio, where he moved in 1815 and settled in Gallia County. Miss Sarah Bivens, who became his wife, was born in 1775, and died about 1820, her death taking place in Ohio. By the union there were eight children - John, William, Patrick, Eliza, Maria, Covington, Emma, and Sally. Two died in infancy.
The gentleman whose name occurs above married Miss Mary Cave, on Aug. 24, 1834. This lady was born in Ross County, Ohio, May 17, 1810, being descended of an old French family. Her parents (Mr. and Mrs. Cave) had seven children - Nancy, Elizabeth, Thomas, William, Joseph, Benjamin and Dorcas. Mr. Murdoch himself has had five children, three dead and two living. Those deceased are Joseph, Thomas and Nancy. Those living are Purley and Sallie A. Purley married Miss Louisa Dechant, Dec. 18, 1867; they are the parents of one child, Charlie A., born Nov. 5, 1869. Sallie A. married Miles Morris, and is now living in Iowa. There was one child born to this union, named Charles Henry Morris. Mr. Morris bought 400 acres of unimproved land, which he has improved.
Our subject came to Illinois, Oct. 28, 1842. He is the owner of 200 acres of prime land, on which is erected a very fine dwelling-house. In politics this gentleman is Democratic, while by religious persuasion he and his wife belong to the Christian Church. The home of the family is always open to friends, of whom Mr. Murdoch can boast a great number.
From the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County, Munsell Publishing Company, page 905. [Contributed by Todd Walter.]
JOHN MURPHY; Farmer; Haw Creek Township; born August 20, 1820, in County Kilkenny, Ireland. His parents were Nicholas and Ellen (Hearn) Murphy, natives of Ireland, where they died. Mr. Murphy came to the United States at the age of twenty-eight, and was pioneer of the Murphy family in this country. He landed at New Orleans and from there came by boat to St. Louis, where he worked in a warehouse from March till September, 1849. He then came to Peoria, and afterwards, with some Knox County farmers, Joshua Davis, John Walter and son, Thomas, and Milo Preston, came to Knox County. For ten years he worked by the month for P. B. Selby, after which he bought a farm of one hundred and sixty acres, which he improved and upon which he now lives. Mr. Murphy was married to Catherine (Cullinane), of Ireland [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a John Murphy marrying a Catharine Culliman in Knox County on December 28, 1857]. They had a large family of children, seven of whom are living: Nellie; Molly; Julia, wife of Levi McGirr; Dennis; James; Michael, and Daniel. Mr. and Mrs. Murphy are members of the Roman Catholic Church. In politics, Mr. Murphy is a democrat, and has been School Director for seven years.
From the 1881 History of Montgomery County, Iowa, Pilot Grove Township. [Contributed by Todd Walter.]
ROBERT MURRAY, farmer, section 6, P. O. Elliott; born in Maryland in Howard County, in the town of Woodstock, July 4, 1850. He lived upon a farm until he was fifteen years of age, when he left home and undertook to carve out his own fortune. At the age of sixteen went to Ohio, and there worked upon a farm for nine months, and from there went to Indiana and remained about two years; from Indiana he went to Knox County, Illinois, where he remained, following farming for about seven years. In 1875 he came to Montgomery County, Iowa, and has since made this his home. Mr. and Mrs. Murray are both members of the Christian church. He owns 80 acres of land, 50 improved. Has an orchard of about one acre. His father's name was David. Her father's name was Isaac H. Page; her mother's Sarah A. They are the parents of one child, Elsie May, born November 7, 1879.