From the 1878 History of Knox County, Illinois published by Charles C. Chapman. [Contributed by Joan Achille.]
WILLIAM O. CADWALLADER. A miller of London Mills, Fulton County, he was born 10 Sept 1830 in Mahoning Co, PA, the son of Eli and Catherine (Hank) Cadwallader. The former a native of PA and the latter of MD. He received a common school education and worked at shoe-making until 1858, and then followed other professions and business until he changed to milling in which he has been very successful. On June 11, 1855, he was married to Isabel Sence and they have been the parents of one child, a boy who died at three years of age. He removed to OH, thence to IA and to IL in 1866. He is a Republican, and clings to the Unitarian doctrine. He was Township Clerk in Iowa, Postmaster in OH, and is now Postmaster. P.O. London Mills, Fulton County.
From the 1878 History of Knox County, Illinois published by Charles C. Chapman. [Contributed by Joan Achille.]
EDWIN J. CALKINS. The son of Elijah and Philena (Colelman) Calkins, he was born 23 Oct 1811 in Hillsdale, Columbia Co, NY. He learned the carpenter trade in his youth and followed the business until 1837 when he quit it and went to farming. He settled in Sparta Twp. in 1837, where he has since resided. He was united in marriage with Harriet Alvira Park in 1836, and has three sons and two daughters. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and is one of its Trustees. He is a Republican. Post Office, Galena.
From the 1878 History of Knox County, Illinois published by Charles C. Chapman. [Contributed by Joan Achille.]
WM. C. CALKINS. He is an attorney in Galesburg, of the firm of McKenzie and Calkins.
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago, page 930. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
Charity Teague Camp, relict of Rev. Thomas Camp, resided at Abingdon for more than a fourth of a century. She was born in South Carolina, May 7, 1818, and died at Shenandoah, Iowa, Sept. 26, 1885. She was the fourth daughter of Dr. John and Rebecca B. Neal, scions of an old South Carolina family. Dr. Neal was a man of great skill as a physician, but of such restless energy that no single vocation satisfied him. To his professional labors he, from time to time, added those of merchant, planter, drover, mill-owner, etc., but not with uniform success. He made and lost fortunes with marvelous rapidity and equanimity. The excitement of frontier enterprises and dangers had a peculiar fascination for him, and, in 1834, led him to locate among the Creek Indians, in Alabama, where he died a few years later. He was a man of spotless character, and of broad usefulness in his time.
The subject of this sketch had few advantages derived from schools of any grade, being reared in the same vicinity and amid surroundings similar to those of her husband. But, in addition to the intellectual character and pursuits of her father, she had large compensation in her mother, who had been bred with great care and tenderness, and who devoted herself with rare assiduity and success to the culture of the minds and manners of her daughters. Mrs. Camp sympathized heartily with the tastes and pursuits of her husband, and, by her cheerful, hopeful views of life, shed continuous sunshine upon their often rugged and shadowy pathway. She was womanly in the last degree by nature, and instinctively leaned upon her husband in all purely business affairs - a habit strengthened by her her Southern education. When, therefore, she was left a widow, with a limited income and eight children, all minors, she felt, as she expressed it, "like a child confronted by a stone wall, through which it must pass." She, however, bravely consecrated the energies of her life to carrying forward the work begun by her husband, in the education of their children, and never turned aside from it while opportunity lasted. How she struggled and sacrificed, in that work, many know in part, and her children will cherish in holy remembrance.
In the summer of 1861, her married daughter emigrated across the plains to California, and her eldest son entered the service of his Government in a foreign land. In the autumn of the same year, her other sons, aged 20 and 17 respectively, enlisted in the Union Army, for a term of three years' service.
About the same time, death claimed little Lizzie, the idol of the household, leaving only the widow and three young daughters in the broken home. What she endured in her loneliness, from domestic cares, anxiety for absent ones - more specifically the awful suspense that hung about the results to her of oft-recurring battles in the field, during the terrible years of the Civil War - no mortal ever knew, for she bore her great burdens in secret.
She was devoutly pious from early youth, and her faith gave tone and strength to her character. Trusting implicitly in the promises of God of the Bible, she rested in the arms of Omnipotence with a quiet courage which no calamity could wholly break. Her religion was, to her, a fountain of hope and cheerfulness, even in the darkest days of her long widowhood, and kept her heart young to the end of life. She was ever the ideal of children, the welcome companion of youth, the cherished friend and counselor of young manhood and womanhood. She was a wife and mother in all those sacred terms imply, and lived a widow nearly 30 years, not in name only, but in heart. In every relation in life, she filled the full measure of a true woman - loved while living, and mourned when dead, by a wide circle of friends. She lived to see her seven remaining children heads of families, and to rejoice in the love and veneration of her grandchildren. Her four daughters are women of high character and liberal culture, ranking with the useful members of the community in which they live. Mrs. Rebecca A. Nye lives at San Jose, California; Sarah E., wife of Dr. S. M. Spaulding, lives at Minneapolis, Minn.; Maggie M., wife of Dr. H. F. Duffield, lives at Shenandoah, Iowa; Ivy C., wife of M. J. Duffield, lives at Omaha, Neb.
John N., the eldest son, who was educated at Abingdon College, was appointed at the beginning of President Lincoln's administration Consul to Kingston, Jamaica. After the expiration of his term, he was engaged for awhile in business in Central America. From that country he went to Galveston, Texas, where he has since made his home, and entered the customs service. During this period, he was married to a lady of Kingston, Jamaica, and subsequently he was appointed by President Grant Collector of Internal Revenue for the First District of Texas. He became active and prominent in the latter part of the reconstruction of Texas, being a member of most of the conventions of his party (Republican), and a wise counselor in all its deliberations, as the writer of this sketch personally knows. In Galveston, especially, has he been the leader of his party, and directed here all its movements. He is a man of fine personal appearance, of large intellect, extensive culture, of exalted character and unquestionable integrity.
Sterling T. and Henry Clary served over three years in the Union Army, participating in many battles, among them Fort Donelson, Shiloh, Corinth, Pleasant Hill, and the two days' fight near Nashville. They were in the 58th Ill. Vol. Inf., Col. Lynch. S.T. resides at Abingdon, Ill.; H. C., in St. Paul, Minn.
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago, page 926. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
Rev. Thomas Camp, third son and seventh child of Sterling and Anna Camp, was born in McMinn County, Tenn., Jan. 21, 1814, and died at Abingdon, this county, Nov. 26, 1856. His parents were born in South Carolina, and in their youth witnessed the stirring and often distressing scenes that occurred in that section during the Revolutionary War.
In early life they accompanied the first emigrants who crossed the mountains and sought settlement in East Tennessee, amid the wilds of nature and the still wilder Indians, and there shared the hardships and perils encountered by the early settlers of that region. Pushing on in the van of emigration, they at length acquired a body of valuable land, then in the territory of the Cherokees, now embraced in McMinn County, where they made final settlement. There their children were born and reared, and there their ashes now rest. Shut in by formidable mountain ranges, communication with the outer world was both difficult and rare. Few books, fewer letters, and still fewer newspapers reached these land-locked pioneers. Business, moral, social and religious standards took quality largely from individuals, who, by common consent, gave laws on these questions, by the power of their opinions and example.
Among those uncrowned, non-elected givers of laws to their fellows, were Sterling and Anna Camp - he, in the morals, methods and habits of successful business - she, in the domestic, social and religious virtues. Such was the parentage of the subject of this sketch, and such the conditions to which he was born, and which, with small modifications, surrounded him to the age of manhood. He had small opportunity for obtaining an education, other than he found or could make within his own home. However, a native thirst for knowledge led him to employ all his available time in study, and while still young he evinced a strong desire for a liberal education, which grew to be the one ambition of his earlier years. Circumstances compelled him to abandon this cherished purpose, which through all subsequent life was a source of deepest regret. At the town of White Plains, Ala., Dec. 20, 1835, he was married to Charity Teague Neal, fourth daughter of Dr. John Neal, a physician then widely known through the new Southern States. Returning with his bride, he was soon established in a home on land situate on the Hiawassee River, one and a quarter miles above Charleston. This land was put under cultivation, and large grain and saw mills, workshops, etc. were erected at the river side. Here was his home and the principal scene of his labors, till the autumn of 1848, when, in company with his brother-in-law, Rev. John M. Courtney, and two other families, he emigrated to Western Illinois - proceeding the entire distance by road wagons - reaching his temporary destination in Warren County, after six weeks' traveling. In the spring of 1849 he purchased and located upon a tract of land, situated where the town of Good Hope, McDonough County, now stands, a point then separated by many miles in some directions from the nearest settler. This property he improved, and upon it resided with his family till the spring of 1856, when he removed to Abingdon, which has been the home of a portion of his family during the past 30 years. His sole purpose in this removal was to give his children such opportunity for an education as he had so ardently desired for himself, but which had been denied him. Thomas Camp was the son of a Puritan mother, and partook largely of her physical and mental characteristics.
Mrs. Anna Camp, nee Helm, was tall, lithe and sinewy, of body - clear, vigorous and courageous of mind, with moral and religious convictions as well defined as a geometric figure. She possessed much of that force of character which has made several of her name conspicuous figures in different Southern communities. Though of purely Carolina stock, she was as essentially Puritan in heroic endurance for and in defense of truth, right, liberty and conscience as any who ever went out from Plymouth Colony. These qualities contributed much to make her the authority and power she was among the people and amid the perils of her border home. Among the things that came to be approved by people of influence about her, which fell under condemnation by her fixed standards, were rum and slavery - to both of which she was unalterably opposed. In these views of the mother the son shared from boyhood, with all the intensity of a strong nature. He felt the wrong of slavery as strongly as did any New England Abolitionist, and in addition thereto he knew, by actual contact with that institution, its blighting influence upon the better nature of both the white and black races, and early determined to place his children beyond its immediate contagion. It was to effect this object that he sacrificed his comfortable home in the South, and accepted the stern conditions of an early settler in Illinois - a step he never regretted. When, after a painful struggle, he abandoned his cherished purpose of suitably preparing for a learned profession, he turned to his plantation, mills and shops, with much energy, perseverance and fair success; at the same time prosecuting such course of reading and study as his limited leisure would permit. This line of life, however, did not prove satisfying. He was possessed by an uncontrollable impulse toward a sphere of broader usefulness among men. At length he became convinced that it was his duty to enter the Gospel ministry, and to allot a portion of his time to that work, while the remainder should be employed in conducting his ordinary business affairs. Very many of the most effective preachers of that country and period so divided their time. Accordingly, on the 18th of May, 1845, he was ordained to the ministry of the Baptist Church, and from that date to the close of his life a portion of his time was set apart for that work, and with such allotment he allowed no requirement of other business to interfere. He never accepted the pastorate of any church, though repeatedly urged to do so - choosing rather to labor in the unoccupied or irreligious fields. He never accepted compensation for ministerial labor, but always gave liberally of his own private means to the support of the Gospel, and insisted that Christians to whom he preached should do likewise.
Mr. Camp had little of the mannerism and minor methods of popular preachers, and was therefore not a universal favorite. However, among more thoughtful people, of various shades of belief and unbelief, his ministry was ever acceptable, commanding their attendance and profound attention. In his pulpit service he attempted no mere verbal ornamentation or rhetorical effect. His discourses - clear, logical and practical, enforced by scriptural quotations, and illustrated by facts gleaned from a wide range of reading - were directed to the minds and consciences of men with great power. He held that, under our form of government, the duties of citizenship take rank as high moral and religious obligations, and, therefore, took deep interest in the politics of his country. He was a stanch Whig until that party was disbanded, when he naturally affiliated with the Republican party with zeal and enthusiasm. It is remembered that he felled with his own hands, and with his teams conveyed to the spot on Main street, Abingdon, where it was erected, the young tree out of which was wrought the great pole from which the large Fremont and Dayton flag floated during the campaign of 1856. He felt the defeat of the Republican party in that year, with all the poignancy of a personal bereavement. The principles for which he had contended for a lifetime achieved a political triumph four years later, but ere then he had been "gathered to his fathers."
He placed an exaggerated estimate upon the advantages conferred by a classical education, and, though a man of rare attainments, he always felt at a disadvantage among men whose opportunities for education had been such as had been denied to him. This, added to a native modesty approaching diffidence, caused him to shrink from prominence among his fellows, and resulted frequently in his not being placed in those stations of responsibility for which he was so eminently fitted by superior natural and acquired abilities.
A devoted husband and father, consistent in character, a model of probity, ardent and tenacious in friendship, wise and sympathetic in counsel, generous to a fault, and a lover of his kind, Thomas Camp was, altogether, such a manly man as good men, everywhere, cherish in association and in memory.
From the 1882 History of the State of Nebraska - Nemaha County, by Andreas. [Contributed by Bob Miller.]
CHARLES CAMPBELL, farmer, Sections 7 and 6, P. O. London. Mr. Campbell was born in Belmont County Ohio, October 28, 1834; has been a life long farmer; removed to Knox County, Ill., in 1856, and in September, 1861, enlisted in the Eleventh Illinois Volunteer Infantry commanded by the now famous Col. R. G. Ingersoll; participated in the battles of Shiloh, Corinth, etc., and was honorably discharged on account of physical disability at the end of eighteen months. He came to Nebraska in 1866, and to his present farm in the spring of 1867. Mr. Campbell has made substantial improvements here in the line of tree-planting and building. He married Eliza Miller [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Charles Campbell marrying a Eliza F. Miller in Knox County on November 5, 1863], of Preble County, Ohio, by whom be has three children -- John A., Frank E. and Viola B. Mr. Campbell has been Master Pleasant Ridge Grange, and is now a member of the Farmers' Alliance
ORANGE L. CAMPBELL, editor of the Knox Republican, is the son of Elisha and Mary A. (Lowell) Campbell, the former of Ohio, the latter of Maryland; he was born in Knoxville March 7, 1852; educated in the public schools and the printing office; learned the printing trade quite young; is City Clerk of Knoxville; was married June 19, 1873, to Miss A. S. Bull [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Orange Campbell marrying a Augusta Bull in Knox County on June 19, 1873], who has borne him two children; a Presbyterian in religious faith and Republican in politics.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago, page 591. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
Orange Lowell Campbell, whose authority and influence constitute that chief factors that shape the policy of the Knox County Republican, and who is the subject of this sketch, was born in Knoxville, March 7, 1852. His father, Elisha Campbell, was a native of Gallipolis, Ohio, where he was born the 1st of August, 1822. His grandfather was second cousin to Campbell, the poet.
As a prominent physician the grandfather of the present representative of the Campbell family won for himself, during the time of his practice, a name that is still remembered. First coming to Illinois, in 1850, and locating in Quincy, where he lived up until the time of his demise, he attracted very general attention by the devotion shown to his profession. The father of the present subject attained to manhood in Ohio, and in his 16th year commenced to face the world on his own account. He learned the trade of a plasterer, and followed this occupation in Ohio, up to 1850, when he came to Illinois. He had been previously well educated, and on his arrival at the last-named place engaged in teaching both in Quincy and Peoria. In 1852 he came to Knoxville, and here employed his time in teaching school during the winter, while for the remainder of the year he worked in his trade. At the breaking out of the War of the Rebellion (1861) he shouldered his musket and went forth to battle for the defense of his county, enlisting in the 83rd Regiment Illinois Voluntary Infantry. He was a brave soldier and held in high esteem by his comrades in arms, being promoted four different times. He assisted largely in raising a company of colored soldiers, by whom he was greatly beloved, but through the chicanery of others he was deprived of any pecuniary reward for the untiring and intelligent labors whereby he might have had something with which to support his family in comfort through the balance of a life prematurely broken down by the disease-breeding districts of the South. While hunting for guerillas near Fort Donelson, Tenn., he was injured in attempting to remove a gun carriage from a ditch, and from the effects of this he is slightly though permanently crippled. Aside from this, and a slight wound in the hand from a rebel bullet, he was mustered out at the close of the war without further injuries.
In 1872 he removed to Red Oak, Iowa, and resumed his trade, working continuously, with the spirit of a man broken down, for the next few years, when he removed to Emerson, Mills County, where he still resides. In 1851 his life was destined to experience a change and he married Mary A. Lowell [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Elisah Campbell marrying a Mary Lowell in Peoria County on May 20, 1851], the lady being a native of Maryland, and the marriage resulting in the birth of ten children, of which Orange Lowell was the eldest.
The subject of our sketch received his earliest education in the public schools of Knoxville, until, at the age of 13, he entered the office of the Knox County Republican, where he became acquainted with all the necessary routine of printing and publishing a local journal, at the same time supporting his father's family, while the latter was fighting for his country. He afterward entered the office of the Quincy Herald, and remained there for one year. He became proprietor, February 24, 1876, of the journal of which he is now editor-in-chief, enlarging it from four to eight pages, only issuing in all two numbers of the four-page paper that had been. He married Augusta S. Bull [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Orange Campbell marrying a Augusta Bull in Knox County on June 19, 1873], the daughter of William and Phoeba (Stowe) Bull. This lady was a native of Milford, Conn., and became the mother of two children - Sterling H. and Lottie W.
It is almost needless to say that Mr. Campbell in politics is a true representative of the Republican party, and while maintaining his principles with all the vigor and eloquence necessary to present them to public notice, he is sufficiently just to fairly investigate opposing views and opinions. At the present date he olds the positions of City and Township Clerk. As members of the Presbyterian Church, himself and wife take a decided interest in the welfare of that body, beside being recognized members of the Knox County Bible Society. He is also a member of the Knox County Agricultural Society, and Secretary and Treasurer of the Old Settler's Association. In him the Illinois Press Association has found an exceedingly active member. No measure likely to promote the advancement of that body escapes his notice, or is passed without his having a voice for or against its adoption. He is a member of Knoxville Lodge, No. 66, A. F. & A. M., and Knox Lodge, No. 126, A. O. U. W. Of this latter he is a charter member, being one of the earliest to organize.
This gentleman has created for himself so numerous a body of personal friends that it is not likely that his name or influence will soon pass out of the community in which he has so long been recognized as a directing spirit.
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago, page 726
Edward A. Cardiff is a general farmer
on section 2, Lynn township, and has been
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago, page 434. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
J. V. R. Carley. Lying within the limits of Knox County are many beautiful and homelike farms, owned by those men who only by diligent perseverance and untiring energy have won their homes. Among these, conspicuous as being a substantial man and a good citizen, may be found the subject of this historical notice, whose handsome home lies on section 5, of Sparta Township. He is characterized for his thrift and prudence, no less than his ability as a financier, and may be pointed out to the coming generations as an example worthy of imitation.
Mr. Carley was born in Montgomery County, N. Y., Aug. 4, 1819, and his parents were Brookins and Rachel (Bennett) Carley. They were natives of New York State, where the father was proprietor of a hotel. He departed this life in Schoharie County, N. Y., in 1853; the mother passed to the life beyond from Tompkins County, N. Y., in 1865. To them were given seven children, all of whom lived to reach man and womanhood. They were named as follows: Eliza, now Mrs. Lanphere; James V. R.; David W.; Mary, Abraham, Helen and Adelia. The deceased are Adelia, Abraham, Helen and Mary. James V. R., of this narrative, was the second child in order of birth, and remained at home after his father's death. He then, with his sister Eliza, whose capability proved to be remarkable, took charge of the bereaved little family, sent them to school and cared for them until they reached years of maturity. Each and all are possessed of intelligence and talent and reflect credit upon the brave pair who took such a responsibility upon their young shoulders. All the daughters became teachers, and two of the brothers have adopted the medical profession.
James, our subject, entered upon the life of a pedagogue at the age of 22 and followed it for five years. In 1846 he was united in marriage with Miranda Phelps, and the result of this union was two children - Elnora and Warren M., which latter died at the age of three years. Elnora became Mrs. Gaddis, and departed this life in 1882, at the age of 35. Mrs. Carley died in the year 1863. Soon after his marriage Mr. Carley and his sister Eliza provided a home for their aged mother, so that she was able to pass her declining years without care or anxiety.
The second marriage of Mr. Carley was with Mary Armstrong, in 1864 [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a James V. R. Carley marrying a Mary E. Armstrong in Knox County on November 24, 1864], and the result of their union was three children, two of whom survive - Lester E. and James M. Ozro W. died in 1870. The second Mrs. Carley was born in Cumberland County, Eng., March 29, 1840, and died in 1872. His third wife's maiden name was Clara E. Wicks, and five children have been born to them - Edna E., Jay V. R., Arthur B., Mabel and Clara E.
Mr. Carley came to Illinois in 1850 and settled where he now lives, purchasing 77 acres of land. He afterward sold 25 acres of it, and to the 52 he has since added 108 1/2 acres. Since coming here he has made all modern improvements, building a house and barn and setting out trees, until he may be pardoned for taking a just pride in his beautiful surroundings. He values his land at $75 per acre, and it is fruitful and productive in the extreme.
In politics Mr. Carley is a firm Republican, advocating and voting for the doctrines of that organization. With his two sons, Lester E. and James M. he belongs to the Congregational Church, living out the principles of a noble Christian faith.
From the 1920 History of Hall County, Nebraska, by Beuchler, Barr & Stough. [Contributed by Todd Walter.]
LUTHER MARTIN CARLSON, proprietor of the Carlson Mattress Works, in Grand Island, has demonstrated in building up this fine business, the value of industry and carefully directed effort. Mr. Carlson began life for himself with but little assistance, but the extent of his present enterprise, built up within the space of seven years, indicates that that fact was no handicap.
Luther Martin Carlson was born in Knox County, Illinois, in 1871, the eldest of four children born to Charles A. and Hannah (Anderson) Carlson. Both were born in Sweden, emigrating from the old country, they came when young to Illinois and were married there. In 1886 they removed to Kansas where Charles A. Carlson homesteaded, taking up a tree claim which he owned until the time of his death which occurred in Omaha, Nebraska, in 1898, the same year in which his wife passed away. In early years he was a Republican but later became identified with the Farmer's Alliance party. Both he and wife belonged to the Lutheran church. Their surviving children are: Luther M., who lives at Grand Island; Alice, the wife of Theodore Jansen, of Salina, Kansas, and Walter at the head of the mechanical engineering school of the State Agricultural College in Manhattan, Kansas
Luther M. Carlson obtained only a district school education, following which he worked on a farm and taught school until 1903 when he became connected with a mattress manufacturing firm, first as an office man and later as representative on the road. In 1912 he came to Grand Island and established himself in the mattress manufacturing business and now has an extensive plant at No. 1024 West North Front street. He manufactures and remakes all grades of mattresses, makes pillows, feather beds, renovates feather, makes automobile tops and does automobile top repairing. While his trade territory is mainly in Nebraska, he also ships to Colorado and the Dakotas. His reputation for promptness in the matter of contracts, and the excellence of his products is wide spread.
In 1910 Mr. Carlson married Miss Lorraine Gurney, who was born and educated in Iowa. They have one daughter, Mary Louise, a little maid of two years. Mr. and Mrs. Carlson attend the Methodist church and Mrs. Carlson is actively interested in its many benevolent movements. In politics Mr. Carlson is a Democrat and an advocate of prohibition. He is not only a wide awake business man but a responsible and public-spirited citizen, and he is so recognized by his fellow citizens. He belongs to the United Commercial Travelers Association and also the Knights and Ladies of Security.
From the 1889 Portrait & Biographical Album of Johnson and Pawnee Counties, Nebraska, published by Chapman Brothers, page 221. [Contributed by Todd Walter.]
George W. Carmine. Todd Creek Precinct has many farms of an unusually fine description, not the least of which is that owned by the subject of our sketch. It is 160 acres in extent, and is situated on sections 7, 4,and 12. It is thoroughly improved, and is either cross-fenced or hedged in all its directions. The property was somewhat improved at the time he purchased it in 1883, but he has expended much time, thought and money to bring it to its present excellent condition.
Among the chief improvements made by our subject must be mentioned the erection and furnishing of his residence, which is one of the best in the district and compares favorably with many in more eastern states that are far more pretentious. It has four large reception rooms on the first floor, and four above for other purposes. The home is elegantly furnished, and abundantly supplied with the various devices insuring the greatest possible amount of convenience and ease. Externally, the gardens, etc show it off to advantage, besides making the surroundings exceedingly pleasant.
Ohio claims the honor of being the birthplace of the subject of our sketch, and the date of his nativity is the 21st of March 1834. He was fifteen years old when his parents left the Buckeye state for Fulton County, Illinois. His early life was shadowed by the loss of his mother by death when he was six years of age, and this has doubtless more or less affected his whole subsequent experience. He received a good English education, so far as such is obtainable in the usual institutions of the country. After leaving the classes and textbooks, he learned the carpenter�s trade, and worked at the same for a number of years.
When about twenty-five years of age Mr. Carmine removed to Henry County, Illinois where he made his home for about ten years, after which he went to Plymouth County, Iowa remaining there for six years, then coming to this state. He has all his life been more or less acquainted with the various duties and responsibilities connected with agricultural life, and chose to make that his occupation and has chiefly followed the same, with what success it is unnecessary to say. His whole property, stock, and also his home, speak too eloquently to be misunderstood as to that matter.
While a resident of Knox County, Illinois, Mr. Carmine was united in the bonds of wedlock with Miss Abigail Kays of Knox County, IL, the event occurring January 21, 1857 [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a George W. Carmean marrying a Abigail Kays in Knox County on January 21, 1857]. There have come to them eight children, five of whom are living, viz.: Henry, Mary, Jennie, Susie and George. Henry married Miss Katie Pogue, of this county, and lives in this precinct; Mary became the wife of Mr. L. B. Arnott, of Johnson; Jennie is the wife of Lorin Blakesly, of Johnson County, Neb.; the remaining children are still with their parents on the home farm.
The wife of our subject was born in Knox County, Ill., in the year 1832. She is the daughter of William and Elizabeth (Bracken) Kays. She made her home with her parents until her marriage, was educated in the schools in Knox County, Ill., and is well prepared by this and her home training to fill any position in the home or society, generally. Her father was a native of Kentucky, but removed with his family to Illinois in 1824 or 1825, where he still resides in Abingdon, Knox County, and although now retired from active engagements is still the owner of a large farm. He was bereaved of his wife in the year 1870, but subsequently married again. Within the communion of the Methodist Episcopal Church he is perfectly at home religiously, having been a member of the same for about sixty years.
Curtis Carmine, the father of our subject, is a native of Maryland, and was born in the year 1814. While yet a youth he migrated to Ohio, then the Far West, and in that State was married in 1833 to Miss Susannah Towers. Besides our subject, they had two children. viz.: Susannah and Maria. He was a mechanic and always continued to follow his trade. The home was at Circleville, Dewitt County and there he died in 1873 when about forty years of age.
Having lost his mother when so young, our subject has largely had to depend upon himself. He is now one of the prominent and much esteemed men of Todd Creek Precinct, and indeed of the county, and also a very able citizen. He is chiefly engaged in general farming, and in the raising of cattle, horses and hogs. He raises the best breeds of cattle, and in horses confines himself almost entirely to the heavy road draft horses.
Frequently has Mr. Carmine been called upon to fill various township and school offices, and is a member of the Republican party, but not active as a politician, nor eager to take any chief seat in the political synagogue.
Religiously, he is affiliated with the Baptist Church at Long Branch, and is accounted an able and faithful supporter of the institution.
ASAPH NEWTON CARPENTER. He is the son of Asaph and Caroline Carpenter of Rehoboth, MA where he was born 2 Jun 1828. His parents lived on a farm. Early in life he manifested a genius for invention, which took the direction of landscape architecture, and has labored at his chosen art with an intensity of devotion, without an instructor, until it can be said he is master of it, having conceived and executed some of the most extensive and beautiful scenic effects in both private and public grounds to be found in America. His love for his calling amounts to a fascination and he still plies himself to it with an unabated zeal. On the 20th of Nov 1853, he was married to Mary Elizabeth Winter. Their family consists of two daughters. They came to Galesburg in 1854.
See Street Scenes for a picture of the Clark E. Carr residence that was built circa 1894.
From the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County, Munsell Publishing Company.
Colonel CLARK E. CARR was born at Boston Corners, Erie County, NY, May 20, 1836. He was the son of Clark M. and Delia (Torrey) Carr. His parents were intelligent and painstaking people, and gave their children all the advantages possible in those days. His mother died when he was three years old, and is buried at Boston Corners. When he was nine years old, his father married Fanny Le Yau, who became a devoted and affectionate mother to the children. The family came West around the Lakes, in March, 1850, landing in Chicago. Here teams were purchased, and they made their journey in "prairie schooners" to Henry County, Ill., locating on a farm near Cambridge. In the Autumn of 1851, the family removed to Galesburg, where the father and his second wife lived and died.
Colonel Carr's paternal ancestry reaches back to Caleb Carr, who died while Colonial Governor of Rhode Island, and to Rev. John Clark, who was driven out of the Massachusetts colony for preaching the Baptist doctrine. Like Roger Williams, John Clark went to Rhode Island, then a wilderness, and afterwards became its Governor. The Colonel's great-grandmother was a Miss Clark, descended from Governor John Clark, and Clark has been the Christian name of his grandfather, of his father, of himself and of his son.
Colonel Carr's early educational advantages were of the better sort, and he judiciously and wisely improved his opportunities. He attended the district school in the village of his nativity, until he was eleven years of age. He then went to Springville Academy, Erie County, NY, where he remained for two years. At fourteen he arrived in Galesburg. Immediately he entered Knox Academy and afterwards the Collegiate Department of Knox College, leaving at the end of the Sophomore year to commence the study of law. He first entered the Law School of Poughkeepsie, NY, and subsequently, the Albany Law School, graduating in 1857. His first co-partnership in the practice of his profession was with Thomas Harrison, and three years later, with Hon. O. F. Price, under the firm name of Carr and Price. In March, 1861, as a just acknowledgment of his services on the stump, he was appointed by President Lincoln, Postmaster of Galesburg, which position he held for twenty-four years.
Early in the War of the Rebellion, Governor Yates appointed him Colonel on his staff, and to its close, Colonel Carr performed his duties faithfully, such as assisting in the organization of regiments at Springfield, visiting the army in the field, and bringing home the sick and wounded. Governor Yates said that no man outside of the army did more efficient service. He was constantly active, also, in the interest of the government, in awakening by his speeches throughout Illinois, a patriotic and living public sentiment; often speaking with Governor Yates and others in support of the State and National administration. In 1862, when an attempt was made to turn out all the republican State officers of Illinois, Colonel Carr and other patriotic men came as champions of their cause before the people, and succeeded in the keeping the State Government in the control of Governor Yates and his colleagues. In September, 1863, a great mass meeting was held in Chicago for the purpose of sustaining President Lincoln in issuing the Emancipation Proclamation. It was here, from the Court House steps, that Colonel Carr made one of the greatest speeches of his life. It was published in the Chicago papers and circulated throughout the country.
Colonel Carr has always shown himself to be a public spirited man.
He has held several offices in the city of his adoption. He was a delegate to the National Convention, held at Baltimore in 1864, which renominated President Lincoln. He was a delegate from the State-at-large to the National Convention in 1884, which nominated Blaine and Logan. He was a member of the committee on the platform resolutions, of which committee President McKinley was chairman.
It is almost needless to say that Colonel Carr is and always was a republican. He has spoken in almost every northern State in advocacy of republican principles. He also made many literary addresses, and his services in both the political and literary field are still in great demand. He spoke at the first meeting in favor of the Hennepin Canal, held at Ottawa many years ago, and was present at the Willard Hall meeting in Washington and at other meetings favoring the enterprise. A great event in which Colonel Carr bore a conspicuous part was in the organization of the Gettysburg Association. Commissioners from several States whose soldiers had participated in that battle constituted the Association. Colonel Carr was appointed commissioner for Illinois by the Governor. The dead bodies were to be consigned to their graves, and headstones erected, before the cemetery was finally turned over to the general Government. It was this Association that invited President Lincoln and his Cabinet to be present, and Edward Everett to deliver the oration at the dedicatory exercises, and it was Colonel Carr that suggested and urged that Lincoln also be invited to speak. All these commissioners sat on the stage, when the great patriotic President delivered that celebrated address.
Colonel Carr has been honored by being called to high positions, and he has honored the positions to which he has been called.
Under President Harrison's administration, he was appointed Minister Resident and Counsel General to Denmark. While a conference of Consuls General, of which he was a member, was in session in Paris, he received notice from Washington of his promotion to the rank of Minister Plenipotentiary and Envoy Extraordinary, in which position he represented our country at that brilliant court for four years. As minister, Colonel Carr performed signal service in the interest of the World's Fair and for the commerce of the United States. He served his country faithfully for four years as Minister at Copenhagen, and received the highest commendations from the Government.
Colonel Carr is entitled to great credit for the part he took in inducing the Santa Fe Company to build the line of their railroad through Galesburg. The company made several surveys with the design of finding the shortest practical line to Chicago. Orders were issued to adopt the line about twelve miles south of Galesburg. Through the efforts of Colonel Carr, the company was induced to prospect a line through this city, which was finally adopted upon certain conditions. While the citizens contributed generously to the work of complying with those conditions, but for the efforts of Colonel Carr, the Santa Fe Railway would have gone direct from Fort Madison to Streator, leaving Galesburg to one side.
Colonel Carr also took a deep interest in the Omaha Exposition. He was President of the Illinois commission, composed of twenty members appointed from different parts of the State. The commission erected a beautiful building on the grounds, which became a popular resort. The affairs of this commission were so well managed as to elicit the highest commendations. An unexpended portion of the appropriation of nearly $7,000 was left in the State Treasury. For this, much credit is due to the president of the commission.
For his faithful, energetic, and effective work in support of the movement to introduce Indian corn into northern Europe as food for man, Colonel Carr was elected President of the American Maize Propaganda, which position he now holds.
Of the family of Colonel Carr, something should be said. An elder brother, Brigadier General Eugene A. Carr, graduated at West Point in 1850. He was Major General of Volunteers during the Civil War, took part in many battles, including Vicksburg, Pea Ridge, and Mobile, and was wounded several times. Colonel B. O. Carr, another brother, served in the volunteer army during the war; another brother, Rev. H. M. Carr, was chaplain; and another brother, George P. Carr, deceased, rose to the rank of Captain. A sister, Mrs. John C. Fahnstock, is a resident of this city.
Colonel Carr was married December 31, 1873, to Grace Mills [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Clark E. Carr marrying a Sarah Grace Mills in Carroll County on December 31, 1873], only daughter of the Honorable Henry A. Mills, of Mt. Carroll, Ill. Mrs. Carr is a sister of Major Stephen C. Mills, of the regular army. To Colonel and Mrs. Carr were born two children, Julia C., born April 2, 1876; and Lieutenant Clark Mills, born March 16, 1878, who served with credit during the late war with Spain, in the Ninth Illinois Regiment of Infantry.
From the 1899 History of Knox County, page 962
D. A. Cashman. Indian Point Township, Post office, Hermon.
J. L. Cashman. A farmer, he is the son of George and Rebecca J. (Murphy) Cashman, and was born in Clinton County, Ohio, on Jan. 6, 1836. He had such education as the common schools afforded until he was 14 years of age, when his parents came and settled in Tazewell County, IL. He removed to Knox County in 1856, where he has since lived. He has held the offices of School Director and Road Commissioner in Indian Point Township. He married Martha E. Bond on Dec. 31, 1858 [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a James L. Cashman marrying a Matilda E. Bond in Knox County on December 27,, 1857], by whom he has had one son and one daughter. He is a Deacon in the Hermon Christian Church, and has been a member since 1852. He is Democratic in politics. Post office, Abingdon.
I. M. Cashman. A farmer whose parents were George and Rebecca J. (Murphy) Cashman, formerly of Virginia, he was born in Tazewell County, Illinois, on Feb. 11, 1850. His educational advantages were the High School of Cherry Grove and a course in Abingdon College. He was married Jan. 16, 1873 [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Isaiah M. Cashman marrying a Annie E. Bridson in Knox County on January 16, 1873], since which time he has lived in Knox County. He has been a member of the Christian Church since 1870. Politically he is a Democrat. Post office, Hermon.
REUBEN CASTLE. A farmer, he was born at Green Prairie, West Virginia, on 15 Sept 1813, the son of Henry and Sarah (Curry) Castle. They were natives of VA. He was raised on a farm and obtained his education in the old log school-house. He came to Knox County in 1834, and was married March 18, 1841, to Mary Long [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Reuben Castle marrying a Mary Ann Long in Knox County on March 18, 1841]. They have four children. He has been School Director and Road Commissioner. He is a member of the M. E. Church, which he joined in 1831. A Republican. P. O. Knoxville.
J. R. CATTERTON. He is a farmer, and son of Diler and Sarah Ann Catterton. He was born in Kentucky on 20 Aug 1819. His only opportunity for education was in common schools. He served an apprenticeship at the harness trade at the age of 14. He followed the trade for a time and then turned his attention to farming. He served in the Mexican War under General Scott, and was a member of the 102nd Regiment, IL Infantry from 1862 in the war of the rebellion. He married Sarah Ann Organ on Feb 18, 1849 [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a James Cattertorn marrying a Sarah Jane Organ in Lawrence County on February 18, 1849], and they have had nine children, four of whom are now living. He joined the Christian Church in 1844. Politically he is a Republican. P.O. Elba Center.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago, page 426. [Contributed by Todd Walter.]
James R. Catterton. The gentleman whose name we give in connection with this notice came to Knox County in 1854, from Lawrence County, Ill., and settled in Truro Township, where he lived for something over a year, and then moved to Elba Township. There he purchased 200 acres of land on section 8, where he has since lived. He has erected a fine residence on his farm to take the place of one which was destroyed by fire Dec. 6, 1882. At this writing he is the owner of 203 acres, 120 of which is under an advanced state of cultivation.
Mr. Catterton was born in Bullitt County, Ky., Aug. 19, 1819. In 1820, when he was quite young, his parents moved to Lawrence County, Ill., and settled on the Wabash River, where our subject lived until he came to this county. His early life was spent in attending the common schools, and working at shoe-making and harness-making, which he followed for a livelihood until after reaching maturity. He then engaged in the vocation of agriculturalist. In February, 1848, Mr. Catterton entered the regular army, enlisting in the 3d U. S. Dragoons, and served in the Mexican War till July of the same year, when the war ceased and he was discharged at Jefferson Barracks, Mo., nothing of importance occurring during his enlistment.
Mr. Catterton was married in Lawrence County, Ill., Feb 18, 1849, to Sarah A. Organ, daughter of Daniel A. and Lucinda (Rowland) Organ, natives of Virginia and Kentucky respectively. Her father was a Captain in the Black Hawk War in 1832. Her parents settled in Lawrence County, Ill., where her father followed farming and where both parents died. They had three children who lived to attain the age of man and womanhood, and were named Sarah, Mary J., and John P. Sarah A., the wife of our subject, was born in Lawrence County, Ill., Sept. 28, 1830, and has born her husband (Mr. Catterton) seven children, of whom three survive, namely: Aurora A., Mary F. and Lura B.; the deceased are Sylvester, Martha J., Sarah A., and Edward M. Aurora is the wife of Samuel McKee, a farmer who resides in Summit, Ill., and they have three children - Adam E., Samuel G., and James C.; Mary Catterton is the wife of John H. Johnson, a druggist, and resides in London Mills, Fulton County; they have one child - Stella F.; Lura is the wife of Peter Norton, a farmer of Elba Township, and their daughter's name is Meda Rosalia, born Sept 13, 1885.
The Organ family were originally from England. Enoch Organ, the grandfather of Mrs. Catterton, was born in Virginia, and was a soldier in the War of the Revolution. Mr. Catterton's ancestry is Scotch, and his grandfather war was a soldier in the War of the Revolution. Dilar F. Catterton, the father of the subject of this sketch, was a soldier in the War of 1812, serving five years; a portion of the time he was in the command under Gen. Harrison and was in Jackson's army in the South, and at New Orleans when the English army was defeated.
The parents of Mr. Catterton were Dilar F. and Anna (Robinson) Catterton, natives of Maryland and Kentucky respectively. They were married and settled in the latter state, from whence they removed to Lawrence County, Ill., where the father followed the trade of shoemaker, and where both parents resided until their demise; the mother died about 1832, and the father in 1867. Six children were born to them, named John, Nancy, James, Mary, Martha and Isaac.
James Catterton has been Overseer of Highways and School Director in his township, and is a respected and honored citizen of the same.
He enlisted, in July, 1862, in Co. H, of the 102d Ill. Vol. Inf., and served his country faithfully and well until July 7, 1865. He enlisted as a private, and in November, 1862, met with a serious accident near Green River, Ky., by a mule falling upon him. This injury incapacitated him from active duty until the fall of 1863. He was detached and assigned to the 2d Bat. of Invalids or Veteran Reserve, and was discharged at Rock Island, Ill., at the date above mentioned, when he returned to this county and once more entered upon the peaceful pursuits of life. He and his wife, together with their children, are members of the Christian Church. In politics Mr. Catterton is a stanch and active Republican.
A view of the fine residence of Mr. Catterton appears in connection with this sketch.
SAMUEL CAULKINS. A farmer, he was born in Washington County, Indian on 21 Oct 1821, and married Sarah Ann Stewart on 8 Dec 1842. They have a family consisting of eight children living, 2 having died, making ten in all. He united with the United Brethren faith in 1840, in which he served as Steward, and in 1843 as Class Leader. He was Justice of the Peach in Henderson Twp., in 1868. He came to Knox County in 1855 and has never desired to remove. P.O.Gibson.
ALBERT A. CAWLKINS. A farmer, he is the son of Stephen and Anna (Smith) Cawlkins, both of NY, and was born in Columbia County, NY on 1 June 1808. His childhood was spent on a farm, and his only education facilities were the common schools. He learned the trade of house carpenter and plied himself to it for many years, but turned his attention to farming later in life. He came to Knox County in 1836 and settled on Section 2, Sparta Twp., where he has lived ever since. He was one of the first settlers on the prairie. On 1 May 1837 he married Louise M. Park and they have had eight children, six of whom are now living. He has been a member of the Baptist Church since 1832. He has been a pronounced Republican since 1850. P.O. Oneida.
JACOB S. CHAMBERS. A retired merchant, he was born in Addison County, VT on 14 March 1816, the son of Matthew and Hannah (Smith) Chambers, the former born in New Hampshire, the latter in Vermont. Jacob was educated in the common and select schools of his native state. He began the mercantile pursuit in his boyhood and continued in it until 1868. His father, Matthew Chambers purchased property in Galesburg with the colony, and erected the second store in the place. He settled however in Knoxville where he remained several years, then came to Galesburg where he died in 1869. Jacob went from Knoxville to Whiteside County, but finally settled in Altona, and opened the first store in town. After successfully conducting his business there for a number of years he came to Galesburg where he now lives, retired. On 28 Sept 1857 he married Amanda M. Parsons who is the mother of three children living and one dead. He is a member of the First Church. He is a Republican. He was for several years Supervisor and filled the office of Road Commissioner in Walnut Grove Twp.
CHARLES P. CHANDLER. A merchant of Galesburg, he was born in Scioto County, OH on 2 Aug 1817, the son of Ellis and Deborah Chandler, the former a native of PA, the latter of VT. His education was limited to the common schools in the vicinity of his father's farm, where he remained until he was 23 years old. On 10 Nov 1840, he married Azuba G. Miles, who has borne him eight children, seven of whom are living. they are: Ellis Chandler, b. 12 Feb 1846; A. Deborah, born 29 Oct. 1848; Sally Miles, b. 5 Oct 1851; Joseph Barton b. 20 Jun 1854; Charles P. Jr. b. 17 Jan 1859; Stephen, b. 1 Apr 1862; Harriet M., born 26 May 1868. Ellis died on 5 Oct 1847. Moved to Missouri in 1841, remained until 1844 and in 1867 came to Galesburg, where he now resides. He was sheriff of Scioto County, OH two terms and Treasurer one term. He served as Provost Marshal during the rebellion, and in Missouri was elected Justice of the Peace. He is a member of the M. E. Church, and a Republican.
EZRA CHAPMAN. The son of Asa and Susanna (Berry) Chapman, of Providence, RI he was born in Whitestown, NY on 28 Jan 1797. He had only a common school education and was a machinist by trade, at which he has worked thirteen years and followed farming since. He has held the offices of Justice of the Peace, and Postmaster. He married Sarah Ann Lanfear on 8 Apr 1825. They have had two boys and three girls. One girl died and one boy received a wound the the army from which he died. After working in a machine factory about three years it stopped. He then went to Western PA and worked at a variety of occupations, barely making a living, being just after the close of the war of 1812. At the end of five years Mr. Walcott proposed to open his works when Mr. C. returned, and went to work. The fellow workmen indulged in gambling but Mr. Chapman would never take part. he advised all young men to abstain from it. P.O. Ontario.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago. [Contributed by Bob Miller.]
MONS CHARLSON. An iron molder, he was the son of Charles Frederick and Catharing (Soldwin) Charlson, and was born in Sweden 24 Oct 1822. His early life was spent on a farm and his education was obtained in the common schools of Sweden. He learned the tailor's trade and followed it for sixteen years. He came to this country and settled in Victoria, Knox County in 1852. He married Ellen Peterson on 4 July 1856 by whom he has had five children, four of whom, two sons and two daughters are living. He removed to Galesburg where he now lives, in 1863. he has been a member of the Lutheran Church for over forty years.
From the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County, Munsell Publishing Company.
MAURICE JAMES CHASE, M.D., son of Benjamin Chapman and Eliza (Royce) Chase, was born in Cornish, Sullivan County, NH, March 4, 1826. His father was a farmer, and owing to conditions induced by material impressions, was born into this world bereft of two important faculties - hearing and speech. His mother's domestic feelings were unusually strong, and her tender sympathies made her efficient in the care of the sick and distressed.
The first settlement of Cornish by the Chases is quite romantic. About the year 1700, George Gifford, of Massachusetts, ceded the township to Aquilla and Priscilla Chase, ancestors of M. J. Chase. They took all their personal effects in a row-boat up the Connecticut River and took possession of the ceded grant. Formerly in this township, the Chase family was very numerous. Most of the church and town offices were held by them. It was here that Chief Justice Salmon P. Chase was born. It is here that he and many of that name can trace their common ancestry.
Maurice James Chase received a thorough and practical education in the New England public schools of his time, which fitted him to enter upon a more advanced course of study at the Kimball Union Academy - an institution of national reputation. After finishing his academic course, he commenced in 1845 the study of medicine - a profession that he had selected in very early life. He was a student of the famous Dr. Dixi Crosby, who was president of the Medical Department of Dartmouth. He attended a full course of lectures at the Medical College at Woodstock VT and two full courses also, at Dartmouth. He graduated June 17, 1850, and soon thereafter settled in South Boston MA, in the practice of his profession. Thinking that there were broader fields of usefulness and influence in the West, he came to Indiana in February, 1854, and practiced there for two years. He then removed to Macomb IL and remained there until July, 1859, when he came to Galesburg, where he has been a successful practitioner for forty years.
Dr. Chase has earned an honorable distinction in the practice of his profession. His reputation for careful and painstaking treatment is acknowledged. His clinical instruction is full and complete, and his diagnosis of thousands of cases is a proof of his erudition and ability. As a physician, his labors have been crowned with success, and much of that success is due to the sympathy which he feels and expresses for his patients. He believes that care and attention are as important as medicine.
In religious belief, he is a Universalist. His creed is the Fatherhood of God and the Brotherhood of man. He says of himself: "From my earliest recollections I have been a firm believer in prayer and communion with God, our Heavenly Father. It is a great duty and high privilege to keep and revere the first and the second great commandments of the New Testament."
Dr. Chase is a strong temperance man; nevertheless, politically, he affiliates with the republican party.
He was united in marriage to Lucy F. Crocker, March 15, 1849. There were born to them four children, two now living: Henry Maurice, born November 3, 1850, died March 5, 1854; Ella L., born December, 1853, died October, 1854; Henry Maurice, 2d, born February 9, 1860; Ella L., 2d, born March 30, 1856.
Henry M. Chase was married June 5, 1884, to Jane Ewing Phillips. They have two children: Phillips M., born April 6, 1886; and Margaret Evertson, born December 22, 1889. Ella L. Chase was married March 30, 1874, to Arthur W. Conger, who died in 1890. Three children were born to them: Lucy M., born January 22, 1875; Delia, born December 4, 1886; and Etheline, born October 4, 1888. Her second marriage was with Hon. Howard Knowles, March 4, 1896.
JOHN E. CHESNEY. A wagon and carriage maker in Abingdon, he is the son of Thomas and Hanna (Mitchell) Chesney, of Maryland. He was born in Hartford Co. Maryland in April 1815. He was educated in the common schools in Indiana, and learned his trade with his father. He came to Abingdon on 21 April 1842, and was married to Hannah J. Swartz on June 6, 1844, and the second time to Eliza E. Foster on 21 Dec 1854. He is a member of the M. E. Church and Class Leader. A Republican in politics.
ERASTUS CHILD. He is the son of Charles T. and Clarissa Child of Connecticut, and was born 4 Oct 1817 in Exeter, NY. His early life was spent on a farm. Thinking to become a public speaker he entered Oneida Institute, NY in 1838, graduating in 1841. That not proving satisfactory and after teaching school for a long time, he settled down as a mechanic, still clinging in some form to books and the press. He has been a regular newspaper correspondent for twelve years. He was the Oneida correspondent for the Galesburg Republican from the first and since for the Republican-Register. He also deals in the Simmons' Sash supporter. He was married on 29 April 1846 to Rachel Foster of Whitestown, NY. Of their children, Sarah E. is now the wife of F. B. Webb, Bedford, IA; Charles F. met his death by scalding when young, and Julia I. is with her parents. He came to Oneida in 1855, was a radical Abolitionist, and is now a Republican. P.O. Oneida.
FREDERICK CHRISTIANER. A dentist and jeweler in Abingdon, and is the son of Ausust T. and Dorothea J. (Obrock) Christianer, natives of Germany where in Ostercappeln, 22 Nov 1829, he was born. When 16 years old he came to America, going to St. Louis. In 1846, he commenced business for himself, moved to Canton in 1849, and to Abingdon in 1856 where he has since lived. He has served as Justice of the Peace and Police Magistrate for eight years, also Township Clerk and School Director. In 1869 he was elected County Superintendent of Public Schools and served four years. He married 5 Dec 1850 to Jane E. McMillen.
GEORGE CHURCHILL. Principal of Knox Academy in Galesburg, and was born in Winfield, NY on 2 April 1829, the son of Norman and Anna (Eggleston) Churchill the former born at Hubbard, VT, on 5 Nov 1799, his mother in Batavia, NY, on 24 Jan 1806. George was reared on a farm and attended school and worked at mechanical labor, graduating at Knox College in 1851. He came to Galesburg with his parents in 1839, and since remained here, save two years passed at Farmington, IL, where he had charge of the High School. He visited schools in different parts of Europe and especially in Germany, and studied their systems. He worked faithfully to consolidate the 8 district schools of Galesburg, and inaugurate the present system. He was Chairman of the Committee of Citizens who prepared the charter of the schools and got it through the Legislature, and finally effected the organization. He employed at his own expense, Hon. William Baker of CT to labor in the city for this end. He served as Alderman 4 years, is present City Engineer for 8 years. He is a member of both the Board of Park Commissioners, and Library Board. He was a member of the Board of Education for 14 years, was employed 1 year as Assistant Civil Engineer on the Central Military Track Railroad, and has done much surveying throughout the county. He has been principal of Knox Academy since 1855; he joined the First Church Galesburg in 1876. Professor Churchill was married first time to Clara A. Hurd, and again to Ada A. Hayes in 1858, and the third time to Ellen S. Walker and is the parent of four sons. Republican.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
From the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County, Munsell Publishing Company.
The truth of this maxim finds abundant exemplification in the life and labors of George Churchill. There is scarcely a department inaugurated for the improvement of this city, or for the bettering of the condition of its people, without a trace of his handiwork. He has been "part and parcel" of the city of Galesburg and Knox College almost from their very inception, and their history would be incomplete and almost worthless without the embodiment of the life-work of Professor George Churchill.
Dr. Churchill, son of Norman and Anna (Eggleston) Churchill, was born in Herkimer County NY, April 2, 1829. His father came to Galesburg early in the Fall of 1836, and purchased a ten-acre lot on West Main Street, know as the "Churchill home." Into this "home" he moved with his family in 1839, where he lived and died, an honored citizen, September 20, 1886, at the advanced age of nearly eighty-seven years. He was the son of Reverend Jesse Churchill and was born in Hubbardton VT, November 5, 1799.
The early educational advantages of Dr. George Churchill were of the kind incident to a new country. At that time, the necessities of the family and home had to be supplied and the culture of the mind was treated more as an incidental matter. However, young George's youth was given to the study of such books as were at his command, and to the contemplation of the open book of Nature for which he had an innate fondness. He entered Knox College as a student in the Preparatory department in the first year of its history. With thorough preparation, he afterwards entered the college classes and graduated in 1851.
After graduation, there was no time afforded him for recreation or rest. His first year was spent as civil engineer on the Central Military Tract Railroad, which afterwards became part of the main line of the Burlington system.
Appreciating the inefficiency of the public schools of Galesburg and vicinity, and desiring to supplant them with a better system, he next made a trip to Europe, in order to make a most thorough inspection of the Prussian schools. For this tour, he had exceptional facilities. Letters from the Secretary of State and from other influential men were given him, and he was thus enabled to gain an accurate knowledge of the Prussian system of education. On his return to Galesburg, he addressed himself to the task of arousing public sentiment in favor of an improved school system, that should, in some measure, be comparable to the one he had been studying. No only his time and energy were lavished without stint, but his slender salary as teacher was encroached upon to secure the assistance of Honorable Henry Barnard, of Connecticut, who afterwards received the first appointment as Commissioner of Education for the United States. The co-operation of the various educational interests ultimately resulted in procuring a special charter by which the former district schools were consolidated, and the foundations of the present system, with all its essential features, were laid. The Board of Education has shown a just appreciation of Dr. Churchill's services in this direction, by naming what was called the Grammar School the "Churchill School", and by adopting, January, 14, 1896, the following resolution:
Resolved, That we tender a vote of thanks to Professor Churchill, thus expressing our high appreciation for the efforts he made in securing a higher education for the public schools of Galesburg by a special charter, which passed the Legislature in 1859; and that we extend to him an invitation to be the guest of this Board to visit our schools and see if we have come up to his expectation, both in buildings and in teaching.
Dr. Churchill has been fully appreciated by his fellow citizens, and at their hands has held many positions of honor and trust. For thirteen years, he was a member of the Board of Education. For twenty-two years, he served in the capacity of City Engineer. For two terms, he served as Alderman. For eight years, he was a member of the Board of Park Commissioners. For twenty-three years, he held a position on the Library Board, which position he held until his death, which occurred in September, 1899. Besides all these extra duties and labors, which were performed acceptably and well, and which demanded the need of praise from every citizen, he filled a Professor's Chair in Knox College for the long period of forty-four years.
Dr. Churchill was born to be useful. He was born to do good. He was born especially as an educator of youth. Nobly and grandly, he fulfilled his mission. In his instruction, he was lucid and thorough, and, whatever the subject taught, he never failed to interest. Thousands of men and women, scattered over our land, as the evening shadows fall and as their wandering thoughts revert to the scenes of their school days, will picture the stalwart form of Dr. George Churchill. They will recall with deeper affection his peculiar and interesting manner of teaching and his many quaint and always instructive speeches. They will ever regard his name and Knox College as one and inseparable.
As a citizen, Dr. Churchill was deservedly popular. He was intelligent, and amiable in disposition; honorable in purpose and character; charitable towards the unfortunate; kind and loving in all domestic relations; a friend to the poor and needy; and a lover of all that makes for righteousness and is a benefit to the human race. He was a practical and consistent man and won his way by his urbanity and vigorous common sense.
In religious faith, Dr. Churchill was a Congregationalist. When sixteen years of age, he became a member of the Old First Church. At the time of his death, September 10, 1899, he was a member of its successor, the Central Church. He served forty years as deacon; twenty-five years as Superintendent of the Sabbath School, and more than twenty-five years as leader of the choir. He was also a member of the building committee of the present church structure. He was director and President of the Mechanics' Homestead and Loan Association since its organization in 1882, the assets and disbursements of which to the present time amount to two and a half million dollars.
Dr. Churchill was thrice married. His first wife was Clara A. Hurd. To them was born one son, Milton E., now Dean of the Faculty of Illinois College, Jacksonville.
His second wife was Ada H. Hayes. Of this union, one daughter and two sons were born: Mary Hayes, who died July 7, 1863; Charles E., a lawyer in Chicago; and George B., a hardware merchant of Galesburg.
His third wife was Ellen Sanborn Watkins. One son was born to them, William David. By a former marriage, his third wife had a daughter, Mrs. Nellie Sanborn (Watkins) Wetherbee.
NORMAN CHURCHILL, Jr. An ice dealer, he is the son of Norman and Ann (Eggleston) Churchill, the former a native of VT and the latter of NY. He was born in Herkimer Co, NY, 16 July 1833, and was educated in the common schools and reared on a farm. He came to Galesburg with parents when he was six years old. He married 20 Nov 1863 to Ann E. Hinsey and they have three children. He is Republican in politics.
BUFORD CLARK. See WILLIAM B. CLARK and BUFORD CLARK below.
DENNIS CLARK, County Judge, was born Aug. 14, 1817, in Washington, Ind.; his parents were Walter and Mary (Young) Clark, the former of Virginia, and his mother a native of New Jersey; he was educated in the common schools, and attended Cherry Grove Seminary in 1841-2; his early boyhood days were passed on a farm, and in the year 1837 commenced teaching school in winter and farming in summer; followed this for several years; after he was married commenced the study of law at home; admitted to the bar in 1866; he was married April 10, 1845, to Martha Meadows [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Dennis Clarke marrying a Martha Meadows in Knox County on April 9, 1845], who has borne him ten children, five of whom are dead. Judge C. is one of the pioneers of Illinois; he came to the state in 1823 with his father, who moved to Wisconsin in 1828, where shortly after he was poisoned drinking mineral water, when the whole charge of the family fell upon Dennis; with an ox team he has made trips 50 miles to provide food for the family; in 1829 family moved to St. Louis, then to Sangamon county, Ill., where he was bound out to a farmer; he got $5 ahead, left and came to Knox County in 1833, settling near Abingdon; he served as Captain of military company in 1836 and for several years afterwards; has been Township Clerk, Overseer Poor, and in Nov., 1865, was elected County Judge, and re-elected three times since; during the war he was enrolling officer, and labored earnestly to relieve the families of soldiers who were in the field; he is possessed of good practical judgment, sympathetic, always ready to accommodate, benevolent, and is highly respected and honored; in politics he was formerly a Whig, but now a Republican; he resides at Abingdon.
LUTHER CLARK. He is the son of Abram and Anna (Wise) Clark, natives of NY, and was born in Tioga County, NY, on 1 July 1829. He was raised on a farm and educated in common schools. He came to Orange Twp in 1843l, where he still resides. He married 3 Feb 1859 to Sarah Yeager, who has borne six children, all living. A Democrat. Post Office Knoxville.
From the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County, Munsell Publishing Company.
MERRITT M. CLARK, a patriot soldier during the Civil War, was born in Manchester, Bennington County VT, January 10, 1835. He was the youngest son of Chester and Saviah (Matteson) Clark, and was left fatherless when only eleven years of age. In 1851, he came to Galesburg with his mother, and lived here the remainder of his life.
Mr. Clark acquired the rudiments of his education in the district schools of his native State. Afterwards, he supplemented this instruction with a more thorough course of study. He matriculated in Knox College, and graduated with high honors in 1857. After graduation, he read law with the firm of Smith and Ford, and was soon admitted to practice in the courts of the State. In the Spring of 1861, a law partnership was formed with Judge A. A. Smith and E. P. Williams, which continued until 1862. Imbued with patriotic fervor, he entered the army as a commissioned officer, and served, though with impaired health, until the close of the war. His patriotism and his love for his companions in arms are shown by the following incident: A member of the law firm, in which he was once a partner, urged him to obtain a discharge from the service on account of his poor health, and with a true Roman spirit offered to take his place. He replied, that he could not ask such a favor, when his companions, suffering as much as he, could not obtain a release. Having been a partaker with them in the triumphs of battle and the shouts of victory, he could not desert them in an hour of darkness, disease, or death. With an heroic spirit and with a manly courage that did not quail in the smoke of battle, he remained at his post until victory was won.
After Mr. Clark's discharge, he returned to his home, where he remained, highly honored, until his death. Immediately, he was elected Police Magistrate, which office he filled until the Spring of 1866. He then formed a law partnership with E. P. Williams, which was dissolved in 1871 on account of Mr. Clark's ill-health. During 1871, he was elected City Attorney, which office he held for one year.
As a lawyer, Mr. Clark possessed certain eminent characteristics. He was fair and honest, and a sense of justice and equity seemed to control his actions. He was accurate and painstaking in cases at court, and his quick perceptions and versatile mind enabled him to discover the weak and strong points in trial or argument. As a soldier, he virtually gave his life to his country. Disease, contacted on the field of battle, did not quench the fire of patriotism that was burning within him, or turn him from the path of duty. His name is worthy to be enrolled on the scroll of fame with the patriots of his time. As man and citizen, he bore an unsullied character. His demeanor was pleasing, but not commanding. He was charitable in his speech and acts, and his kindly nature drew around him many friends. He lived a full life of kindness and love, and is worthy to have inscribed upon his tombstone this epitaph - an honest man.
Mr. Clark was a Congregationalist, a member of the Old First Church. His political faith was republican. He was married September 2, 1857, to Celia A. Tinker, a daughter of Rev. Charles E. and Mary (Robinson) Tinker. Rev. Charles E. Tinker was a Home Missionary about 1840.
To Mr. and Mrs. Clark were born seven children: Mary Ina, died in childhood; Luella M.; Chester M.; Charles T.; Jay C.; Willis J.; and Alice Pauline.
From the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County, Munsell Publishing Company, page 903. [Contributed by Todd Walter.]
SALINA E. (SELBY) THURMAN CLARK; Haw Creek Township; born in Maquon Township, Knox County, Illinois, June 4, 1848, on the old Selby homestead. Her parents were Philemon B. Selby of Lancaster, Ohio, and Elizabeth (Gullet) Selby. Her first marriage was with Franklin Thurman [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a B. F. Thurman marrying a Salina Selby in Knox County on February 15, 1866]. Two children were born to them, Mrs. Florence Odell, and Mrs. Mary Kromer. Her second marriage was with Thomas A. Clark [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Thomas A. Clark marrying a Mrs. Salina Thurman in Knox County on February 12, 1874], son of Rev. William Clark of Knox County. They have four children: Mrs. Jennie Burnside; William E.; Katie; Frederick. Mr. Clark was Road Commissioner, and has been School Director for fifteen years. He is a successful farmer.
From the 1918 A Standard History of Kansas and Kansans, written and compiled by William E. Connelley, Secretary of the Kansas State Historical Society, Topeka. Chicago: Lewis Publishing Company. [Contributed by Todd Walter.]
WILLIAM B. CLARK and BUFORD CLARK, brothers, residing on adjoining farms in Williamsport Township of Shawnee County, have occupied and developed land that their father, a distinguished citizen of Illinois secured in Kansas soon after the close of the Civil war. These brothers are among the most progressive men in that community, have won much success in agriculture, and have always been alert and public spirited in connection with movements for the public benefit.
Their father was Hon. Dennis Clark, who was born August 14, 1817, at Vincennes, Indiana. His parents were Walter and Mary (Young) Clark, the former a native of Virginia and the latter of New Jersey. Dennis Clark was a grandson of Dennis Clark, after whom he was named. This Dennis was a native of Ireland and the founder of his family in America. Walter Clark moved over the mountains into the West in the very early days. In 1823 he settled in Illinois, and for a time lived near Galena, where he was engaged in lead mining and subsequently was a steam boatman on the Mississippi. He moved to Wisconsin in 1828, and was soon afterward poisoned by drinking mineral water. At that time Dennis Clark was eleven years of age, and the responsibilities of caring for the other members of the household largely devolved upon his youthful shoulders. In 1829 the family removed to St. Louis, then to Sangamon County, Illinois, where he was bound out to a farmer. After accumulating a capital of $5 he left his employer and in 1833 settled near Abingdon in Knox County, Illinois. He came to Knox County with Jonathan Lattimore. Settlers were just then beginning to come into that section of Illinois and the Indians were still more numerous than the whites. Dennis Clark worked as a farm hand for Mr. Lattimore. Ambitious for an education, he had taken every opportunity to attend the local schools, and he finished his education in the Cherry Grove Seminary near Abingdon in 1841-42. In 1837 he began teaching school in the winter and farming in the Hummer, and that was his routine for several years. He was the first teacher in Indian Point Township of Knox County. In 1836 he served as captain of a company of militia. He also took up the study of law, and with the savings from his work as teacher entered a law school at Chicago, and was subsequently admitted to the bar. For many years he practiced law, beginning in 1866, and filled a number of positions of trust besides. He was township clerk, overseer of the poor, and in November, 1865, was elected county judge of Knox County. He filled that position for twenty-one years, finally declining to serve any longer. During the Civil war he recruited a company, was elected its captain, but spent most of his time as an enrolling officer and in providing for the relief of soldiers' families.
It was soon after the Civil war that Judge Clark came to Kansas having in mind the possibility of making the state his home. He then bought two quarter sections of land in Williamsport Township of Shawnee County, now occupied by his two sons, though he never really became a resident of Kansas himself.
On April 10, 1845, Judge Clark married Martha Meadows. Her parents Henry and Mary Meadows moved from Kentucky to Warren County, Illinois, in 1830. Henry Meadows was a man of deep religious sentiment and his home in the early days was the headquarters for many of the itinerant preachers in Illinois. Dennis Clark and wife had ten children, five of whom reached maturity. Judge Dennis Clark after a long and extremely useful life died May 17, 1900. His wife passed away in July, 1906.
Of the two sons who continue his honorable record in the State of Kansas, William B. was born in Knox County, Illinois, November 8, 1847. He received a public school education, lived on an Illinois farm until he was nine years of age, and after reaching manhood he identified himself with agriculture. After spending some years as a farmer in Illinois he sold out and moved to Kansas in the spring of 1878. The first year he lived on a rented farm near Lawrence, but in the spring of 1879 moved to his present place of 160 acres which had some years before been acquired by his father.
William B. Clark was married in Illinois to Miss Catherine A. Moore, daughter of Paul Moore. Seven of their children are still living: Nora V., Mrs. Joseph Sinel; Arda May Pearl; Lawrence C.; Lulu, Mrs. Vandever; Hazel, Mrs. Roy Kane; Edna, Mrs. Jules Mansfield. Their three deceased children are Pauline, Dennis and Walter Henry. Mrs. Clark, the mother of these children, died April 3, 1903.
Buford Clark, who has also been a resident of Kansas and Shawnee County since 1878, was born November 28, 1852, in Knox County, Illinois. His birth occurred in one of the log cabin homes then 80 typical a feature of the Illinois landscape. He received a good education at his father's home in Abingdon, and practically his entire active career has been spent 1n farming. On coming to Kansas in 1878 he remained only about sixteen months, and then returned to Knox County, Illinois. He remained in that state until 1886, but since then has made his permanent home in the Sunflower State.
On June 1, 1884, Buford Clark married Hannah Louise Anderson [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Buford Clark marrying a Hannah L. Anderson in Knox County on June 1, 1884]. Five children were born to them: Dennis, Martha, Minnie, Russell and Meddie. Buford Clark is a liberal republican in politics and his religion is stated in the principle set forth in the Golden Rule.
W. E. CLARK. A farmer, P.O. Abingdon, and a Republican, he was born in Haw Creek Twp., Knox County, on 28 Feb 1838, the son of Wm. M. and Lydia (Carmichael) Clark, the former of Kentucky and the latter of North Carolina. He was educated at a select school in Knoxville and Hedding Seminary in Abingdon. In 1861, he enlisted in 8th Missouri Zouaves and discharged 9 July 1864. He was married 4 July 1866. He joined the M. E. Church in 1853, his wife joined in 1850. He served as Class Leader and has been an Exhorter. [Wife's name not given).]
H. H. CLAY. A farmer, he was born in Windsor County, VT in 1828, the son of John and Louisa M. Clay who came to this county in 1840. He attended the common schools and was one year at Lombard College. His early life was passed on the farm where he now lives, in which vocation he has been quite successful. He enlisted in the 102nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry in 1861 as a Lieutenant and was promoted to Captain, and afterwards to Major for bravery. He commanded the regiment from Atlanta to Goldsboro NC under Sherman during his famous "March to the Sea," and was with the regiment in every battle. A Democrat. P.O. Galesburg.
ANDREW CLEARWATER. The son of Jacob and Esther (Shealy) Clearwater, natives of NY, he was born in Montgomery County, NY, 3 May 1818. He was reared on a farm and educated in common schools. He came to Knox County in 1843. he married 13 Apr 1856 to Margaret J. McGreggon who has borne him one boy and one girl. He joined the Baptist Church in 1837 and is connected with the Ontario Church. A Republican.
Andrew Cochran [ He is the son of Simon and Margaret Cochran, natives of Virginia, and was born in Frankllin County, Ohio, on Aug. 27, 1809. He was raised on a farm and attended the subscription schools. He learned blacksmithing, and in 1867 went into the blacksmithing, and in 1867 went into the drug business.
He came to Illinois in 1837. He married Nancy I. Cannon on August 22, 1833. He has been School Director, Assessor, and Postmaster. He joined the M. E. Church in 1825, and has held church offices. He is a Republican and resides in Abingdon.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago. [Contributed by Bob Miller.]
Andrew CochrUn. Page 422.
Josiah C. Cochran. Abingdon.
Asbury Cochrun. Yardmaster, Galesburg Stock Yards, Galesburg.
Obituary, Williamsfield, Ill., December 29, 1927. [Contributed by Jenny Williams.]
John Cole, eldest son of William F. Cole and Mary Ann Cole, was born in Brimfield township, Peoria county, Illinois, near French Grove, May 4, 1847, and passed away at his home in Williamsfield, December 22, 1927, at the age of 80 years, 7 months and 18 days.
On October 18, 1870, he was married to Mary Rosetta Smith [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a John Cole marrying a Mary Rosetta Smith in Stark County on October 20, 1870]. Through this union were born two children, Villa and Mary Etta Cole, who passed away in infancy. An adopted child, Grant Cole, also died in infancy.
Dr. Cole was the eldest of thirteen children, Isaac Franklin, Mary A. Marjorie and an infant preceded him in death. He leaves to mourn his loss his devoted wife, one grandchild, Mrs. Rosetta Marie Broadwell of Los Angeles, Calif., two sisters Mrs. Sarah J. Doubet of Williamsfield and Mrs. Lucy C. Nelson of Elmwood, Illinois, six brothers Wm. H. Cole of Exeter, Mo., Charles M. of Iola, Kansas, Frederick G. of Peoria, Lemuel L. of Lang, Saskatchewan, Canada, Jobe and Newton Jerome of Williamsfield and one great-grandchild.
Twin nieces, Mrs. Marie Rosetta Smith and Mrs. Marjorie M. Simpson, both of Chicago, made their home with Dr. and Mrs. Cole from infancy until their marriage when they moved to Chicago.
March 8, 1865 he enlisted in company K 47th regiment of Illinois Infantry Volunteers. He served faithfully in the messenger service of his country and was honorably discharged January 21, 1866.
Following his army service he attended high school in Peoria. After completing his high school work he taught school at the Fair Ground school in Peoria, the Reed school near French Grove and the Elmore school. While in Elmore he opened a drug store and received the appointment as postmaster at that place. He held that position for sixteen years at the time when the United States mail came to Elmore by the overland route from Yates City to Toulon, Ill.In 1877 he entered the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Keokuk, Iowa, from which he was graduated with the degree of M. D. February 28, 1882. Following his graduation he began the practice of medicine at Elmore and practiced there until 1889. He then moved to Williamsfield where he made his home until the time of his death. Desiring to become more efficient in the medical profession he took two courses at the Chicago Polyclinic while he lived in Williamsfield.
He underwent a very serious operation about ten years ago which so disabled him that he was compelled to give up a portion of his medical practice. Last summer he ceased practice and sold his business to Dr. F. D. Calderia.
In the summer of 1918 he enlisted and was accepted in the medical corps of the United States Army. From this service he received an honorable discharge.
He was taken sick Wednesday night at 11 o'clock and passed away Thursday evening at 5 o'clock after very severe suffering.
Dr. Cole was a lover of children and always had a cheerful greeting for them all. He was a member of the G. A. R. and had held all the offices of that organization. He was also a member of the Odd Fellows lodge. While a firm believer and attendant at services he was not a church member. He was known as the poor man's friend because of his generosity in rendering service to the needy.
He was instrumental in securing flags for the grade and high school of this vicinity.
Dr. Cole will be missed by all for he was well known and highly respected in the community.
Funeral services were held at the Williamsfield M. E. church Tuesday afternoon in charge of the pastor Rev. Morton. Misses Ruth and Helen Regan sang "In The Garden." "Tenting on the Old Camp Ground" and "Beautiful Isle" with Mrs. Grace Johnson at the piano.
The casket bearers were E. D. Parker, Harrison Cole, Glen Cole, C. W. German, R. F. Marshall and Grant Nelson. Interment was in the Glendale Cemetery at Elmore.
Charles Collinson, farmer, son of Thomas and Hannah, natives of England, was born at Yorkshire, Eng., May 14, 1826, and spent his early life in the coal mines of Pennsylvania, where he went with his parents at the age of four years; came to Knox county in 1852; was married July 17, 1847; is the father of eleven children; united with the M. E. Church in 1857, has acted as Steward and Sunday School Superintendent; served three years in the war for the Union as Corporal; Democrat. P. O., Galva, Ill.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago, page 807. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
Charles Collinson. Among the large landholders and successful and well-to-do farmers of Knox County, prominently stands the name of him whose short biographical notice we give, accompanied by his portrait. He is at present engaged in the prosecution of his life-long vocation on his fine farm of 280 acres on section 31, Lynn Township, and is meeting with far more than ordinary success as a tiller of the soil. He is the proprietor of Walnut Creek Creamery, and manufactures a large amount of fine creamery butter. He has been engaged in the business since 1880. He is the son of Thomas Collinson, whose native home was beyond the Atlantic, in Yorkshire, England, and who was of pure English blood. The father of our subject was reared on a farm in the mother country, and at the age of nine years began to earn his own livelihood. He was married in his native shire to Hannnah Codlin, who was also a native of Yorkshire, and there reared to womanhood. While yet a resident of that shire, two children, sons, were born to them, our subject being the elder, and the date of his birth May 14, 1826.
The father and mother, together with their two sons, emigrated to the United States, and immediately made settlement in Wilkesbarre, Luzerne Co., Pa. After their arrival in this country, three more children were born; three children are living. The mother died in Wilkesbarre, Pa., when Charles was but 12 years of age. The father was again married in Luzerne County, to a lady of French extraction, Louisa Mathias, who was born and reared to womanhood in France, coming to the United States and locating in Luzerne County when a young lady. She yet survives and is living with her younger daughter, Mrs. Thomas McClure, in Lynn Township. The father of our subject died in Lynn Township, Jan. 28, 1881, at the age of 82. He came to Illinois in 1852, bringing his family with him, six boys and two girls, Charles being the eldest. He had been a fairly successful farmer, and at the date of his demise was possessed of a considerable property. In politics he was a Democrat.
Charles Collinson, after accompanying his parents to this county, continued to reside with them with them on the parental homestead, assisting by his labors in the maintenance of the family until 19 years of age. He worked five years in the coal mines in the Wyoming Valley, Pa., and vicinity.
He was married in Willkesbarre, Pa., July 18, 1847, Miss Catherine A. Spare becoming his wife. She was born near Philadelphia, Aug. 18, 1824, and is the daughter of John and Catherine (Cline) Spare, natives of Pennsylvania and of Holland descent. Her father was a blacksmith, but after his marriage followed farming for a sustenance until his demise, which took place Jan. 2, 1865, in Wilkesbarre, Pa. His wife followed him to the land beyond 20 days later.
Mrs. Collinson was the third in order of birth of a family of nine children, five sons and four daughters, and continued to reside with her parents until her marriage. Of her union with Mr. Collinson 11 children have been born, one of whom is deceased. Thomas married Hannah Rawlins, and resides in Iowa, engaged in farming; John S. has a sketch in this work; Sarah married Ambrose King, a farmer of Victoria Township; Abraham married Margaret Marshall, and also lives in Victoria Township; Mary C. is the wife of C. S. King, a farmer of Crawford County, Kan.; Martha A. married J. C. Gray, a farmer of Lynn Township; C. Frederick follows the calling of a farmer in Victoria Township, and the maiden name of his wife was was H. L. McDaniels; Hannah M. became Mrs. D. C. McDowell; Samuel S. married Ada Strong, who has died since the above was written, and is a farmer in Victoria Township; Luther M. is a farmer and resides at home. The deceased is Alice A., who died when about one year and two months old.
Mr. and Mrs. Collinsons are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He has been Township Assessor, and in politics votes with the Democrat party. Mr. Collinson enlisted in September, 1862, in Company G, 89th Regiment Illinois Volunteer Infantry; in the fall of 1863 he was transferred to the Veteran Reserve Corps, and served in the same until the close of the war, when he received an honorable discharge at Detroit, Mich., July 3, 1865. He was in numerous skirmishes, and early in the service received a sunstroke, which prevented him from active duty.
COLLISON, GEORGE M MURRAY, MARY W KNOX 03/22/1868
George M. Collinson. Thomas, his father, was born in England, and his mother, Louisa, was a native of France; George was born in Pennsylvania April 12, 1846; spent his early days on a farm; removed to Lynn, Mass., in 1851, and soon after came to Illinois; married Mary A. Murray May 22, 1868 [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a George M. Collison marrying a Mary W. Murray in Knox County on March 22, 1868], and they have three children, all girls; has been a member of the Board of Education in the Collinson Academy nine years; is a Democrat in politics. Postoffice, Altona.
Henry G. Collinson. His father, Simon L. Collinson, was a native of England, and his mother, Mary M. Collinson was born in Pennsylvania. Henry was born in Lynn township, Knox county, Jan. 4, 1840, where he has a fine farm. He has always been a farmer by choice; served in the war for the Union three years; married March 7, 1867, Miss Jannett McKie [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Henry G. Collison marrying a Jennett McKay in Knox County on March 7, 1867], who bore him two sons, neither of whom is living; united with the Presbyterian Church in 1870. Postoffice, Altona, where he now resides.
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago, page 869. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
John Collinson. The different residents of Knox County are distinguished for various acts of helpfulness and honor reflecting back upon themselves in the building up and advancement of the county. One of the important factors in her internal machinery is the subject of this personal sketch, whose home is situated on section 29, Lynn Township, and who has shown himself able and willing to forward all the interests of his community.
Mr. Collinson was born in Luzerne County, Pa., March 30, 1831. His father, whose given name was Thomas, was born and reared in Yorkshire, England. While residing in England he was united in marriage with Hannah Codlin, and afterward, with their two children, set sail for America, making settlement in Luzerne County, Pa., in 1829. Our subject was the first-born of his parents' family after their arrival here in the United States. Subsequent to their arrival here, their family was increased by the birth of three children, while they were residents of Luzerne County, Pa. The death of the mother occurred May 8, 1837. The father was subsequently married to Miss Louisa Mathias, after which event they, with their family, emigrated West. Upon their arrival in the Prairie State in 1852, they immediately settled in Lynn Township, at which place the father's demise occurred Jan. 28, 1881. His widow still survives, and is living with her youngest daughter, Louisa McClure, in Lynn Township. She has attained the venerable age of 75 years. The father of our subject had purchased a farm in Lynn Township, which was finely improved, and upon which he erected a desirable dwelling and necessary outbuildings.
After John Collinson arrived in this county in company with his parents, he immediately set about to earn his own living. Dec. 25, 1855, in Stark County, he was married to Miss Christiana Reader [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a John Collinson marrying a Christianna Reeder in Stark County on December 25, 1855]. Miss Reader was a native of Germany, where she was born Feb. 27, 1823. Her mother died when she was but a child, and consequently we have no account of her maiden name or history. The father, John Reader, was a shoemaker, and brought his two children, both daughters, to the United States, in 1848. The parents at once settled in Toulon, Stark County, where they followed the honorable and independent calling of farming until the demise of the father, which occurred in 1851. The death of Mr. Reader was caused by being thrown from an unmanageable horse, which he was leading by the halter, the strap of which was fastened to his wrist. The animal, becoming frightened, viciously shied and threw Mr. Reader to the ground, dragging him to death. Finally the strap broke, the horse going home, leaving his victim in the road.
After the death of her father Mrs. Collinson was engaged in domestic work until her marriage with Mr. C., to whom she has borne nine children, of whom we give the following brief memoranda: Martha became the wife of Holman Williams, and they are present residing in West Jersey Township, Stark County, and following farming; Mark O. is the husband of Charlotte Stephenson, and they reside on his father's homestead; Henry J. took to wife Emma Himer, and they make Lynn Township their home, where they are engaged in the peaceful calling of farming; Andrew H. resides in Iowa; Anna M. is the wife of Arthur Catton, a farmer, residing in Stark County; Lydia A. resides at home, as does also Viola D., Oscar C., and Ada L.
Since their marriage Mr. Collinson and wife are residing on their farm. He is now the possessor of 236 acres of most excellent and highly cultivated land, where he is meeting with success. In politics he is a stanch Democrat.
Simeon L. Collinson is the son of Thomas and Mary (Kirby) Collinson, natives of Yorkshire, England; Simeon was born July 7, 1806, in Yorkshire, England; spent his youth and received his education in his native country; came to America and settled in Pennsylvania, where he spent five years in the coal mines; came to Illinois where he engaged in farming, accumulating a large property, and is now the owner of 1,700 acres of beautiful farm land; has been twice married; Nov. 5, 1834 to Mary Craver, who bore him nine children, five boys and four girls; Nov. 21, 1874 to Mrs. Jane McClure [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Simeon L. Collinson marrying a Mrs. Jean McClure in Knox County on November 22, 1874], one son being the issue. Has held the office of School Trustee eight years; first Assessor after township organization, two years; Road Commissioner for ten years; served seven years in the PA Light Inf. under the State law; always led a moral life, resolving when young never to gamble or lead others by his example into bad habits. Postoffice, Altona.
Thomas W. Collinson, born in Pennsylvania July 2, 1835, is the son of Simeon Collinson, native of England, and Mary Collinson born in Pennsylvania. He came with his parents to this county in 1838, when but three years of age, and is therefore one of the earliest settlers of Knox county. He chose the best of all occupations, that of farmer, in which he has been very successful; was married on Nov. 25, 1858, to Miss Sarah Brooks [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Thomas W. Collinson marrying a Sarah Brooks in Knox County on November 25, 1858], from which union sprang eight children, seven boys and one girl, two of whom are dead; has served as School Director ten years. Postoffice, Altona.
From the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County, Munsell Publishing Company.
CHAUNCEY SILL COLTON was a remarkable man. His name is as imperishable as the name of the city of his adoption. A halo surrounds it, which will grow brighter and brighter, as the history of Galesburg and its early struggles shall be known and read. Without him, this city of beauty and refinement, of schools and colleges, as it is to-day, could never have been. It was he, with the aid of others, that brought the great Burlington system to this city. Without this railroad. Galesburg would be a "deserted village" on the plain. He was its chief promoter and the only director living on the line of the road for a quarter of a century, during which time the original railway, of eighty miles in length, expanded to five thousand miles. All the extensions in Illinois were made on his suggestion and insistence; and he was the first to urge its extension beyond the Mississippi. All honor is due to him for incessant labors in building up the city of his home. Like many a great man and worker for humanity, he built wiser than he knew; but future generations will enjoy the fruits of his labors.
Mr. Colton was a native of Springfield, PA, born September 21, 1800. His parents were Justin and Abigail (Sill) Colton and were natives of Massachusetts. They lived for one year in Pennsylvania, and then returned to their New England home. Young Chauncey spent his boyhood at Longmeadow MA, with his grandfather, whose precepts and advice did much to establish his character. He attended the academy at Monson MA and improved all the means of learning there given. But his large acquirements were obtained in the great school of practical experience in life.
Mr. Colton was of English descent. His American progenitor was Quartermaster George Colton, who came to country from Suttancofield, Suxxex County, England, in 1640, and settled at Windsor, Hartford County CT. His grandfather, Captain Gad Colton, was a soldier in the Revolutionary War.
In 1820, after finishing his course of study at the academy, Mr. Colton went to Monson, Maine, and resided there for ten years. But the opportunities amid the rocks, mountains, and rugged barrenness of New England seemed to him too narrow and confined. He therefore resolved to try his fortune in the Great West, then an almost unexplored wilderness. In June, 1836, he took up his abode in this city and lived here, an honored and highly respected citizen, the remainder of his life. His first occupation was in the mercantile line, in which he was eminently successful. But his chief business, of interest to this section, was the buying and shipment of its staple products. He shipped the first beef and pork, the first wheat and corn from central Illinois. The route of shipments was down the Illinois and Mississippi rivers to New Orleans, thence, by sea, to New York and Liverpool. He favored every enterprise which was for the advancement and interest of the city and State. He was one of the founders of the First National Bank, in which he was a director for many years. He was also one of the founders of the Farmers' and Mechanics' Bank, in which he was the largest stockholder and its first President. His money and his counsel aided much in the erection of the Union Block and other buildings. He built and occupied the first house in Galesburg. He also built the first school house in the town, and paid for it himself. Some years later, the frame of the old First Church was raised, but stood uncovered for about two years, until Mr. Colton offered to complete it himself, and let the members of the society pay their subscriptions when able to do so. Indeed, from the day of his arrival to the time of his death, it would be difficult to mention a worthy enterprise that he did not favor and assist. Public spirited, high-minded, possessing great native talents and a keen judgment, he readily comprehended matters and in every undertaking, knew what was best to be done.
Although not a church member until late in life, Mr. Colton always considered churches and schools of primary importance in a community.
He was a member of the Old First Church. At the organization of the Brick Congregational Church, under Dr. Edward Beecher, he united with it and remained a communicant as long as he lived, and gave liberally for its support.
He had also a great faith in Knox College, and in the work that this institution would accomplish for the community here and for the world at large. For forty years, he was a member of the Board of Trustees, and nearly as long a member of the Executive Committee. No college ever had a more faithful worker; he labored for its prosperity and success, and gave his time and money freely. His services were ever regarded as valuable, because of his keen perception, sound judgment, and practical knowledge in all business relations.
Mr. Colton never sought office and was not a politician. In early life, he was a democrat, afterwards a free soiler, and lastly, a republican. He believed more in the politics of principle than in the politics of men.
Mr. Colton married in Maine, January 5, 1826, to Emily H., daughter of Samuel McLanathan, of Sangerville. There were born to them four children: Harriet S., (Noteware); Sarah M., of this city; Colonel John B., of Kansas City; and Hon. Francis Colton, of Washington, D.C., formerly Consul at Venice, Italy.
In such a life as Chauncey Colton's there is much to admire and commend. His manners were simple and unaffected. He was an example of true manhood and possessed all those qualities which ennoble and dignify human nature. He was intelligent and able to meet any emergency. He had quick perceptions, and was not easily betrayed into difficulties. He neglected no duty; he thrust aside no obligation.
From the Biographical Album of Johnson and Pawnee Counties, Nebraska. [Contributed by Todd Walter.]
ELZIE COMBS, the proprietor of the extensive livery and sale stable on Third street in Tecumseh, and in that connection widely and favorably known, was born in Knox County, Ill. on the 7th of November, 1862. When he was about seven years of age his parents came to Nebraska. They made their home in this county for a short time and then removed to Bennet, in Lancaster County. Before our subject was ten years of age the home was bereaved of wife and mother, and our subject has therefore from that time been without the affectionate care, guidance and counsel of the nearest relation on earth.
Left to fight his own battles to a large extent, the subject of our sketch has been more successful in every way than many who have had every advantage; possibly because he came to realize the situation, and therefore bent his energies with more determined effort to the task of making his own way. All the education he has received has been obtained in the common school, which, however, he attended but a short time. Early in life he engaged in farming, and continued to follow the same. For one season he was engaged in herding, attending the town herd at $1 a month a head. This gave him his start; after that he set up as a barber in this city.
In 1882 Mr. Combs migrated to Wyoming Territory, and after remaining there about two years returned to this place, and was variously engaged until the 25th of July, 1888, when he secured the business in which he is now engaged. He has constant work for eighteen horses, and usually keeps a larger number on hand. In addition to his livery and sale stable, and the business connected therewith, Mr. Combs is the owner of two farms in Kansas; one is situated about four miles from Ft. Scott, in a northwesterly direction, is 160 acres in extent, well improved and possessing very fine buildings; the other is in Greenwood County, Kan., and comprises 160 acres.
The marriage of our subject was celebrated on the 15th of November, 1887, the lady whom it is his happiness to have made the companion of his life being Miss Nellie Barrow of this city. She is the daughter of the Rev. R. C. Barrow, the well-known and efficient State Evangelist of the Christian Church, a popular, eloquent and effective preacher. This gentleman is a native of Pennsylvania, and was married to Miss Helen Harding. They are the parents of four children, who are still living. His connection with the State of Nebraska extends over a long period of years.
Nelson D. Combs, the father of our subject, was born in Highland County, Ohio, Feb. 18, 1833. By trade he was a harness-maker and came to Nebraska when our subject was but seven years of age, as above noted. Since coming to the State he has been variously occupied, and since the death of his wife has been of somewhat nomadic disposition, never settling in any place for a great length of time.
Our subject is a member of the Knights of Pythias, and also of the Sons of Veterans, his father having served in the army, holding a commission as First Lieutenant. Mr. Combs is a young man and has not yet lead much opportunity or time to manifest his true value, power and ability, but should he be spared, as judging from present appearances, he undoubtedly will, it is not too much to say that the future will be bright for him, and that he will fill an honored place in the community wherein he may reside.
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago, page 954. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
William M. Combs. Standing on section 36 of Chestnut Township may be seen the home of the subject of whom this personal sketch is written. He is an honest and reliable citizen, whose landed possessions include 112 acres and who does a general farm business.
Our subject was born in Highland County, Ohio, April 19, 1824. His father was Robert W. Combs and his mother Martha (Parker) Combs, the former being born in Virginia in the year 1796, and the latter in Pennsylvania in 1797. She passed from earth May 4, 1863, in Fulton County. Her husband still survives, and they were the parents of ten children, namely: Cynthia A., Mary A., James P., William W., Zur M., Cary A., Andrew J., John M. and Martha J.
Mr. Combs came to Illinois in 1835 and located in Fulton County, this State, where he remained for 18 years. He then moved to California, then to Oregon, and finally to Washington Territory; and after an absence of 16 years returned to Knox County and settled down for the remainder of his life.
In 1874, March 18, he united in marriage with Miss Sarah C. Timmons [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a William Coombs marrying a Sarah C. Timmons in Fulton County on March 16, 1874], a native of Knox County, born April 8, 1849, and who is the daughter of Stephen and Lucinda Timmons, natives of Ohio. Mrs. Combs' father was born February 14, 1814, and is still living, and her mother, born January 8, 1817, died in December, 1862, in Fulton County. She was the mother of ten children, to wit: Andrew J., Peter S., Annie, Thomas, Mary E. and Martha J., twins, Sarah C., Margaret E., Joseph N., and George W.
In politics Mr. Combs is a Republican.
Mr. Combs tells with considerable interest and merriment the story of his Western trip. It seems he started overland for the Pacific Slope in 1852, driving an ox team. The journey consumed five months and nine days, but they had no trouble with the red men of the forest. He worked in the mines three years and was engaged in packing over the mountains, and eventually he acquired a fair competency, and, what was still better, good health. Mr. Combs is of Irish and German extraction and his wife is of Scotch and German ancestry.
From the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County, Munsell Publishing Company.
MILTON LEMMON COMSTOCK, A.M., Ph.D., was born in Crosby Township, Hamilton County, OH, on October 19, 1824. There is a tradition that the progenitor of the Comstock family in England was a German Baron, Kulmstock, who emigrated to that country about A. D. 1500. A village named Culmstock exists among the Down Hills, between Exeter and Taunton, and William Comstock, born in 1608, came with his wife, Elizabeth, from southwestern England to the Massachusetts Bay Colony in 1635. Their fourth child, John, with his wife, Abigail, settled in Lyme, CT. William, the third of the seven children of John, born January 9, 1669, had two children, the second of whom was William, born January 16, 1695. James the eldest of William's four children, was the great-grandfather of Milton L.
The parents of Milton L., Joab and Jane (Lemmon) Comstock, were born in Ohio and Maryland, respectively; his paternal grandparents Joab and Eunice (Willey) Comstock, were born in Connecticut; his maternal grandparents, William and Margaret (McCaine) Lemmon, were born near Armagh, Ireland; his paternal great-grandparents were James and Thankful (Crosby) Comstock, and Ephraim and Patience (Becket) Willey; on the maternal side, John and Jane (McCrea) Lemon (name so spelled originally), and Archibald and Elizabeth (Trimble) McCaine. His grandfather, Joab Comstock, came with his family from Hadlyme ,CT, to Ohio, in 1801, and settled in the northwestern part of Hamilton County, where he made a farm out of a dense forest; he died in Ohio in 1825, and his widow died near Burlington, IA, in 1858. Joab, the fifth of his children who attained maturity, was born February 9, 1804, removed to Iowa in 1839, and died in Burlington in 1882. He was a farmer and a local Methodist preacher for nearly fifty years, a kind and faithful man. William Lemmon, Mr. Comstock's maternal grandfather, came to America in 1801, and to Ohio in 1819; he was a weaver; he died in 1851. His daughter Jane, who became the wife of Joab Comstock, father of Milton L., was born in Maryland, February 15, 1807, and died near Burlington, IA, in 1875.
Milton L. Comstock was the eldest of eleven children. His schooling began when he was four years of age, in a log school house, which had split logs for seats, and a stick chimney. His winters were spent in school, and his summers on the farm. After his removal to Iowa, his time was mostly occupied in improving their farm in the new country. Besides the ordinary work upon a farm, his experience included breaking prairie, making rails, riving and shaving shingles, running a shingle machine and sawmill, quarrying stone with drill and powder, running a threshing machine, raising and caring for flax, and the propagation and culture of fruit trees.
At the age of twenty, Mr. Comstock began a life of study and teaching. His physical welfare was assured by early training and habits of temperance, and during forty-six years of teaching he lost only three days from sickness. In September, 1844, he entered Knox Academy, Galesburg IL, with a fair common school education, but never having seen an Algebra or a Latin Grammar. He studied a year with all possible diligence, for his dominant wish had been to possess knowledge. In June, 1845, he returned home, taught school, studied and taught in Yellow Springs Academy, Des Moines County, IA, and after two years returned to Galesburg, entered Knox College, and at the end of four years of untiring study, had conferred upon him the degree A. B., June 26, 1851.
On June 30, 1851, he married Cornelia Ann, second daughter of Norman and Anna (Eggleston) Churchill, of Galesburg, formerly of Herkimer County, NY. Mrs. Comstock was born at Winfield, NY, March 17, 1831, and was a granddaughter of Rev. Jesse Churchill, minister at Winfield, who was a son of Jesse Churchill, who died at Winfield, CT, in 1806, and grandson of Samuel Churchill of Wethersfield. Her family, on the maternal side, can be traced to an ancestor who settled at Dorchester MA, in 1635. She completed the Ladies' Course in Knox College, except one study; taught school several terms; taught in the Haynes Academy, Cherry Grove, Knox County, and sang in the choir of the "Old First" Church for thirty-five years. Mr. and Mrs. Comstock have had six children, four of whom are living: Cornelia Belle, Clara Emily, Clarence Elmer, and Ada Heletia, all of whom are graduates of Knox College. Cornelia B. is the wife of Will W. Hammond, a lawyer of Peoria IL, who graduated from Knox College in 1878; she is a member of the choir of Plymouth Congregational Church. Clara E. is a stenographer and Notary Public, at Peoria. Clarence E. is in charge of the Mathematical Department of Bradley Polytechnic Institute, Peoria; he is leader of the choir, deacon, and trustee of Plymouth Congregational Church. Ada H. is a member of the choir of Center Congregational Church, Galesburg.
Mr. Comstock taught three years in Knox Academy. In 1854, the degree of A. M. was conferred upon him by his Alma Mater. In the summer of the same year, he removed to Des Moines County, IA, and engaged in the horticultural pursuits, and during the three years spent in that occupation he was, most of the time, Editor of the Iowa Farmer. In September, 1857, he became a Professor in Yellow Springs College, IA. In September, 1858, he came to Knox College as Assistant Professor of Mathematics, and in 1861, became Professor in that department. He discharged the duties of the position until June, 1898, when he became Professor Emeritus. In addition to the pure mathematics, he taught Astronomy, Physics, and Meteorology. He was secretary of the Faculty for twenty years. Devoting an average of two hours a day to outside studies, he spent at least two years upon each of the following branches: Trigonometry, analytic geometry, differential calculus, integral calculus, and astronomy; he also devoted considered time to quartenions, determinants, trilinear co-ordinates, and differential equations, and in 1879, when Lombard University conferred upon him the degree Ph. D., he did not hesitate to accept the honor from fear of being criticized for not being properly qualified.
Mr. Comstock became a member of the M. E. Church in 1840, but withdrew from that church on account of the slavery agitation, and joined with others in forming a Wesleyan Methodist Church, in 1844. He united with the "Old First" Church in Galesburg in 1851, and was elder and clerk in that church for twenty-seven years; he sang in the choir twenty-five years, and represented the church in various associations; he is now a deacon in the Central Church of Galesburg.
His writings are confined to a few articles in different mathematical journals and in newspapers, over his name and the signatures: "X.Y.Z.", "C", "K", and "Ecleme". He joined a temperance society in 1833. He has been a republican ever since that party was organized.
From the 1878 History of Knox County, Illinois published by Charles C. Chapman, page 666. [Contributed by Melissa Swartz.]
John R. Conklin, butcher, Galesburg, is the son of John and Maria (Richey) Conklin both from Ohio. He was born in Muskingum co., O., Dec. 13, 1838; raised on farm, educated in common schools, and has followed stock-raising and the meat business; enlisted April, 1861, in Co. E., 20th Ill. Inf., served three years, pro. Sergeant, then Major, and then was a member of Gen. Leggett's staff; was married March 29, 1866, to Albina M. Pharis [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a John R. Conklin marrying a Albina M. Phares in DeWitt County on March 29, 1866]; is the parent of four sons, two living; of the Universalist belief. Republican.
From the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County, Munsell Publishing Company.
Hon. ZELOTES COOLEY sought his fortune in the West at a very early period, when Knox County contained here and there only a few hamlets and the virgin soil was almost unbroken. He was a large factor in its development and growth from the day he set foot on her soil to the moment of his death. In his manner of living, he was plain and simple and was never guilty of ostentatious display. In honesty and moral rectitude, the true dignity of his character was shown. His suave disposition and his inborn gentility fitted him especially to deal with men, and to these qualities his great success in business and in life is principally due. He had keen perceptions and a sound judgment, and could unravel the machinations and evil designs of men as by intuition. The frivolous was no part of his nature, and consequently, he took life as a serious business. He was always known for his strict honesty and his fair dealings with his fellowmen. His unyielding firmness in justice and right begat confidence, and as a result, place and honor were bestowed upon him. He honored every office that he was called to fill, because he regarded himself as a true servant of the people.
Judge Cooley came from a long line of Puritan ancestors. He was born November 10, 1808, in East Windsor CT. He removed to Glastonbury with his parents in 1816. At sixteen he went to Hartford to learn the carpenter's trade and afterwards to Westfield MA, and later to Poughkeepsie NY, where he engaged in the grocery business until 1837. He next went to Philadelphia, then down the Ohio River, up the Mississippi, through Illinois to LaGrange. He then went to Quincy, then to Macomb and Carthage. At Carthage, he was employed to build the Court House. In 1838, he came to Knox County. With a partner, Mr. Alvah Wheeler, he built the Court House at Knoxville, drawing the plans himself. He was engaged as a contractor and builder until 1846, when he was appointed County Assessor. He was elected County Clerk in 1847 and held the office for ten years, when he commenced the practice of law.
In politics, Judge Cooley was a democrat. In religion, he was not connected with any order, but believed in the Golden Rule and in loving and serving his fellowman. He was charitable, always bestowing his means judiciously whenever a worthy object was presented. His several bequests to St. Mary's at Knoxville, and to the hospital, Knox College, and the Universalist Church at Galesburg sufficiently attest the character of his benevolence and charities.
He married Miss Julia A. Hanks, of Connecticut in 1833. Of this union, two daughters are still living - Mrs. David W. Bradshaw and Mrs. Samuel L. Charles.
From the 1911 Compendium of History, Reminiscence and Biography, Nance County, Nebraska. [Contributed by Todd Walter.]
JOSEPH B. COPLEY, for many years a prosperous agriculturalist of Nance county, has retired from active work and now enjoys a comfortable home in Fullerton. He is known throughout that part of the state for the deep interest he has always exhibited in the welfare of his county and vicinity he is a thorough western citizen, an enthusiastic admirer and firm believer in the possibilities of Nebraska as a leading state of the Union, and during his residence here has accumulated a nice property, and gained the respect and confidence of those with whom he has come in contact in either a business or social way.
Mr. Copley was born in Delaware county, New York, on May 13, 1853. He was the fourth in a family of six children born to Joseph H. and Ruth Ann Copley, all of whom are deceased excepting one sister now living in Colorado and a brother in Kansas. At the age of five years his parents moved to Knox county, Illinois, and there he grew to manhood, receiving his education in the common and high school of Alton, Illinois, and as a young man interesting himself in farming. In 1878 he came to Nebraska, locating in Howard county and remained one year, then came into Nance county and purchased one hundred and sixty acres of unimproved land on section twenty-five [sic], township sixteen, range seven, built a rough dwelling and started farming. Although he had a hard time to get along during the early years, going through all the pioneer experiences in the way of discouragements from failures of crops, etc., he has been successful in the main, and is now proprietor of two hundred and twenty-five acres of choice land, also considerable valuable town property. Mr. Copley is now (1911) serving his fifth year as treasurer of the Farmers' Elevator Company of Fullerton. This concern handled two hundred and twenty-seven thousand bushels of grain in 1910.
Mr. Copley is numbered among the earliest settlers in his section, helping to organize the first Methodist Episcopal church and Sunday school in his neighborhood. He is now county superintendent of Sabbath schools. The first church and Sunday school was held in a sod school house, and in 1901 the church known as Pleasant Valley Methodist Episcopal church was erected.
On August. 28, 1878, Mr. Copley was united in marriage to Miss Sadie E. Richmond, of Winfield, Kansas, who was a very charming and accomplished lady and a musician of considerable ability. Her death occurred October 26, 1881.
Mr. Copley married the second time November 1, 1883, taking as his wife, Fannie M. Ellsworth, of Nance County, who had for some years been a teacher in the public schools. To them were born four children, three of whom are now living, namely: Arthur, who married Olive Sherman and is a Nance county farmer, and E. Marvin, who married Natalie Conard and is now operating subject's farm, and Leila May, living at home. The Copleys have a pleasant home and a host of warm friends.
JOSEPH H. COPLEY. A son of Joseph and Mary Copley of Connecticut, he was born at Harpers- field, Delaware Co., NY, on Jan. 9. 1814, and educated in the common schools of New York. He was raised on a farm, but learned the tanner's trade, which proved unsuccessful, and then changed to farming, which he follows at present. He has represented Victoria Twp. in the Board of Supervisors for four years, and has held all the minor town offices. He was School Director for fourteen years, and Captain of Militia. He came to this county in 1856. He married Ruth Ann Hinman on Mar. 6, 1848. They have five children living: three girls and two of boys, and one son who died. He is a member of the M. E. Church and joined in 1852, and has served as Class Leader. He is a Republican. P.O. Altona.
Rev. JOSEPH COSTA, O. C., R. D. was born October 18, 1823, in Pettinengo, Province of Biella, about thirty miles northeast of Turin, Italy. His father's name was Antonio Costa, and his mother's Angela Maria Facio. His father was occupied in land-industries, and was also employed in running a tailoring establishment.
There were four brothers in the family, of whom Joseph was the youngest and the only one in the ministry. The others followed other professions. The family records go as far back as six hundred years from the present time. Some of the members along the line were priests.
Father Costa received the first rudiments of letters and music in his native town. Subsequently, he entered a college called "Bachette", and began his studies of Latin under Rev. Professor W. Scaglia. Later on, he pursued his studies in classics in the city of Biella, and after an interval of two years of rest, he began his course of philosophy in the College Melerio Rosmini in the city of Domodossola under Professor Parma, continuing for two years. Having passed his examination in philosophy and being a member of the Order of Charity, he applied himself, under able professors, to the study of Divinity in the Rosminan Institute at Stresa on the borders of Lago Maggiore.
In 1851, as a member of the order, he was sent by the General, the Rev. Antonio Rosmini, to the English Missions belonging to the same order. In this, his new country, he reviewed his theology under Professor Caccia and prepared for the reception of Holy Orders.
On February 18, 1853, he was examined and ordained Priest in the Church of Oscott College, by the Rt. Rev. Bernard Ullathorne, Bishop of Birmingham. As a priest, he labored for eleven years in Great Britain, either doing parish work or preaching at missions or teaching in college.
In 1864, at the request of Dr. Yunker, Bishop at Alton IL, he was sent by the General of his order to work in that Bishop's diocese.
In the United States, the field of his labors was chiefly in Illinois - Springfield, Jacksonville, El Paso, Lincoln - and finally in 1877, he was sent to Galesburg by Dr. John L. Spalding, first Bishop of Peoria, for the special purpose of establishing Parochial Schools. From that date to the present time, his labors have been devoted to the wants and improvements in that city for the Catholic population.
Since his arrival here, Father Costa has worked earnestly and faithfully for the upbuilding of the church to which he belongs. In the Spring of 1878, the erection of St. Joseph's Academy was commenced, and in the Autumn of 1879, it was opened for use, with about ten teachers and four hundred pupils. Stevens and Parry, of this city, were the builders. The cost of the building, including heating apparatus and excluding furniture, was $16,858.13.
The convent contiguous to the Academy was erected partly by Jacob Westfall, of Peoria. Failing to complete the contract, the building was finished under the direction of Father Costa. The work was commenced in 1880 and finished in 1881. It cost $11,388.52.
The ground upon which Corpus Christi church stands cost $4,885. The contract of the building was given to Matthias Schnell, of Rock Island. It cost, including heater, seats, bell, etc., $38,611.43. Corpus Christi dwelling cost $5,500, including heating apparatus.
St. Mary's Primary, on the corner of Fourth and Seminary Streets, cost $2,500, without the furniture.
The lot on which Corpus Christi Lyceum stands was purchased for five thousand dollars. The building and furniture cost about $42,000. It was commenced in 1891 and finished in 1894. This edifice is private property of the Order of Charity of this country.
Father Costa has done much in the erection of buildings in this city. For that purpose and the benefit of his church, he has expended more than $125,000. In the work of his hands, he has been diligent and fervent in spirit. As a man, he is kind and gentle in manners, temperate in speech, unyielding in his convictions, and firm in his ideas of duty and right. He is a Catholic, and lives and labors for the Catholic faith. He comprehends the duties and responsibilities of American citizenship, and in a word, has lived a life above reproach.
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago, page 716. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
Hon. John C. Cover is the present Mayor of the city of Knoxville. He is a staunch Republican and takes an active interest in local politics. Mayor Cover was born eight miles from Gettysburg, Adams Co., Pa., on the 9th of March, 1829, and is the son of Jacob and Mary (Jones) Cover, both natives of Maryland. He grew up from boyhood in the county of his birth, and his father, who was a tanner by trade, took him as an apprentice to learn the same when he was 14 years of age. Learning the trade, John followed it until 1854, at which time, being a young man of 25, with an earnest wish to get on in the world, and sturdy business principles, he launched his little boat on the wide sea of commerce, and purchased for himself a general store in Adams County, Pa., at a point known as Flohr's Church. His efforts being prospered, he sold out after a successful trade which lasted until 1856, and at this time, having disposed of his property to his satisfaction, he came to Galesburg, where he bought out a clothing store and commenced in this line of trade. This store he retained but a short time, coming to Knoxville in 1857, and opening a provision store. At the end of one year devoted to this business he was elected City Marshall and appointed Deputy Sheriff at the same time. These offices he held four years, and in 1862 was elected Sheriff for a term of two years, afterward appointed Deputy Sheriff, and in 1866 he, with William Armstrong, took a contract for the erection of an almshouse for the county. This was completed in 1867, and in the fall of that year he opened a book and stationary store, in which he continued up to 1883, when he disposed of the same and changed to the druggist's business. This he followed only one year, at the expiration of which time he sold out to his son, who still carried on the business.
In the year 1866-67, Mr. Cover was elected Alderman, and in 1869-70 Mayor, which office he has filled in a manner reflecting much credit upon him and his many friends, by his just and equitable manner of dispensing public affairs. He holds the office of Justice of the Peace, to which he was appointed in 1885, the date of his re-election to the Mayoralty.
The subject of our sketch formed a matrimonial alliance with Isabella Mary L. Cooper, who was born at Gettysburg, Pa., Aug. 30, 1831. This happy event was celebrated Nov. 16, 1852. Mrs. Cover is the only daughter of Thomas J. and Margaret (Barr) Cooper. To Mr. and Mrs. Cover have been born one son and three daughters, as follows: Margaret E., wife of Frederick Smith, whose home is in Corning, Iowa; John F.; Mary Alice, who wedded Orton B. Arms, and who resides in Knoxville, and Mabel L., the youngest daughter, at home with her parents. Mr. Cover has given his children the benefit of a thorough education, the two older daughters being graduates of St. Mary's School.
As previously stated, our subject is a public worker in all that has for its object the advancement of the moral and material welfare of the community in which he resides. He comes of the old-line Whigs and entered the Republican party as one of its charter members, being one of the very first to join it at the time of its founding. He cast his first presidential vote for General Scott and his second for John C. Fremont, and has upheld the doctrines of the party represented by the latter since that time. Mrs. Cover came of a direct line of Scotch ancestry, although her father and mother were both American born, the latter entering life in Pennsylvania and the former in Maryland.
From an 1890 London Times, London Mills, IL. [Contributed by Todd Walter.]
Mrs. Catherine combs Cowman, was born in Highland Co., Ohio, February 3rd, 1817, and was married to David Cowman, September 10th, 1835. At the age of 12 years she was converted and joined the M. E. church of which she remained a faithful member until she was called to join the church Triumphant, on the 30th day of May, 1890, aged 73 years, 3 months, and 27 days.
Mr. and Mrs. Cowman came to Illinois, June 1st, 1838, and soon after moved to the farm where they continued to reside till her death. Mrs. Cowman was the mother of eleven children, four of whom preceded her to the other shore. There are still living three sons and four daughters all of whom are married except the youngest son.
On Friday morning Mrs. Cowman called her children to her bedside one by one and told them she could not be with them long and earnestly exhorted them to meet her in heaven. With her children she leaves her husband and many warm friends to mourn their irreparable loss. The following is a letter written by Mrs. Cowman on the day of her Golden wedding, and was found in her trunk at her death.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
From an 1898 London Times, London Mills, IL. [Contributed by Todd Walter.]
One of the earliest settlers of Fulton County passes away.
David Cowman died at his home in this place, Monday morning, April 25th, 1898, aged 82 years, 6 months, and 11 days, after a brief illness from pneumonia. The funeral service was held at 10 a.m., Wednesday in the M. E. Church, Rev. Richard Haney of Monmouth, assisted by Rev. Welsh and Rev. White of this place, officiating. It was one of the largest funerals ever held in London, and it was a long procession that followed the remains to their last resting place in the cemetery at Midway.
David Cowman was born in Rockbridge County, Virginia, Oct. 14th, 1815. In 1832, he with his parents settled in Ohio. There was that he was married, Sept. 19, 1835, to Miss Catherine Combs. They came to Illinois in 1838, settling that same year on a part of the farm east of town which he owned at the time of his death. To them were born 11 children, seven of whom, together with a large number of grandchildren and great grand children, still survive. The living children are: Eliza Ann wife of Henry P. Mosher; Mary, wife of John Combs; Mandy Ellen, wife of Cyrus Betterton; Lydia Jane, wife of James Thurman; General L. Cowman, John L. Cowman, and Frances N. Cowman. The mother of these children died May 30, 1890. On Sept. 10th, 1891, Mr. Cowman was again married, this time to Rebecca A. Welch [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a David Cowman marrying a A. A. Welch in Fulton County on September 10, 1891], who survives him.
Uncle Davey Cowman, as the deceased was familiarly styled, was a man of sterling integrity and great force of character. He was a strong man in every sense of the word and has been a part of the history of the settlement and development of this section of country. He has been an active member of the Methodist church for nearly sixty years, a man of unwavering faith, and a power for good in the community. His has been a long life of active service, and he has passed to his rest and reward. The portrait of the deceased shown in this article is from a photograph taken a number of years ago, and is a splendid likeness as many of our older readers remember him.
From the 1899 Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and Knox County, Munsell Publishing Company.
ALFRED M. CRAIG is a man of characteristic personality. His look and his general bearing indicate decision of character and strong intellectual endowments. He is a native of Illinois, and was born in Paris, Edgar County, January 15, 1831. His father was David Craig, a native of Pennsylvania, and his mother's maiden name was Minta Ramey. David Craig was of Irish descent and was born in Philadelphia. His parents came from the northern part of Ireland. David, when a young man removed to Kentucky; but being unwilling to live in a slave State, he came to Illinois in 1830. After remaining a short time in Edgar County, he finally settled in Fulton County, where Justice A. M. Craig was born.
Justice Craig's father was a farmer, and it was on the farm that the lad was brought up. His early advantages for schooling were such as are incident to a new country and the life of a farmer boy. He attended school in winter, and worked on the farm in summer, until he entered upon a course of study at Knox College. In the fall of 1848, he became a member of the preparatory class, and was admitted to the Freshman class in June, 1849. With distinguished honor, he graduated in June, 1853. After graduation, there was halting or indecision as to his future course. Immediately, he entered the law office of William C. Goudy, of Lewistown, IL, and after one year's study, was admitted to practice in all the courts of Illinois.
In the Fall of 1854, he opened an office in Knoxville, which was then the county seat of Knox County. By his perseverance and determination, he soon built up a large and lucrative practice in Knox and the adjoining counties. His skill and erudition in law are exemplified in the fact that he rarely, if ever, lost a case at court. He continued his practice until June, 1873, when he was elected Justice of the Supreme Court of Illinois.
Justice Craig has richly earned the commendations and confidence of his fellow citizens. His knowledge of law an d his fidelity in practice have opened to him places of honor and preferment. In 1856, he was appointed States Attorney by Governor Mattison for the Circuit, composed of the counties of Mercer, Henderson, Warren, Knox and Fulton. The appointment was for the unexpired term of one year, caused by the resignation of William C. Goudy. In November, 1861, he was elected County Judge of Knox County, serving four years. In 1869, he was selected to the Constitutional Convention from Knox County, and assisted in forming the present constitution of the State.
Justice Craig has lived a successful life. He started in the world a poor boy and by his good judgment and great business sagacity, has became the owner of great possessions. He is President of the Bank of Galesburg, of which he is the largest stockholder, and his landed estate cover rich and extensive fields of territory. As a lawyer, he is profound and a great judge. For the correctness and justness of his decisions, his fame is unsurpassed. He is not an observer of conventionalities, and is no servile worshiper of court etiquette. He is plain in his manner, kind, social, and generous to his friends. He is a student of human nature, and has won distinction more by his practical common sense than by his knowledge of Latin or Greek. He has served his county and his State faithfully and well, and is entitled to the plaudits of all.
Justice Craig was married in August, 1857, to Elizabeth P. Harvey, daughter of C. K. Harvey, who was a lawyer of eminent ability. Mr. Harvey was born and educated in the State of Vermont. He came to Knox County at an early day, and built up a large practice in Knox and adjoining counties. He presented Knox County in the Constitutional Convention of 1847. He died at Knoxville in 1848, at the age of thirty-three.
Justice and Mrs. Craig have had four children, two now living; Dr. A. H., a druggist, and Captain Charles C., a lawyer, both living in this city.
From the 1886 History of Caldwell and Livingston Counties, Missouri. [Contributed by Todd Walter.]
WILLIAM H. CRAIG (Farmer and Stock-raiser, Section 24, Post-office, Avalon). Mr. Craig not only has the reputation of being an excellent farmer, but his career as a citizen has shown him to be public-spirited and enterprising, and of advanced ideas regarding farming operations. February 28, 1841, he was born in Indiana county, Pa., the youngest of two children resulting from the marriage of his parents, John and Margaret (Frazer) Craig, themselves natives of the Keystone State. In 1858 they removed to Knox County, Ill., and made that their home until going to Henry county, where their death occurred, the father dying in 1873 and his companion the year following. Jacob F. was the name of the brother of William H. He (Jacob) became a member of Co. G, 89th Illinois, during the late Civil War and was in the Army of the Tennessee under Gen. Sherman, serving faithfully in all the terrific battles of that campaign until his death at Rocky Face Ridge, Ga., May 9, 1864.
William H., he whose name heads this memoir, enlisted in 1861, in Co. B, 37th Illinois volunteer infantry, and was first stationed at Camp Webb, near Chicago, where he remained a short time, going thence to St. Louis, and afterwards to Boonville, then to Sedalia, from there to Springfield, where an engagement took place; during the winter the regiment camped at Syracuse. The spring campaign was opened by a move on Springfield and driving Price into Arkansas, skirmishing occurring nearly every day; streams to be crossed were swollen far above their banks and many privations were undergone. Returning home they were overtaken by Price and on March 7th and 8th the disastrous battle of Pea Ridge was fought. The regiment remained at Cassville to recuperate until June, were then sent to Springfield and from July to November saw almost continual duty. Mr. Craig was obliged to leave the regiment at Camp Lyons, Ark., having lost the use of his arm from white swelling, and after a tedious journey, by means of rough conveyances, he finally reached St. Louis and was honorably discharged January 7, 1863.
Returning home to Knox county, Ill., he remained at home about a year, regaining his lost health, and then he engaged in farming, continuing it there until selling out and going to Henry county, where he purchased another place and attended to its cultivation.
In 1878 he settled in this county and has remained here since that time, closely interested in its agricultural affairs. He owns 240 acres of land a half mile east of Avalon, upon which are neat and convenient improvements.
Mr. Craig was married February 25, 1868, to Mary A. Roberts, a native of Pennsylvania, who has borne him three children: Jacob H., Katie and Robert B. Mr. C. is a member of Avalon Post No. 146, G. A. R.
From the 1918 A Standard History of Kansas and Kansans, William E. Connelley, Secretary of the Kansas State Historical Society, Lewis Publishing Company. [Contributed by Todd Walter.]
MRS. F. S. CRAVENS (ELLA DENT CRAVENS) is the proprietor of the Cravens School of Music at Emporia, and for a number of years has been one of the leaders in musical circles of that city. She is a native of Kansas and one of the notable women whom this Sunflower commonwealth has produced.
The daughter of a pioneer citizen of Manhattan, where she was born in February, 1866, she exhibited unusual musical talents when a girl, and by careful training and study both in America and abroad has long enjoyed a high position both as an individual artist and as a successful teacher. Her maiden name is Etta Dent. After attending the public schools of Manhattan she went back to the old home of her family at Galesburg, Illinois, was a student in the high school there and also spent one year in the Musical Conservatory of Knox College.
She was married at Manhattan to S. F. Cravens, who was born in Kearney, Missouri, and died at Phoenix, Arizona, in 1906. He was a musical director and teacher. Mr. and Mrs. Cravens taught music in Kansas City, Missouri, later established the Cravens School of Music at Topeka, and from there went to Denver, Colorado, where they were directors of music in the Denver University. Subsequently they were again in Kansas as directors of the Conservatory of Music of Ottawa University, and from there removed to Phoenix, Arizona. Mr. Cravens, on account of ill health, was no longer able to keep up the active work of his profession, and Mrs. Cravens assumed all the burden of teaching while there. After the death of her husband she returned to Kansas, and in 1908 located in Emporia. For seven years she was director of the musical department of the College of Emporia.
Then in 1915 she organized the Cravens School of Music, which has its studio at 523 Merchant Street. On account of the prestige associated with her name because of her successful work at Emporia and elsewhere this school has grown rapidly and at the end of the first year has over 100 pupils. It is one of the best schools in the state for broad and thorough musical instruction. One feature of its management are monthly recitals by the pupils, and these recitals have always attracted large audiences and the programs are arranged not only to furnish experience for the pupils in solo and ensemble work, but also as an exhibition of many of the best things written in music, including both instrumental and vocal numbers. Mrs. Cravens also has a chorus for her students and a music study club.
At all the places where she has taught Mrs. Cravens has directed a church choir, and is now director of the choir in the Christian Church at Emporia. She is herself a member of the Presbyterian Church, and her wide range of interests is shown by the fact that she is president of the Women's Bible Class and president of the Research Club, one of the best known literary clubs of Emporia. She is a member of the program committee of the Fortnightly Music Club. The Emporia Women's Chorus, of which she is the director, sang the "Highwayman" in the music festival at Emporia in April, 1916, this festival being an annual event of interest, not only to Emporia but to a wide territory around the city.
Mrs. Cravens has constantly kept up with the best in music, and has not only had thorough training at home, but in 1892 she went to London and studied with Shakespeare and Beringer, two of the ablest teachers of the time, and she again went to London in 1910 for further instruction. Mrs. Cravens' only child, Francis, died at the age of seven months.
Her father, William Dent, was born in Kent, Westmoreland, England, in 1838. He came to America when a young man, lived for some years in Brantford, Canada, afterwards at Monmouth, Illinois, where he married, and in 1865 came to Kansas and became one of the pioneers at Manhattan, where he lived until his death in 1880. He was a merchant all his active years. After coming to the United States he was a republican, and at one time served as mayor of Manhattan. He was also active in the Baptist Church and one of its deacons.
Mrs. Cravens' mother, whose maiden name was Lucinda Harding, represented an old English family in this country. Her grandfather, Stephen Harding, was an early settler in Yates County, New York. A miller, he one day went to his mill and nothing was ever heard of him afterwards, and it is not known whether his disappearance was due to his being murdered by the Indians, who were then plentiful and hostile, or whether it could be accounted for on some other grounds.
Jones Harding, the maternal grandfather of Mrs. Cravens, was born December 12, 1799, in New York State, was reared and married at Rushville in Yates County, and died in Galesburg, Illinois, in August, 1896. In 1837 he went to Ypsilanti, Michigan, when that part of Southern Michigan was a sparsely settled wilderness. Six months later his family came on in a prairie schooner. One of the family on this migration was Lucinda Harding, mother of Mrs. Cravens. Later Jones Harding moved to Illinois and acquired a tract of school lands belonging to Knox College at Galesburg. He was not only a farmer but also a contractor in stone and brick masonry. In 1849 he went out to California, where he remained 2 1/2 years, and gained some profits as a prospector and miner. He was much interested in the Congregational Church and politically was a whig and afterwards a republican. Jones Harding married Mary Angeline Rowley, who was born in New York State in 1807 and died in Galesburg, Illinois, in 1849. Their six children were: Ann Elizabeth, who married Levant Dilley, who for thirty-five years was in the machine shops of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad at Galesburg, where both he and his wife died; Mary Angeline, who married M. P. De Long, and both died on their farm three miles from Galesburg; Roderick Rowley, who is a veteran soldier of the Civil war and now resides at Port Angeles, Washington, where at one time he was postmaster; Lucinda, mother of Mrs. Cravens; Antoinette, who married R. C. Walter, and both died at Amorita, Oklahoma, where they homesteaded; and Albert N., who for many years was an engineer of the Wabash Railroad and died at Moberly, Missouri. Lucinda Harding, mother of Mrs. Cravens, was born October 20, 1838, at Rushville, Yates County, New York, was educated in Knox College at Galesburg, and is still living at the age of seventy-eight, with her daughter in Emporia. She is a member of the Baptist Church.
William and Lucinda Dent had three children: Ella, who was born at Monmouth, Illinois, August 10, 1863, and is now living at Denver, Colorado, the wife of George Cool, who was a contractor and builder; Mrs. F. S. Cravens; and Emma, who was born June 18, 1876, and is the wife of R. L. Jones, an attorney and abstractor at Emporia.
From the 1886 Portrait and Biographical Album of Knox County, Biographical Publishing Company, Chicago, page 582. [Contributed by Pat Thomas.]
Joshua L. Crawford, a minister of the Gospel, preaching the doctrines of the Presbyterian denomination and resident in Cedar Township, owning a farm on section 14, is the subject of this biographical notice. A part of his labors are confined to Foster's Point, McDonough County, Ill., while he occupies the pulpit at West Prairie Church, preaching in these two places alternately. In connection with his religious work, he is interested in agricultural pursuits.
Rev. Mr. Crawford was born in Indian Point Township, Sept. 28, 1844, and is the son of John and Elizabeth (Howard) Crawford, natives of Virginia and Kentucky, respectively. His father was born in 1798, and died Aug. 14, 1875. His mother, Elizabeth, born Nov. 29, 1808, is still living. This union was blessed by the birth of 11 children, of whom Joshua is the youngest member. The names of his brothers and sisters are James, Charles H., John W., Elizabeth A., Nancy, Henry, Cynthia M., Peter D., Rebecca, Matilda F. and Joshua.
In the year 1856, April 4, occurred the union of our subject with Miss Ella Marsh [the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index lists a Joshua L. Crawford marrying a Frances E. Marsh in Knox County on April 4, 1866], who was born July 18, 1847, in the township of Cedar, Knox County, and who is the daughter of Thomas B. and Sophronia (Alden) Marsh, both natives of New York. Mrs. Crawford's mother and father reckon in their family circle Sophia J., Benjamin A., Noble L., Hannah P., Francis E., Harriet A., and Ella, besides two sons lost in infancy.
The fruit of the Crawford family tree has been nine children, namely: Charles A., born Jan. 7, 1867; Sophronia E., Oct. 2, 1868; Harriet E., June 12, 1870; Edna B., June 2, 1872; Leroy W., Oct. 20, 1874; John B., May 26, 1876; Philena B., Nov. 2, 1879; Edith E., Sept. 8, 1882; and Agnes J., Oct. 5, 1884; of these two are deceased.
Mr. Crawford follows his profession as minister of the Gospel, preaching in the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, in the towns previously spoken of. He entered the ministry in 1872, and was ordained in August of that year, since which period he has successfully labored in this field of work. In this position he is kind, genial and friendly, and is popular both as a man and a minister. He is noble in principle, large-hearted and intellectually strong. He joined the church at the age of 14 years, since which time he has lived an upright, consistent life, winning many friends and supporters. John, the father of our subject, occupied the pulpit in the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, laboring earnestly and winning many souls to Christ, also assisting in many large revivals throughout the States of Illinois and Iowa. He closed a worthy and useful life-work in behalf of his chosen church, after an extended period of 50 years' faithful labor.
Mr. Crawford was a Union soldier, enlisting in the late war, Aug. 7, 1862, at Abingdon, Ill., in the 83rd Ill. Vol. Inf., under Colonel A. C. Harding, of Monmouth. He fought for the stars and stripes, participating in the second general battle of Fort Donelson, served 2 years and 11 months continuously, doing, as a rule, post duty in the United States service, and receiving an honorable discharge, June 26, at Nashville, Tenn., and was mustered out at Chicago, July 5, 1865. He supports and voices the sentiments of the Republican party, and is wide awake and interested in public matters. He may be esteemed, in general characteristics, as an able citizen and a desirable friend and neighbor.
From the 1883 William G. Cutler's History of the State of Kansas - Allen County, published by A. T. Andreas, Chicago, IL. [Contributed by Bob Miller.]
WILLIAM CULBERTSON, farmer, Section 5, P. O. Bronson, Bourbon County, was born in Ireland, December, 1846; came to America in 1854, and resided with his parents in New Jersey and Knox County, Ill. In the spring of 1868, he came to Allen County, Kansas, and has since resided in this township. He has now about 500 acres of land, 150 of which are in cultivation. His main business is raising livestock in which he is quite extensively engaged. He has on his place about five acres of orchard. Mr. Culbertson was married in Allen County, in August, 1873, to Rachel M. Rogers, who died in the spring of 1879, leaving one daughter, Alice.